We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my favourite place in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Inn
Ranked #12 of 89 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“my favourite place in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

An absolutely lovely guesthouse very close to Sigiriya. Run by an incredibly kind and helpful family who will really welcome you into their lives! The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated, the food is amazing and the father Milton is also a tour guide and can take you to Sigiriya, Pidurangala and lots of other local attractions. We loved it so much we stayed twice!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fierybiscuit87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    45
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
94
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed in several places throughout Sri Lanka in my 5 week stay there and Paradise Inn was by far the best. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and were greeted with Milton's lovely family and the best fruit shake on the island! the room was spotless and very comfortable. The location is second to none with a stunning view of sigiriya rock from the bottom of their garden and the food was knock out. Milton acted as our tour guide up sigiryia rock and he was fabulous- even acted as our own personal photographer. A wonderful stay with a lovely family. Definitely recommend this as a place to stay but book early as the rooms go quickly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were dropped at the Paradise Inn by tuk-tuk from Dambulla, and so warmly welcomed by Milton and family that we stayed. It was a very good decision because his rooms are clean and comfortable, he has an excellent location where you can see Sigiriya rock, and he took us on great tours at fair prices. We stayed 2 days longer than we had planned.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshj831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

From the moment i met the family i felt the warmest welcome and at home a , inside cultural unique experience. The view alone in their property sold me , then within minutes Milton our host who is a very informed local guide of the region freely talked to us about the natural and cultural history of our surroundings which was a treat . We extended our stay , loving being part of the family , Milton arranging special tours including off the beat jungle ruins and elephant safaris and never to forget mama tasty cooking , the only problem was leaving , but we' ll going bac again next year and cant wait !!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahdunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Lots of other's have said how warm the family are, and how informative and helpful Milton is. We couldn't agree more.

We'd have loved to stay longer.

Great room. Quiet. Air-con worked a treat. Great view of the rock from the edge of their property.

Milton hired me his bike for a day, which allowed me to return to the temple rock gardens at the foot of Sigiriya and then catch up with the rest of the family slumming it up at Jetwing. A brilliant day was had by all.

All in all a SUPERB B&B with SUPERB hosts. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked two nights at the Paradise Inn with Milton via e-mail, mainly based on reviews on TripAdvisor. We arrived via a bus from Anuradhapura to Dambulla and then a half hour's tuk-tuk ride from Dambulla (Lkr 500). The place is nicely situated a stone's through away from the tourist shops and restaurants in Sigiriya and Sigiriya Rock is visible from the garden. Our room was a double-bedded ensuite room; a large bedroom and a large shower room, both spotlessly clean and Lkr 3000 per night. Nirmala talked about the wild elephants visiting at night and eating and trampling the rice crop in the back garden. Although we didn't see the elephants, we did see a giant squirrel, woodpeckers and a hornbill in the garden. Nirmala made dinner for us - excellent chicken curry with accompaniments and then fruit (Lkr 600 per meal, beer Lkr 350 per bottle)) and a large breakfast of Sri Lankan coffee, fruit, omelette and toast pockets (Lkr 400 per meal). A review based solely on these aspects of the guesthouse would rate 4 and a half or 5 out of five (although Nirmala and Milton should be more up-front about their pricing)..

But Milton is also a tuk-tuk driver and a former guide and, with his friendly manner and his talk of mutual respect, we foolishly decided to allow him to take us to Polonaruwa to tour the ancient city and then to Minnerya National Park for a dusk safari without consulting other providers. Milton was a little evasive about how much the trips would be but he said that he knew the area (he did) and that his friend was a very good ranger in the national park and knew all the best spots. In the end, the trip to Polonaruwa was Lkr 4500 for Milton and his tuk-tuk plus Lkr 3125 per person admission - in hindsight the 4500 looks overpriced. The safari was excellent; we spotted hundreds of elephants, sambar deer, a crocodile and lots of peafowl, herons, egrets and the like (but no leopards). The entrance fee for the park was Lkr 2970 per person and on top of that we were charged Lkr 6500 for the hire of the 4x4 jeep. At the time we assumed this was the going rate but we met some other travelers in Dambulla the next day who went on the same safari and saw the same animals and their jeep was Lkr 3500.

Milton offered to take us in his tuk-tuk to Dambulla the next day from where we were going to get a bus to Kandy. Again we foolishly accepted his offer without discussing the price. When we arrived in Dambulla, I offered him Lkr 500 since that was the cost of the initial tuk-tuk trip from Dambulla to Paradise Inn with someone else. He declined that and requested Lkr 1000 since this is, he said, the usual fare for the trip. This is when his talk of mutual respect sounded a bit hollow. Please be warned!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank charliechariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were dropped off by a tuk-tuk driver at this beautiful place and the first thing that we saw was an amazing view of the rock, just perfect:-) the rooms are clean and have ac. The family who owns the house is very friendly, Milton (owner) is a good tour guide and the home-cooked meals are amazing.. We would advice everybody to stay at this guesthouse!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LoesenSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
8.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#14 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sigiri Lion Lodge
Sigiri Lion Lodge
#1 of 84 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relax Guest
Relax Guest
#2 of 89 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn

Property: Paradise Inn
Address: 125/D Kayanwala Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Paradise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing