We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“land of peace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camellia Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“land of peace”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

After a long flight from Europe we finally got to Colombo and instantly travelled 4 and a half hours to get to hotels Camellia, so we were exhausted and frustrated as well when we arrived. However, from greetings to check-out everybody was nice, helpful, and happy. We arrived late at around 11pm, but since there was a large group having late dinner we could join and have some food as well. On the dinner buffet I counted 15 different chafing dishes full of food, and a huge number of other items even sushi. And it was like that every day for breakfast and dinner. Amazing amount of great food. The hotel itself looks like many hotels in Bali, Thailand or Egypt. Large garden with pool, an open restaurant area and several 2-story bungalows with 4 rooms each. It is perfact for relaxation. The rooms are very large, bright with classic colonial furniture. We stayed 2 night in this little paradise and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedingkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lal K, Manager at Camellia Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
With our pleasure we take this opportunity to thank you for spending your valued time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your helpful comments and suggestions help us to become 23rd place among best 25 Hotels in Sri Lanka. Also we have being awarded as a winner of Travelers’ Choice for year 2015 with your blessings. We have paid more attention to enhance our service and assure your complete satisfaction in the event of your stay in our hotel again.
Best Regards.
MANAGEMENT (Camellia Resort & Spa),
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    241
    51
    8
    7
See reviews for
134
246
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights in room 140, The room was big and clean and everything felt new. Bonus - there were quite a few English language TV channels.

The Breakfast and dinner buffet spread were impressive. We especially liked the sour sop fruit, which was not available in other restaurants.

One negative was the faint "sewer" smell in our bathroom. The bathroom was dry and clean, so the smell could not be due to any leakage. Hope the management would be able to fix that soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzibody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lal K, Manager at Camellia Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
With our pleasure we take this opportunity to thank you for spending your valued time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your helpful comments and suggestions help us to become 23rd place among best 25 Hotels in Sri Lanka. Also we have being awarded as a winner of Travelers’ Choice for year 2015 with your blessings. We have paid more attention to enhance our service and assure your complete satisfaction in the event of your stay in our hotel again.
Best Regards.
MANAGEMENT (Camellia Resort & Spa),
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Really friendly staff, beautifull area, good food, beautifull rooms. I can't make a long story, because everything is really beautifull and great. So only the word perfect is enough. I had a great time and certainly i Will come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joelvw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lal K, Manager at Camellia Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
With our pleasure we take this opportunity to thank you for spending your valued time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your helpful comments and suggestions help us to become 23rd place among best 25 Hotels in Sri Lanka. Also we have being awarded as a winner of Travelers’ Choice for year 2015 with your blessings. We have paid more attention to enhance our service and assure your complete satisfaction in the event of your stay in our hotel again.
Best Regards.
MANAGEMENT (Camellia Resort & Spa),
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I acknowledge the resort was only 6 months old when we visited but there is a lot of fine tuning still required. In the hot climate drinks whenever we wished would have been great. They either did not have them there or they weren't cold so we ended up buying our own and used the eskys we took as part of our junior cricket touring group. There were no fridges in room also no safes. The rooms were spacious and fit well with the theme of an eco resort. The staff spoke very very little english and it was extremely hard to communicate. Our laundry got mixed up with other residents. But think this place could be a winner with better supervision and overseeing.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lal K, Manager at Camellia Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for spending your valued time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. And we have noted your helpful comments and suggestions. As your comments we have already done a lot of fine turnings such as mini fridges in rooms ,general safe etc. Also we have been employed English speaking staff too. We thank you for your comments once again which was helped to enhance the quality of our service to ensure complete satisfaction to all valued guests.
Kind regards
MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights from 19 - 22 September 2013. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, including a swimming pool large enough for a decent swim. The rooms, set in blocks of four around the grounds,, are very spacious, with a large bathroom, very comfortable beds. The staff are really friendly and attendive. The breakfast has a good choice, and the dinners always had a choice of Indian food or more typical western food.The presentation of the food would grace a first class restaurant.

Camellia Spa is stuated in a very convenient location for some of the ancient sites of Sri Lanka as well as the elephant safari park, where we were fortunate to see at least 100 elephants at close quarters.

All in all a first rate experince.

Molly

Room Tip: All thr roooms seem to be the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lal K, Manager at Camellia Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
With our pleasure we take this opportunity to thank you for spending your valued time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your helpful comments and suggestions help us to become 23rd place among best 25 Hotels in Sri Lanka. Also we have being awarded as a winner of Travelers’ Choice for year 2015 with your blessings. We have paid more attention to enhance our service and assure your complete satisfaction in the event of your stay in our hotel again.
Best Regards.
MANAGEMENT (Camellia Resort & Spa),
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed two nights here on a tour of the island. It is excellently situated for the Cultural Triangle and our room had a wonderful view of Sigiriya Rock from the balcony. The hotel is fairly new and modern, and the modern, comfortable rooms are in lodges set in beautiful grounds. There is a nice-looking pool, which we didn't have time to try, behind which is the open-plan, open-air restaurant. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and there is a welcoming feel to the place. A big minus for me, and one which the hotel needs to address, is the food handling arrangements. The evening meal is arranged buffet-style, which was the norm in the other three Sri Lankan hotels we stayed in. More attention needs to be paid here to the way the food is kept heated and covered. In the other hotels food was stored in heated stainless steel tureens. Here there were large plates of food, some uncovered or covered / half-covered in cling-film. This was more noticeable and worrying at breakfast, when flies were a problem. There was little provision here in the buffet, unlike elsewhere, for guests who preferred a Western-style food alternative. This was our first Sri Lankan hotel and we could have solved our food difficulties had we known there was an a-la-carte option. The restaurant manager was missing on the second evening, and the waiter thought our lack of appetite was amusing rather than offering a-la-carte. My partner spent the first two days of our holiday wondering what she would eat in Sri Lanka! Luckily, excellent subsequent hotels provided the answer. All in all, though, a nice hotel, which needs to make some small but important adjustments, and all will be well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Bolton_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.H.Nishan H, Owner at Camellia Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for spending your valued time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. We have noted your helpful comments and suggestions. With reference to our food handling arrangements, it is our practice to use the Bain-Marie instead of the stainless steel tureens which you have misunderstood as large plates. Cling-film is used to cover some salads/dressings for hygienic purposes. During this period there are flies coming in which is natural in this area. In the food handling sections we are unable to use pesticides to eradicate the fly problem. Instead we have installed a fly-killer and high- powered blowing fans. However in future we will pay more attention to this situation.
Regarding your comment on the breakfast buffet, we generally have a mix of both western and eastern varieties of food taking into consideration the in-house guests. We have paid due consideration to this and other comments which have assisted us to further enhance our service and assure your complete satisfaction in the event you stay in our hotel again.
Best regards
MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Rooms are really nice and clean, nice swimming pool.
Service is ok
Restaurant is dark and the food is not good. There is a little choice in a la carte menu and overall we didn't like it. The resort is far so we didn't have the choice of going out for dinner..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 818Anna_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A.H.Nishan H, Owner at Camellia Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for spending your valued time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. I would like to explain why we keep our restaurant a little dark. Our hotel concept is not to highly illuminate our public areas and restaurant. Instead we light candles on the specially manufactured wall brackets as well as on the dining tables along with the main electricial light fittings. This enables the livelihood of the beautiful birds nestling in the trees in and around the hotel premises. Being an “Eco-friendly and Environment –friendly” hotel, we endeavour to preserve and enhance our natural surroundings.
We have noted your comment regarding the food and a-la-carte menu. Our a-la-carte menu consists of a wide range of varieties . I would like to draw your kind attention to the other reviews where the food and a-la-carte menu has been appreciated. Any short-fall you have found in this aspect has been seen to.
We thank you for your comments once again which have helped enhance the quality of our service to ensure complete satisfaction to all valued guests.
Kind regards
MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
10.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,617 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,563 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
1.3 mi away
Kassapa Lions Rock
Kassapa Lions Rock
#7 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,039 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Resort and Spa

Property: Camellia Resort and Spa
Address: Audangawa | Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camellia Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant resort, situated in the middle of the cultural triangle known as an area with world heritage sites, such as Sigiriya Rock Fortress, Dambulla Golden Cave Temple, Polonnaruwa Ancient City, Anuradhapura Ancient City and one the famous Ramsar Wetland called Minneriya National Park where there are hundreds of elephants gathering for grass. The resort is surrounded by greenish vegetation and wildlife. We are pleased to welcome you to one of the best relaxing places in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camellia Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing