We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We arrived on the 17th of May 2014. We were taken to the bar for the welcome refreshments and the bar had an awful smell. First impression of the hotel was horrible. Then we were taken to our rooms (UK and UL) and as alway I went to check out the washroom and it had a smell as well. The toilet floor is very old and not very clean. The room has old furniture and they are not comfortable at all. The plunge pool is just a big tub!. A huge bed but not very comfortable pillows. Then after a few hours a complimentary fruit platter was brought into the room and that had a smell as well so we had to leave it out side. And no WIFI in the room!

Then we decided to order the lunch from the room service menu and I must say the food was very tasty.

The dinner menu does not have a great selection hence I ended up eating only the main course. The staff at the restuarant were not very friendly and tend to ignore your requests. Food takes along time to come.

We paid 32000 rupees for a triple room and 26000 rupees for a double and it's not worth the money at all. The hotel needs to be redone. It has an amazing view but all waisted due to rooms not been maintained properly.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank SandyKervinK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantc, Manager at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest ,

It means so much to us that you took the time to review the Elephant Corridor! Constructive comments from our esteemed guests helps us identify our faults and improve our standards. We are glad that you enjoyed our fantastic view of the lion’s rock and the food.

We are truly very sorry about the smell that troubled you during your stay with us. We are investigating this and hope to have it rectified soon. The hotel will also undergo a refurbishment soon and we hope that this will give it a fresher look and feel. We also hope to have WiFi available throughout the hotel and are sorry for any inconvenience caused by the lack of this. The food and menus will also undergo changes for the better and we hope to be able to bring you a better menu with more choice.

The Restaurant team will be briefed about the levels of service expected from them and we hope that this will not take place in the future and are sorry for this behavior.

We hope that you will come back soon and that you will be able to experience the sights and sounds of nature and enjoy a world class service from The Elephant Corridor.

Sincerely
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 428 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

On the road to Sigiriya, the hotel lobby gives you a great view over lion's rock. The rooms are well accommodated with high ceiling, huge bed and bathroom. Don't be fooled by the private plunge pool on the booking website, its mostly pictures of the Presidential villa plunge pool, deluxe room's one is so tiny there is no point using it. To be clear it is not a jacuzzi. We used the swimming pool instead, it's a short walk from the room but you can use bikes if you don't feel like walking. 
They had the silly idea to put a rectangular little swamp outside the rooms entrance, those swamps are filled with frogs overnight, and frogs are very very noisy, earplugs are required. No elephant on our stay.
Wifi in lobby and restaurant only. 
Breakfast is nice, lot of choices or buffet on weekends. The restaurant diner menu however needs improvement, we were stuck dinning here as our driver didn't want to drive around at night because of wild elephants.. Food is ok but way too expensive. Talking about expensive don't plan on doing your laundry there.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JessQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantc, Manager at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Elephant Corridor. We appreciate all the feedback that we get from guests so that we can improve their experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the rooms, the food, dips in the swimming pool and the fantastic view of the lions rock itself.

We apologies that the plunge pools were misunderstood. We try, as much as possible, to give an accurate picture of the hotel on our website to ensure that guests know what they are booking, however, we are sorry that this did not meet your expectations.

The Elephant Corridor is built a midst a jungle and therefore, part of the charm of staying there is to be at one with nature. Guests enjoy watching the animals in their natural habitat and we do what we can to protect this. However, we understand that the frogs are noisy and can disturb your rest, which is of utmost importance, and we are looking for ways in which the impact of the frog’s presence can be minimized while safeguarding them.

We are working on the WiFi and hope to have it available throughout the hotel in the future.

We hope that you will come back to The Elephant Corridor and that we will be able to provide an experience that is of world class standards.

Sincerely
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our get away to the Elephant Corridor could be rated as the best ever relaxation we have experienced in a hotel. Major improvements have to be made on the food and hospitality where the hotel could be catered to world class with the great atmosphere.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Suhini F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantc, Manager at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you for reviewing The Elephant Corridor on Tripadvisor. Your honest feedback on your stay with us is so valuable for us to improve our standards.

We are glad that you chose Elephant Corridor to get a good dose of rest and relaxation and are sorry that the food and hospitality was not up to your expectations. However, we are working hard on these factors and hope to improve so that we can give our guests the world class experience that they deserve.

We eagerly await your return to Elephant Corridor and hope that it will be a perfect one!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Me and my wife were in this hotel in the month of March for 3 nights. Initially we have booked a much better hotel in this area and it was not a hotel that we expected. We checked out next following day moring and the hotel Manager was kind enough to reinburse the payment we made for 3 nights that we did not stay. After having this experience we were looking around for hotels near by and our driver suggested to see Elephant Corrido and we went there jut to see. By the time we arrived, we have met the hotel staff and the lady at the front desk was very nice and the Bell Boy, Mr. Vijey was next us with a big smile and we were felt so good. After having a look at the villas we immedeatly decided to stay over and we felt that is the place for us. The staff were very practive in upselling and we upgraged our villa and we happened to enjoy the destination dinner. It was an amazing hotel although it needs some refurbishment. The hotel staff were excellent and Special Thanks to Vijey who is a very special charector. Cheers to all for the lovey service and we throughly enjoyed our stay. See you

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurpleKight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We are glad that we were able to make your holiday in Sri Lanka an enjoyable one. I will pass on your comments to Vijay. I am sure he will appreciate it!

We warmly invite you to stay with us again in the future.

Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

an excellent property with every room having a plunge pool attached. our pool was inside the suite where as some rooms have on the outside. a beautiful facility with nice landscaping and lot of activities to do. it even offers horse ride as they have a stable of their own.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aarohiLath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We also thank you for sharing your photographs with all of us – it is very heartening to see that you enjoyed yourself so much.

We warmly invite you to stay with us again in the future.

Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Don't listen to the negative reviews… this place is AMAZING and as far as I'm concerned the perfect resort. It blends in with it's natural surroundings whilst still being very much luxury. As soon as you arrive you can't help but relax. Yes it is kind of in the middle of nowhere and there is not a great deal to do at night but isn't that the point?

Rooms were very clean, very large, very private and very tastefully decked out. Our private pool was spotless and was cleaned everyday. I think the air-con cut out once for about an hour during our entire stay but the staff were on to it straight away.

Food was very decent - yes a little more expensive than the nearby town but you are staying in a resort and don't actually have to eat there!

Don't miss the main pool! It's a lovely 5 minute stroll through the grounds and beautifully nestled amidst the jungle complete with local wildlife. We found ourselves wanting to get back to the resort early after a day's sightseeing so we could enjoy the pool every evening!

Staff were super helpful and very attentive to our needs. We fell into super-relaxed mode here and didn't want to leave after 2 nights, so we stayed a 3rd! .. and still it wasn't long enough :(

We managed to get a good price for our stay and thought it was well worth what we paid. If you want a clean, quiet, relaxing base for exploring this corner of Sri Lanka then this is the place. The only negative thing about the Elephant Corridor is leaving. I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allister E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We would very much love to see you once again and warmly invite you to stay with us again in the future.

Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a really lovely hotel. It has a really peaceful setting, with picturesque grounds, and a lovely view of Sigirya rock. There is also a plethora of wildlife on your doorstep without even having to go to the nearby national park - we saw some monkeys before we had even checked in, chipmunks, peacocks, monitor lizards but sadly no elephants trundling round the grounds on this occasion!!
The rooms are fantastic - spacious and well equipped with private plunge pool and enormous bathroom (complete with a few friendly ants!!) I found bed a little on the hard side but the other half found it quite comfortable - a matter of personal taste!
The hotel also has a lovely pool and (small spa/gym facilities which we didn't use) but you can easily spend a few hours just exploring the grounds and enjoying a peaceful swim amid the sounds of nature.
The staff are extremely attentive and friendly, and it seemed that nothing was too much trouble to them. Food was good especially breakfast - don't miss the Sri Lankan breakfast and curd with treacle!!
Although it is in a peaceful spot, the hotel is well located and a great base for exploring Sigirya and the surrounding area.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmfh_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We warmly invite you to stay with us again in the future.

Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,681 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,620 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,077 reviews
5.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,633 reviews
4.2 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Corridor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Corridor Hotel

Address: Pothana Road | Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#11 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: $123 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Corridor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodation options await you at Elephant Corridor, with 22 individual cabin suites, each with its own private entrance, veranda and plunge pool. Escape from the rest of the world and find your oasis in a private suite or villa, each featuring exquisite architecture, inspiring design elements and modern amenities to ensure an experience of absolute comfort. In the vicinity of the fifth century Sigiriya Rock Fortress, also named the 8th Wonder of the World. Amidst thousands of acres of undisturbed jungle, teak forest, and wildlife of many species, includes elephants who occasionally visit to drink from the 1500-year-old lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Corridor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Corridor Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing