We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a mixed bag” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camellia Resort and Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Camellia Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Twyford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

It's not really in Sigiriya, its about 8k out in the middle of nowhere and it's unmade up paths to get to anywhere. The hotel was really trying, but failed several times. Minor complaints but they left an overall feeling of dissatisfaction. A set meal one evening was excellent and very reasonable value. The local curries off the a la carte were also very good. Then we had the set meal which had curry as a main course and it was very poor. A chicken curry in a watery sauce with 3 small lumps of meat and gristle and a few beans, carrots and potatoes again in a watery sauce both shared between 2 was very poor. The place lacks atmosphere although to be fair the weather was rubbish during our visit.
Another complaint was that our first room was suffering from a ceiling leak in the en-suite. We complained and were told it was the open ceiling of the shower and was quite normal. The leak, still dripping was over the toilet and this was pointed out. Unfortunately it took 3 visits before we were taken seriously and moved to another room.
The other downfall is that being in a remote position, we had to rely on their recommended tuk drivers and were not impressed with their price or service, {couldn't find Lion Rock without asking 3 times and was 10 min late to pick us up for the return trip.
The hotel has loads of staff and most visitors only stay for one night, it seems to lead to very impersonal service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abe1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lal K, Manager at Camellia Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
“a mixed bag”
Thank you for spending your valued time to review your stay at our hotel on trip advisor. And we have noted down your comments. As you say our hotel is really not situated in sigiriya. Yes, we are in the area of sigiriya. We never say that our hotel is situated in sigiriya. Also any customer can easily access to this hotel by using Dambulla /Habarana main carpeted road and only 800 meters from the turnoff is gravel road. I wonder why you written as unmade up paths to get to anywhere. I hope two days you were satisfied with the meals and the third day not satisfied. The day that you are complaining about the food, there were set menu available with four choices. And you have been selected an Indian less spicy set meal. So if it was not up to your taste you would have inform to the restaurant in charge and asked for another meal.
According to our hotel concept, the bath room’s shower area is open to the sky. Naturally its drizzle during the rain. Being in the remote position we have to hire outside transport what is available at the time and according to budget of the customer. I think you also had the same experience.
Your conclusion over the guest stay at our resort is completely wrong and most of the clients stay here at least three nights. They visit all cultural sites like Dambulla, Sigiriya, Polonnaruwa, and Anuradhapura from here.
Thanks
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    217
    47
    7
    7
See reviews for
118
213
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

After a long flight from Europe we finally got to Colombo and instantly travelled 4 and a half hours to get to hotels Camellia, so we were exhausted and frustrated as well when we arrived. However, from greetings to check-out everybody was nice, helpful, and happy. We arrived late at around 11pm, but since there was a large group having late dinner we could join and have some food as well. On the dinner buffet I counted 15 different chafing dishes full of food, and a huge number of other items even sushi. And it was like that every day for breakfast and dinner. Amazing amount of great food. The hotel itself looks like many hotels in Bali, Thailand or Egypt. Large garden with pool, an open restaurant area and several 2-story bungalows with 4 rooms each. It is perfact for relaxation. The rooms are very large, bright with classic colonial furniture. We stayed 2 night in this little paradise and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedingkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lal K, Manager at Camellia Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
With our pleasure we take this opportunity to thank you for spending your valued time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your helpful comments and suggestions help us to become 23rd place among best 25 Hotels in Sri Lanka. Also we have being awarded as a winner of Travelers’ Choice for year 2015 with your blessings. We have paid more attention to enhance our service and assure your complete satisfaction in the event of your stay in our hotel again.
Best Regards.
MANAGEMENT (Camellia Resort & Spa),
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights in room 140, The room was big and clean and everything felt new. Bonus - there were quite a few English language TV channels.

The Breakfast and dinner buffet spread were impressive. We especially liked the sour sop fruit, which was not available in other restaurants.

One negative was the faint "sewer" smell in our bathroom. The bathroom was dry and clean, so the smell could not be due to any leakage. Hope the management would be able to fix that soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buzibody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lal K, Manager at Camellia Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
With our pleasure we take this opportunity to thank you for spending your valued time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your helpful comments and suggestions help us to become 23rd place among best 25 Hotels in Sri Lanka. Also we have being awarded as a winner of Travelers’ Choice for year 2015 with your blessings. We have paid more attention to enhance our service and assure your complete satisfaction in the event of your stay in our hotel again.
Best Regards.
MANAGEMENT (Camellia Resort & Spa),
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Really friendly staff, beautifull area, good food, beautifull rooms. I can't make a long story, because everything is really beautifull and great. So only the word perfect is enough. I had a great time and certainly i Will come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joelvw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lal K, Manager at Camellia Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
With our pleasure we take this opportunity to thank you for spending your valued time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your helpful comments and suggestions help us to become 23rd place among best 25 Hotels in Sri Lanka. Also we have being awarded as a winner of Travelers’ Choice for year 2015 with your blessings. We have paid more attention to enhance our service and assure your complete satisfaction in the event of your stay in our hotel again.
Best Regards.
MANAGEMENT (Camellia Resort & Spa),
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I acknowledge the resort was only 6 months old when we visited but there is a lot of fine tuning still required. In the hot climate drinks whenever we wished would have been great. They either did not have them there or they weren't cold so we ended up buying our own and used the eskys we took as part of our junior cricket touring group. There were no fridges in room also no safes. The rooms were spacious and fit well with the theme of an eco resort. The staff spoke very very little english and it was extremely hard to communicate. Our laundry got mixed up with other residents. But think this place could be a winner with better supervision and overseeing.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lal K, Manager at Camellia Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for spending your valued time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. And we have noted your helpful comments and suggestions. As your comments we have already done a lot of fine turnings such as mini fridges in rooms ,general safe etc. Also we have been employed English speaking staff too. We thank you for your comments once again which was helped to enhance the quality of our service to ensure complete satisfaction to all valued guests.
Kind regards
MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights from 19 - 22 September 2013. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, including a swimming pool large enough for a decent swim. The rooms, set in blocks of four around the grounds,, are very spacious, with a large bathroom, very comfortable beds. The staff are really friendly and attendive. The breakfast has a good choice, and the dinners always had a choice of Indian food or more typical western food.The presentation of the food would grace a first class restaurant.

Camellia Spa is stuated in a very convenient location for some of the ancient sites of Sri Lanka as well as the elephant safari park, where we were fortunate to see at least 100 elephants at close quarters.

All in all a first rate experince.

Molly

Room Tip: All thr roooms seem to be the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lal K, Manager at Camellia Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
With our pleasure we take this opportunity to thank you for spending your valued time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your helpful comments and suggestions help us to become 23rd place among best 25 Hotels in Sri Lanka. Also we have being awarded as a winner of Travelers’ Choice for year 2015 with your blessings. We have paid more attention to enhance our service and assure your complete satisfaction in the event of your stay in our hotel again.
Best Regards.
MANAGEMENT (Camellia Resort & Spa),
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed two nights here on a tour of the island. It is excellently situated for the Cultural Triangle and our room had a wonderful view of Sigiriya Rock from the balcony. The hotel is fairly new and modern, and the modern, comfortable rooms are in lodges set in beautiful grounds. There is a nice-looking pool, which we didn't have time to try, behind which is the open-plan, open-air restaurant. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and there is a welcoming feel to the place. A big minus for me, and one which the hotel needs to address, is the food handling arrangements. The evening meal is arranged buffet-style, which was the norm in the other three Sri Lankan hotels we stayed in. More attention needs to be paid here to the way the food is kept heated and covered. In the other hotels food was stored in heated stainless steel tureens. Here there were large plates of food, some uncovered or covered / half-covered in cling-film. This was more noticeable and worrying at breakfast, when flies were a problem. There was little provision here in the buffet, unlike elsewhere, for guests who preferred a Western-style food alternative. This was our first Sri Lankan hotel and we could have solved our food difficulties had we known there was an a-la-carte option. The restaurant manager was missing on the second evening, and the waiter thought our lack of appetite was amusing rather than offering a-la-carte. My partner spent the first two days of our holiday wondering what she would eat in Sri Lanka! Luckily, excellent subsequent hotels provided the answer. All in all, though, a nice hotel, which needs to make some small but important adjustments, and all will be well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Bolton_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.H.Nishan H, Owner at Camellia Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for spending your valued time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. We have noted your helpful comments and suggestions. With reference to our food handling arrangements, it is our practice to use the Bain-Marie instead of the stainless steel tureens which you have misunderstood as large plates. Cling-film is used to cover some salads/dressings for hygienic purposes. During this period there are flies coming in which is natural in this area. In the food handling sections we are unable to use pesticides to eradicate the fly problem. Instead we have installed a fly-killer and high- powered blowing fans. However in future we will pay more attention to this situation.
Regarding your comment on the breakfast buffet, we generally have a mix of both western and eastern varieties of food taking into consideration the in-house guests. We have paid due consideration to this and other comments which have assisted us to further enhance our service and assure your complete satisfaction in the event you stay in our hotel again.
Best regards
MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
10.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
9.0 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kassapa Lions Rock
Kassapa Lions Rock
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Resort and Spa

Property: Camellia Resort and Spa
Address: Audangawa | Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camellia Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant resort, situated in the middle of the cultural triangle known as an area with world heritage sites, such as Sigiriya Rock Fortress, Dambulla Golden Cave Temple, Polonnaruwa Ancient City, Anuradhapura Ancient City and one the famous Ramsar Wetland called Minneriya National Park where there are hundreds of elephants gathering for grass. The resort is surrounded by greenish vegetation and wildlife. We are pleased to welcome you to one of the best relaxing places in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Camellia Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing