We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Have just left after a 3 night stay at this resort. yes there are some shortfalls but on the whole the venue does meet expectations. The resort is spacious and the gardens are well tended. The staff are efficient despite the lack of English being spoken as well as hoped for. The room was clean although very musty. A problem with the aircon was fixed in a couple of minutes. Room service was patchy - in part due to lack of comprehension of what was being ordered. The charges for washing were very little making it worthwhile using the laundry service. The food was the big surprise. A very generous buffet each day, lots of choice including local dishes that were quite authentic. The meals were not expensive. The rooms did not provide bar fridges, room safes, hair dryers or kettles. We left our valuables in a lock up at reception and I believe hair dryers were available on request. For any future visitors, I recommend that they pack the mosquito repellent as they were ferocious in the evening. One problem with this resort and others in the area is that the access road in is one of the worst I have ever travelled on. Very badly potholed and all vehicles have to travel at a snails pace. You would think that a regular grade of the road would be in the county's interest in encouraging tourism to a very popular area.

Room Tip: Our room backed onto the main reception area and the noise of staff cleaning in the early morning an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chefAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Given its setting beneath the 5th century rock fortress that might fairly have some claims to being considered one of the wonders of the world, the Sigiriya Village Hotel should be memorable for all the right reasons. Regrettably, it is memorable for all the wrong reasons. In short, it's a woefully bad hotel.

Accommodation was/is provided in chalets. In principle, they should be pleasant. In practice, they're of a poor standard - mattresses not fitting beds, showers, power sockets and air conditioning not working, no tea making facilities (now a common place even in cheap end hotels) and a generally run down and tired level of internal decoration. Since there was widespread flooding in the surrounding area and continual rainfall, neither did it help much for chalets to be provided with clapped out umbrellas which collapsed spontaneously.

Communal areas were as bad or worse. One public toilet was found to have excrement smeared on a handle, and this was not the only sign of desultory maintenance. Sitting areas surrounded the restaurant, but were dark to the point of making reading impossible without turning chairs towards the open sides of the building. Chairs themselves were of a roughly woven hemp rope construction, and were devoid of cushions. They were unattractive and, more to the point, extremely uncomfortable, if wearing only light clothing. The restaurant served only buffet style food, which was grim. Staff were smiley but largely ineffectual, spending most of their time seemingly milling around in a rather aimless fashion, all the more absurd since there was plainly so much that needed to be done.

Fortunately for my wife and I, there was an alternative hotel at which one could eat with enjoyment, but it took 30 minutes each way to get to it. We considered it worth the effort.

A truly awful watering hole.

RW

Room Tip: Find an alternative hotel. If your budget will stretch to it, try the Cinnamon Lodge Hotel at Habara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flashmen4491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Sigiriya Village is exactly what is says on the web site – it is true, it is unfold hideaway at the heart of cultural triangle. Hotel wears a true ambiance of natural green beauty. The hotel is spread out over a large area with huge trees so one has a sense of privacy. The welcome was warm and the reception staff could not do enough to provide a speedy service. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, though our a/c was a bit loud and bath room was slightly dated. The overall service was fantastic and especially restaurant staffs are always friendly and very attentive. ( smiling cheerful and willing to help).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nims j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We only stayed a Sigriya Village (SV) for one night but wished that we stayed for longer!! Well appointed rooms, lovely surrounds, very friendly staff and great food. Not to mention the awesome views of Sigriya rock! Highly recommended

Room Tip: Bit of a walk to the rooms, so if you don't want too much exercise get rooms closest to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taniwha_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Lovely common areas, buffet/ restaurant/rooms. Value for money. Aircon broke down - amazingly, hotel mechanic regased the device within 60mins. You could not get that sort of service in the west. Backup generator works to cope well with power grid outages - excellent. You can walk to rock in 30 mins -nice leg stretch. Tuktuk back @ 200slr. Hotel wifi ok. Newly built delux rooms very stylish. Manager very friendly and approachable- offering to help with my sick partner. Hotel organised transport to next destination very good - no hastle from driver about stopping at scams like batik or wood carving. Min 2 nights required to get full benefit. Staff well trained and very genuine. Could not fault for $150usd per night including breakfast.
.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickyB255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

It was my second visit to Sigiriya Village within last two years. and the experience is wonderful. the service, location rooms and facilities were really up to slandered. its good if the menus can update a bit..but still food is minor matter compared to other things. staff is really friendly worm and well groomed. the original Sri lankan hospitality was there. wishing luck to keep continue the same service.

Room Tip: rooms in the corner next to there farm garden is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arundathi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here with my family. It was a great experience for us. An easy and quick check in and checkout was great for us because we had travelled hundreds of miles. Staffs were very friendly and polite. They are well trained and Service is great as 5*. The staffs are the friendliest staff I have seen and always full of smiles. We were made to feel very welcome and valued as guests by every member of staff throughout our stay. Aside from that, the hotel is in a good location it was truly a magical experience.
We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DINESH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,666 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,730 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#13 of 20 in Sigiriya
274 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
435 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range: $70 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing