We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Luxurious place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Luxurious place to relax”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

A great property with a relaxing atmosphere.The limited number of suites makes the facility a very quiet place to relax. the suites are spacious and very comfortable with a private pool. the staff was friendly and the service was excellent

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranjithdesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We warmly invite you to stay with us again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    101
    52
    29
    49
See reviews for
99
205
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a gorgeous place! On arrival we were offered a refreshing drink and towel - just the start of the great service on offer. The private villas are really lovely, large with huge windows. The bathroom was enormous and filled with light. Food is a little expensive, but the set menu at dinner was great value and very filling. The only downside is the slow drinks service - food is quick but drinks not?? You MUST take a nature walk with Panduka - he is incredibly knowledgeable about the local wildlife and can spot all sorts of birds and animals from afar. I wish they allowed you to take out the bikes from the hotel - would have been great to ride to the rock.

We were lucky to get a great deal with Agoda so we didn't pay full price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaandtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

Also, we thank you very much for your constructive criticism which we will use to improve our services even more.

On your next visit, please visit our horses as well. I’m sure you would have loved them!

We warmly invite you to stay with us again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

very nice place to stay.had a very nice time.Thank you all,i love this place.good food and friendly service,nice view ,we stayed 3 days and enjoyed a lot with the family.Thank you very much for everything.we will back soon....

Room Tip: Suit rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We warmly invite you to stay with us again in the future.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a room designated the Romantic suite. We are a young at heart, active UK couple (early 60s) who are used to travelling in S. America, SE Asia, Europe, Australia, India etc. This was our first time in Sri Lanka (3 weeks) and stayed in 7 locations, 3 of which were this price level, the remainder in small guest houses at a quarter this price. All our travel was on 2nd or 3rd class train (Gampaha-A'pura, Kandy-Haputale, Hikkaduwa-Colombo), Tuktuk (A'pura-Sigiriya, Sigiriya-Kandy, Mirissa-Hikkaduwa) or private car (Haputale-Tissa, Tissa-Mirissa). I hope the reader has a flavour of both our past & present experiences in order to set the scene (& our expectations) for this review.

We were extremely happy with our stay at Elephant Corridor. The food was good, staff delightful, room comfortable, clean & an excellent standard, the hotel grounds very well kept and the pool area private and serene. We did not use the spa, gym, helipad (hehehe!) or take lunch

We arrived from A'pura, perhaps incongruously by tuktuk, and were delivered, from the security gate, to reception, with our bags, by golf-cart. The hotel is in extensive secluded grounds away from any external influences and noise. Our drink and welcome at reception preceded a short walk to our Romantic Suite (yes, the intent was there, even at our age!). We were shown all details of our suite facilities, just as the plunge-pool cleaning was finishing. The suite was wonderful and well maintained by our daily cleaner and room servicing. We had no problem obtaining hot water in the bath-room. The tea/coffee facilities were replenished daily as were 2 small bottles of water. TV was satellite fed & MP3 music was playable if you had your own USB stick. A plate of fresh fruit enticed us on arrival. I think the only disadvantage of an indoor plunge-pool was that it could not reach outdoor ambient air temperatures and was "cool".
We used the bar each evening for a cold beer and Dilip chatted & took care of us.
We were booked B&B but there is no practical alternative of eating elsewhere. This did not worry us as the food was excellent. We took the 4 course set menu each evening for LKR2600 each and found there was sufficient choice, within that, to satisfy us. Breakfast provided a wide choice and we enjoyed fresh fruit juices & coconut water, cereals, fruit, buffalo curd & honey, croissants and omelette or pancakes.
Our first day was spent on a trip to Polonnaruwa and the second within the hotel grounds. A horse ride in the morning (LKR2000 for 30 mins), 1 hour nature walk at 16:30pm (free) and just relaxing in/by the pool and in the suite was just what we needed.
There have, indeed, been mixed reviews about Elephant Corridor and I wonder what has really happened to upset those reviewers, what was their backgrounds and their expectation levels? My wife & I work on the basis that you have to treat others well to expect the same in return. It works for us. Happy travels!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scubascubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We appreciate your comments all the more as you have a lot of experience travelling the world. You seem to have taken the best out of what we have to offer and experienced the true beauty of The Elephant Corridor. Please do come visit us again; we will be waiting to serve such pleasant people like you again.

We warmly extend our invitation to stay with us again. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have heard of Elephant corridor as one of the best in Sri lanka, therefore along with Heritance Kandalama and Jetwing Vil Uyana we decided to spend one day at Elephant corridor. And I was really glad that it was just one night here.I had high expectations of the hotel until we went to our rooms. (family villas)there were unpleasant smells and it the interior was very outdated and unpleasant and gave the rooms a very dull and ancient look. But then we thought at least the food should be good. When we went to dine everyone was really disappointed with the quality of the food and the poor amount of choices available. We had set menus except for breakfast. And for lunch we just had one choice and it wasn't even a good choice, so we had to complain and they said that the chef had left and made a very slight alteration for us.All the menus were cheaply done and was not worth for the money paid at all. The only good points about this place was the great location, some friendly staff and the entertainment it offers.It was really sad to see such a beautiful place go to waste.This was the worst hotel out of all that we had booked for our vacation.I hope the management does something about this and improve the quality of food at least.
I really would not recommend this place to anyone as it would be a waste of their holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Padmi812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

After reading mixed views about this hotel I was almost choosing an alternative. I'm so glad I didn't.
The hotel, the staff and the location could not be better.
I've been in the travel industry for over 30 years now and. I am often critical regarding service and comfort but in this hotel there was nothing to criticise.
Radi the Food and beverage manager organised our stay and went out of his way to cater for our every need and desire.
The suites are luxurious with the outdoor plunge pool and the sounds of the jungle magical, even the fireflies fluttering around us were utterly breath taking.
Perfect location perfect service
Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aocfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We’re glad that our services lived up to your experienced standards and that you enjoyed your stay. We always try our best to maintain the standards expected by a 5-star luxury boutique hotel and delight our guests, and we seem to have succeeded in both with you! We warmly invite you to stay with us again in the future.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Nice setting in nature, possibility of taking a bike to explore the surroundings, nice views from the rooms, very enthusiastic staff and a very complete and tasty buffet. With some luck, you see elephants passing by!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We’re glad that you enjoyed our food and accommodation, and found the staff friendly. Next time, you might want to spend some time with our beautiful horses too! We warmly invite you to stay with us again in the future.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,625 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,571 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,046 reviews
5.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,529 reviews
4.2 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Corridor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Corridor Hotel

Property: Elephant Corridor Hotel
Address: Pothana Road | Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#11 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Corridor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodation options await you at Elephant Corridor, with 22 individual cabin suites, each with its own private entrance, veranda and plunge pool. Escape from the rest of the world and find your oasis in a private suite or villa, each featuring exquisite architecture, inspiring design elements and modern amenities to ensure an experience of absolute comfort. In the vicinity of the fifth century Sigiriya Rock Fortress, also named the 8th Wonder of the World. Amidst thousands of acres of undisturbed jungle, teak forest, and wildlife of many species, includes elephants who occasionally visit to drink from the 1500-year-old lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Corridor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Corridor Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing