We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and great hospitality”
Review of Kalum Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalum Homestay
Ranked #36 of 94 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and great hospitality”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

From the terrace of Kalum's homestay you have a magnificent view of sigiriya's rock. Kalum and his wife are really nice and very helpful. The homecooked meals are wonderful. There was only one thing we didn't liked: the price of dinner was 1500 rp per person per night! Of course we should have asked this before we ordered but after some time travelling in sri lanka we assumed it woud be somewhere 500-800 rp like in most homestays...
Kalum arranged a very well-informed and English speaking driver/guide for us to go on an afternoon safari to Miniriya park to see over a hundred elephants and many birdspecies. I woud really recommend this trip.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and warm family. The owner took us with him to see a wild elephant passing by through the lake in the night. This is a guy you can have a fun and nice conversation with. Food is great and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PErth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We turned up on spec, but this turned out to be the BEST homestay out of all the places we stayed in. It spoilt us for all the others. Kalum and his wife are EXCELLENT hosts. Charming, helpful, informative.

Each morning's breakfast ( x 3 ) had something special

Each night ( x 3 ), they put on an excellent spread of Sri Lankan specialities, all of which were authentic and so tasty. Chandrika will even show you how to cook.

The shop is well stocked with all the essentials (and more).

The location is right on the edge of the Sigiriya Tank/Lake, with direct views of Sigiriya Rock from the backyard. You can admire the Rock while sipping champagne in the pleasant outdoor area.

This was without doubt our BEST experience. We used this homestay as our base from which to visit Sigiriya, Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa (all self-drive).

We could not ask for more of a homestay. It had everything and more.

We HIGHLY recommend it and will definitely stay there again on our next visit.

Here is Google Maps link to shpw exactly where it is:-

https://maps.google.com.au/maps/ms?msid=208982343734927198065.0004d2d07b9a89da0c940&msa=0&ll=7.942701,80.753846&spn=0.047392,0.072012


Thank you Kalum and family.


Johann

Room Tip: All rooms spacious and clean. Only the very end room has hot water. But we did not need hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAbeyesinghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Small homestay with 3 big and clean rooms and a great Sigiriya rock view!!
The owners are very kind and helpful providing you with any kind of informations about places to see and Sri Lanka in general. They also have a little shop with everything you may need during your stay. Meals are not really cheap but very tasty and rich.
A good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anuket_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
1.2 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#12 of 19 in Sigiriya
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,534 reviews
3.7 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lakmini Lodge & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Kashyapa Kingdom View Home
Kashyapa Kingdom View Home
#21 of 94 in Sigiriya
61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#12 of 94 in Sigiriya
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalum Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalum Homestay

Property: Kalum Homestay
Address: 97/1 Hotel Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kalum Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing