We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we expected more from the presidential villa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Reviewed January 3, 2014

i am writing this review on behalf of my family who stayed at the presidential villa, while my husband and i were booked separately in a deluxe room. imagine our surprise next morning upon meeting up for breakfast when we saw them reporting to the front desk that the room was incredibly dirty. the wooden floors were damaged and the beds were sitting right where the damage is. the hair dryer in the room wasnt working and the technicians who came to help insisted on staying in the room until past midnight just to get it fixed even when my mom had told them she was very very tired and would rather sleep with wet hair. the presidential villa comes with a separate private dining room which you cant access unless you order from the restaurant. the bedrooms themselves were quite small. this was not our first choice hotel in sigiriya but we were forced to stay here after most of the other hotels in the area were booked up in the christmas rush. if you are like us and have no other choice, you might be better off in deluxe room. at least it's better value for money and those rooms are perhaps better maintained as a result of higher turnover rates.

Room Tip: you might be better off going for several deluxe rooms rather than the presidential villa. the delu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review.

First of all, we must apologize for the poor service you experienced during your stay. The management has reviewed your comments and is looking into what went wrong that day. This has never happened before and all suites are usually maintained very well. We can assure you that it will never happen again and warmly invite you to stay with us once again to give us an opportunity to change your mind. We would be obliged to give you a free upgrade absolutely free of charge.

We are grateful for your comments as we are always looking for areas in which we can improve our facilities and services.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 435 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Elephant Corridor offers just 21 suites in a stunning natural setting. We loved the tranquility and beauty of the place. Our huge, comfortable suite had a view of tropical fauna, the nearby lake and mountains, and the Sigiriya rock fortress is clearly visible from the main building. We visited the hotel as a couple but it was full of families and kids appeared to be enjoying the expansive grounds. Service was a little unpolished at times but staff were friendly and well intentioned. Our only real gripes: the hot water in the shower was seriously short-lived (lasting a few minutes at best) and the wifi access limited to communal areas, complicating our Skype Christmas calls to family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakshincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a small hotel with only 20 rooms, but it is on an enormos property. The rooms are small bungalows, so the rooms are huge. The bathroom are very big. All bungalows have a terrace and it is magic to sit and lissen to all the animals sound when the sun us setting. The staff are friendly and the reception area is open. On the drawback it is at least 500 meter to walk to the swimming pool and spa. The spa close at 5 pm. You can be driven around be a small electric car. The restaurant is very small, and the menu is not large, but the food is tasteful. This is a nice place for some nights if you shall visit Sigriya ore Dambulla and the hotel concept is good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trekkfugl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We are always on the lookout for feedback and areas in which we can improve and comments like yours are greatly appreciated. It really gives us another perspective of our property, and we thank you once more. We warmly invite you to stay with us again.


We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We booked the suite for two nights, but checked out in one night as it was an overall disappointing stay. The rooms needs repairs and maintanance, the private pool had insects and animals in it, the food meanwhile was very limited in choice. It's a fantastic concept and property but not refurbished or maintained.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Upeksha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review.

The management has reviewed your comments and we cannot apologize enough for the oversight on our part. We can only ask you to give us one more opportunity in order to change your mind about our hotel. We will be more than happy to accommodate you and warmly invite you to visit us again. We can assure you that you will have a very enjoyable stay at The Elephant Corridor this time around.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed at the elephant corridor one night only. The room was fantastic, huge with a private pool, which made the return from the rock climb a real refreshing and great experience. Food is not that great however, and also the reception area would need some improvements and restoration. Staff was super friendly and helpful in organizing everything. Thanks again for having made a special Christmas to me.

Room Tip: I stayed in room MJ which is the farest from the common areas…sometimes a real deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enricasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We regret that you didn’t feel the food was up to par. I must say that, as of late, our feedback on the food has been great! I don’t know what went wrong that day but I can assure you that it will never happen again. We urge you to give us another opportunity to serve you so as to change your mind. We are always on the lookout for areas in which we can improve and your comments are greatly appreciated.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We went on a family trip and stayed in two super deluxe rooms. The hotel concept, the view, the rooms and activities on offer were great. The rooms are extremely spacious and the room amenities were great. The ability to cycle around the hotel and through the surrounding jungle is brilliant. All staff were extremely helpful and courteous. However the following needs to be fixed-
1. Food was horrendous-out of the 6 meals we had 3 were extremely poor. The Sri Lankan cuisine was quite nice however the western dishes that were on offer were below par. A Thai red curry chicken was served with rice for dinner which was nowhere near what Thai cuisine is like. We later found that most of the hotel guests had complained over this meal. Food is served a la carte and there is not much choice. If you have planned excursions during the day maybe opt for half board and have lunch elsewhere.
2. Room amenities- mini bar only contained water and we had to order drinks separately which defeats the purpose of the mini bar.
3. Cable tv-most channels can't be watched due to poor reception. This should be fixed or remove the tv's.
4. Wifi is only available in the lobby and dining area. With the price that we pay, I expected to have wifi access to rooms.

I sincerely hope that the above is fixed as it is a great place to relax and visit the surrounding areas. Also it is an extremely secluded and private place to relax with family and friends.
Room tip-all rooms are huge and comes with a plunge pool so it doesn't really matter what room you choose.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Nikhilsjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Elephant Corridor for the most part.

We sincerely apologize for your discontentment with the food. I must say that, as of late, our feedback on the food has been great! I don’t know what went wrong that day but I can assure you that it will never happen again. We urge you to give us another opportunity to serve you so as to change your mind.

As for Cable TV and wi-fi access, despite our theme of going with nature, we do try our best to ensure that our guests are provided with every convenience. Therefore, we keep dongles at the reception which the guests can request for and use free of charge for internet access. We also advised our staff to have a look at the cable TV connection in your suite.

We are always looking for areas in which to improve and greatly appreciate your comments.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great house/room design;Great food; Professional services; Friendly people; Close to Nature with great views; Convenient as Jeep Safari and tours to Ancient cities and other scenic spots could be arranged by hotel; overall, it is great experience staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xinyu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We warmly invite you to stay with us once more.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,730 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,663 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,101 reviews
4.2 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
145 reviews
5 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 17 in Dambulla
3,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Corridor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Corridor Hotel

Address: Pothana Road | Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#11 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: $105 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Corridor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodation options await you at Elephant Corridor, with 22 individual cabin suites, each with its own private entrance, veranda and plunge pool. Escape from the rest of the world and find your oasis in a private suite or villa, each featuring exquisite architecture, inspiring design elements and modern amenities to ensure an experience of absolute comfort. In the vicinity of the fifth century Sigiriya Rock Fortress, also named the 8th Wonder of the World. Amidst thousands of acres of undisturbed jungle, teak forest, and wildlife of many species, includes elephants who occasionally visit to drink from the 1500-year-old lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Elephant Corridor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Corridor Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing