We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sigiri Lion Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had an overnight stay at Lion's Lodge in September. It was a really nice experience. Mr & Mrs Rathnayake are really friendly and serve a good rice and curry. the room was clean, spacious and located in a quiet environment (50m away from the main road). Moreover, you can catch the 6:30am direct bus to Kandy just in front of the guesthouse, which is pretty convenient at this time of he day. The main attraction of the city (Sigiriya rock) is just at a stone throw from the lodge which makes it a good base to go climb the Rock.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederic_D_FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 529 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

the lodge is a very nice and quiet place, situated in the center of sigiriya, 15 min walk from the lion rock. the lodge is ran by ajith and his family, his wife being the cook. we planned on just passing through sigirya for climbing on the lion rock but found Ajith's place and stayed for 2 nights. the lodge is rather new (open for a year now), and the rooms are comfortable and very clean with hot water in the shower. Ajith's hospitability was admirable!! he was so attentive and caring about all of our needs there - from bike renting to preparing us coffee at 05:30 in the morning when we had to leave. he also helped us with attractions' information and buses. the lodge has a nice veranda where you can sit and relax with a glass of lion beer. in addition, there is a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch & dinner. the menu includs tasty local dishes which are served with a great attention to each dish. Ajith's wife is an excellent cook!! all meals are cooked in a traditional and home - made way (spices are collected from the garden and meals are being cooked on Burning coal giving the dishes special flavour). the rice and curry we ate at the lion lodge were the best we had in Srilanka! we reccomend all those arriving to sigiriya to stay here :)

Room Tip: all rooms are alike
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irenakopel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank turtled2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajith R, Owner at Sigiri Lion Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Habitación en planta alta
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank AnayJorge2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajith R, Owner at Sigiri Lion Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank margarin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
381
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajith R, Owner at Sigiri Lion Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: toutes sont bien cela dépend de votre budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank atonn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,665 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,532 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#14 of 20 in Sigiriya
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relax Guest
Relax Guest
#3 of 111 in Sigiriya
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lal Homestay
Lal Homestay
#1 of 111 in Sigiriya
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiri Lion Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiri Lion Lodge

Address: 186 Main Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range: $17 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sigiri Lion Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing