We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sigiriya
Post
Inbox
Search

“Disappointed”
Review of Ahinsa Restaurant

Ahinsa Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 86 Restaurants in Sigiriya
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Real Sri Lankan food experience. And we have a lot of Arabian food, Ithali Indian all together.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We saw the good reviews and tried but it was really not worth the money. Extra cheese on an omlemet was Priced as a full omelett, the mixed one was unbeatable and we waited ages. The waiter didn’t speak english and was super slow.

Not reccomended.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank valentinaw94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Family owned and run business. Large menu.Excellent food and service.
Cold beers available.
Great for lunch or dinner eating or just relaxing above the only road in the village (1st floor restaurant)

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We ate in the tree house in the restaurant which made for a really cool setting. The other good thing I can say about this place was that the orange juice was lovely, the same however could not be said for the food. We ordered devilled chicken and pork casserole - both were terrible. The flavour was unremarkable but I’m not sure which cuts of the the animal had been used (I get the feeling that meat is at a premium in Sigiriya so I would urge you to opt for the vegetarian options), there was nearly any meet, instead we had been served a combination of gristle, skin and fat. We couldn’t finish our meal so politely paid and left and wished it down with a mars bar each.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Dunxan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

The atmosphere is amazing and the treehouse looks beautiful.
The avocado salad is really tasty.
However it took quite a while until we got served. we could observe the service at the table next to us as well and noticed that it was quite chaotic. At the end they tried to overcharge us...

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank kassandraf2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

We have visited this place with friends and family and we really enjoyed the food and people! The atmosphere is warm and people who work here are very kind and smiling:) really recommend this place!)

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank sashasamusevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahinsa Restaurant also viewed

Sigiriya, Central Province
Sigiriya, Central Province
 
Sigiriya, Central Province
Sigiriya, Central Province
 
Sigiriya, Central Province
Sigiriya, Central Province
 

Been to Ahinsa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing