We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, musty, needs a good clean” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sigiri Lion Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sigiri Lion Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic, musty, needs a good clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I booked a room here for a couple of nights based on the reviews here. What a mistake! The owner was indeed very nice (if a bit absent), but that counts for nothing if the room makes your skin crawl and you just don't feel comfortable there.

The room smelt musty, was damp, dark and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned in a long time. The bedding didn't look or smell clean. We forked out for air con, which we didn't need in the end and had to turn off anyway. The unit spent the whole time stopping and then restarting, and each time it restarted it would beep and wake us up.

Dinner wasn't great either. Watery curry and bland noodles. They also don't sell beer, so bring your own. The nearest shop selling beer was about 1km away. Breakfast was just hoppers and tea, no fruit.

Poor value for money at $30 a night bed and breakfast. We stayed in far better places for the same rate. I'm sure you can get a much better price if you just turn up and haggle, but as so many of the recommended (Rough Guide/Lonely Planet) guesthouses were booked, this didn't seem like an option.

After 3 weeks in Sri Lanka staying at guesthouses found in guidebooks and on Trip Advisor, I can only conclude that most reviewers on Trip Advisor are either on crack or have been paid. Honestly, how many people really remember the name of owner of all the guesthouses they stay in?! Deeply suspicious.

Room Tip: None of them. Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancingsamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    103
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
43
243
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent two nights in Sigirya, unfortunately only just our second night in the Lion Logde... We were not happy with our first night hotel and on our way to see the Lion Rock we came accross the Lion Lodge. We loved it right away!
Ajith welcomed us very friendly, so duc his wife. They showed us a very nice, spacious room for a good price, we were happy to take it. In the evening we got a very tasty homecooked meal, really good! Also the next morning, a lovely breakfast! We were not sure whether to stay (because we liked it there) or to move on to Kandy (because we wanted to move on)... They were very patient with us, not hurrying us to make a decision or to finish breakfast. We decided to move on, heading for Kandy and he arranged a guesthouse for us there, Travellers Nest, owned by his friend, mister Susiri, also a lovely place and a very kind man.
So, many thanks to Ajith, for the nice stay in the Lion Lodge and for the guesthouse in Kandy (we spent 3 nights there!) !!!

I can recommend the Lion Lodge to everybody, I really loved it there!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We spent a night in Sigiri Lion lodge, a guesthouse from Ajith and his family. As soon as we entered the premises Ajith welcomed us with his beaming smile. He made sure that we had everything we needed. He was always there, but never in an intrusive way. In the evening we had a good homecooked dinner and the next morning he prepared a Sri Lankan breakfast for us with hoppers, which are made out of ricemeel. Unfortunately the weather was pretty bad, so we refrained from climbing Lion's rock. The site is within walking distance. Instead we climbed a smaller rock and we were the only ones. Ajith can tell you how to get to that rock.
The rooms are basic but good. The only thing is that the fan and the airco make quite a lot of noise. Because of the bad weather we didn't need both.
I would reccomend this place if you are looking for a good basic guesthouse and a warm welcoming host. It's got the family vibe which I always prefer to the more anonymous hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vibster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's strange what a huge impression left on me. We only stayed here one night but the atmosphere, the wildlife around you and the friendly host "Ajith" made it one of the memorable nights of our Sri Lanka trip. The rooms were comfortable and clean and reasonably priced, and the peace and quiet was free. We just sat out the front of our rooms and took it all in and were able to unwind and relax. Ajith arranged for his wife to make an amazing Sri Lankan feast for dinner of traditional curries which was probably the best meal we had the whole trip.
Our driver, who had never been to the Lion Lodge before even said to me as we left that this was a really great place to stay, and that he will be recommending it to other clients. Coming from our driver (Asanka Fernando; the friendliest person I've ever met), that says alot about the place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacko4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We just stayed here one night, as a base to explore the Ancient City of Sigiriya (Lion Rock). I loved the place from the moment we arrived. Sigiriya is small, but this place is near to the few shops that are about, however up a driveway so set back a bit off the road. The guest rooms were basic but had everything we needed, and were clean. I just loved the atmosphere of the place. Out the front of the rooms there are tables and a 'restaurant' (a couple of tables in an adjoining area), which were a beautiful place to relax with a Lion Beer, cup of tea or soft drink. We could hear and see monkeys playing in trees in the distance, and could also hear elephants. And some music from a 'party' nearby, but nice, happy authentic Sri Lankan music, it was pleasurable, not annoying, and stopped fairly early.

The service was another highlight. The host Ajith and his wife did everything to make us feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble. For example, they didn't have beer officially on their menu (no licence) ... but he was able to help us out in acquiring some. And happy to put our own beers in his fridge too. The meal they made us of Sri Lankan curries for dinner was spectacular and delicious, as was breakfast of hoppers and fruits.

They also happily provided accommodation for our driver (if you have a driver, driver accommodation is something you need to be aware of when travelling around Sri Lanka). Though they do only have 4 rooms I believe, so if they were full this might not always be an option).

The only downside for me was that when we initially booked we had reserved 3 rooms with air conditioning. However when we arrived it became clear that they have only 2 rooms with A/C so this was never going to happen. I am not sure if this was a misunderstanding, or a lie to lure us there. It didn't turn out to be an issue - our friend in the non-A/C room said it was fine - and the place was otherwise so wonderful that we didn't dwell on this.

This accommodation is also very close to the Sigiriya ste, which means you can get there very early which we did, and I am glad we got there before there were too many other tourists or it was too hot. Ajith let us keep our rooms while we visited the site so we could still have a shower and freshen up after before moving on.

If you are after a 5 star resort this is not for you. If you after great, clean, basic accommodation, with wonderful service, I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: As of October 2012 only 2 (of 4) rooms had A/C - our friend in the non-A/C room said it was fine - b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTentpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merosg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Bus driver recommended this place, and it turned out to be very nice. Its a family run place, kept very clean, and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. A variety of rooms to choose from with and without A/C, opted for A/C which worked very well. They had hot water, delicious homemade dinner available(very generous portions, and a good variety/sampler), walking distance to the ruins. Would definitely stay here again. Short walk to internet cafe. For the price, its hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had an overnight stay at Lion's Lodge in September. It was a really nice experience. Mr & Mrs Rathnayake are really friendly and serve a good rice and curry. the room was clean, spacious and located in a quiet environment (50m away from the main road). Moreover, you can catch the 6:30am direct bus to Kandy just in front of the guesthouse, which is pretty convenient at this time of he day. The main attraction of the city (Sigiriya rock) is just at a stone throw from the lodge which makes it a good base to go climb the Rock.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic_D_FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
8.7 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
6.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiri Lion Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiri Lion Lodge

Property: Sigiri Lion Lodge
Address: 186 Main Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sigiri Lion Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing