We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but disappointing food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sigiriya Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great location but disappointing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the hotel. The staff were very friendly but struggled to communicate in English. We had a lovely room which was very clean. The hotel is in a great location close to Sigiriya Rock which can be viewed from the pool area. We had booked on half board basis. The breakfast was ok but dinners were disappointing. There was a great variety but the food was very spicy and poor quality. The service was very slow and staff did not speak English so had a problem ordering drinks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    471
    187
    37
    18
See reviews for
253
400
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Sigiriya Village resort si a nice a cosy resort, rooms are clean and big, people serving are very friendly... the buffet dinner have quite a good spread of local and international foods....The breakfast have also a good spread of local and international favour...The surrounding of hotel are beautiful garden , pools and various species of trees, nice cosy environment for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: all rooms are chalet type, all are located in nice garden..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lim3489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at sigiriya village for two nights as part of a 7 might tour of Sri Lanka with my boyfriend. The hotel was in a perfect location, not too far from sigiriya rock and with an amazing view of the rock from w swimming pool. The room however was a bit of a let down, we booked a double room but ended up with two single beds that had been pushed together. The room was very basic, with all the amenities you needed, but the room as with the rest of the hotel, definitely needs an up date. The room could also have been a bit cleaner.

However I will say that e buffet selection at both breakfast and dinner was quite good the service was pretty good as well. The bar staff were really friendly and they tried their very best to cater to our needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SB_Twells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurunegala, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

we were on a family trip with 5y old son and Pregnant wife. Hotel had a nicely landscaped garden. It was built like an ancient Sri Lankan Kingdom. Hotel was under repair during our visit.
Rooms were basic but roomy and clean.
Pool is very nicely located. Can see Sigiriya from the pool and it is a magnificient view.
Food was OK. Staff was helpful and friendly.
Kiddies park was little run down.
Actual travel date July 2010

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamila75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent 3 nights here recently. We chose this hotel partly because the photos on the web looked nice and partly because its a sister hotel to Club Palm Bay, which we love. They are not the same! After a long drive from the airport we were shown to a standard room which was frankly awful-old furnishings in poor condition and lights so dim we couldn't see to read! No TV, tea/coffee maker or safe facilities. We looked at a superior room which was much better so paid the extra to be moved. The hotel gardens were pleasant and well maintained. the meals were buffet style with a good selection. The staff were efficient and helpful. The lounge area next to the restaurant has some extremely uncomfortable chairs, we can only assume whoever made them didn't try them out first! Its also very dark so difficult to read there. We asked about mattresses for the loungers by the swimming pool and were told there weren't any, only to find out they were available just before we left. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Have just left after a 3 night stay at this resort. yes there are some shortfalls but on the whole the venue does meet expectations. The resort is spacious and the gardens are well tended. The staff are efficient despite the lack of English being spoken as well as hoped for. The room was clean although very musty. A problem with the aircon was fixed in a couple of minutes. Room service was patchy - in part due to lack of comprehension of what was being ordered. The charges for washing were very little making it worthwhile using the laundry service. The food was the big surprise. A very generous buffet each day, lots of choice including local dishes that were quite authentic. The meals were not expensive. The rooms did not provide bar fridges, room safes, hair dryers or kettles. We left our valuables in a lock up at reception and I believe hair dryers were available on request. For any future visitors, I recommend that they pack the mosquito repellent as they were ferocious in the evening. One problem with this resort and others in the area is that the access road in is one of the worst I have ever travelled on. Very badly potholed and all vehicles have to travel at a snails pace. You would think that a regular grade of the road would be in the county's interest in encouraging tourism to a very popular area.

Room Tip: Our room backed onto the main reception area and the noise of staff cleaning in the early morning an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chefAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, Cornwall
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Given its setting beneath the 5th century rock fortress that might fairly have some claims to being considered one of the wonders of the world, the Sigiriya Village Hotel should be memorable for all the right reasons. Regrettably, it is memorable for all the wrong reasons. In short, it's a woefully bad hotel.

Accommodation was/is provided in chalets. In principle, they should be pleasant. In practice, they're of a poor standard - mattresses not fitting beds, showers, power sockets and air conditioning not working, no tea making facilities (now a common place even in cheap end hotels) and a generally run down and tired level of internal decoration. Since there was widespread flooding in the surrounding area and continual rainfall, neither did it help much for chalets to be provided with clapped out umbrellas which collapsed spontaneously.

Communal areas were as bad or worse. One public toilet was found to have excrement smeared on a handle, and this was not the only sign of desultory maintenance. Sitting areas surrounded the restaurant, but were dark to the point of making reading impossible without turning chairs towards the open sides of the building. Chairs themselves were of a roughly woven hemp rope construction, and were devoid of cushions. They were unattractive and, more to the point, extremely uncomfortable, if wearing only light clothing. The restaurant served only buffet style food, which was grim. Staff were smiley but largely ineffectual, spending most of their time seemingly milling around in a rather aimless fashion, all the more absurd since there was plainly so much that needed to be done.

Fortunately for my wife and I, there was an alternative hotel at which one could eat with enjoyment, but it took 30 minutes each way to get to it. We considered it worth the effort.

A truly awful watering hole.

RW

Room Tip: Find an alternative hotel. If your budget will stretch to it, try the Cinnamon Lodge Hotel at Habara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flashmen4491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#13 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
8.4 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Property: Sigiriya Village Hotel
Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing