We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit for honeymooners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Byblos, Lebanon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must visit for honeymooners”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very Nice experience, a romantic place, private villas with indoor swimming pool.
Room service and house keeping are very nice.
You can walk in and run in the morning in the jungle, or you can use electrical shuttles.
If you are lucky, you can see in the morning variety of wild animals from your room.

A little bit overpriced (2 long islands drinks for 40 usd) and must have a larger variety of restaurants.
Greatest experience in Srilanka

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ByblosTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

As for your comment about the pricing, we greatly appreciate constructive criticism and we will be looking towards reviewing our pricing. Our hotel will also see a new chef with a wealth of culinary experience very soon and we hope you will get to experience this first-hand at your next arrival.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    95
    52
    29
    48
See reviews for
95
199
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at elephant Corridor (with our 2 kids: 5 yo and 1yo) and we really liked it.
The rooms are very big with a private small swimming pool and the view is beautiful. The hotel is very calm and you can see some animals (peacocks, buffalos and lots of birds but no elephant). The hotel has also a nice swimming pool and a spa.
Food was ok (buffet style) but not exceptional.
Staff was very nice and very helpful, explaining us how to get a bus from Sigirya to Kandy and really playful with our 2 kids.
A part from the food, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurelhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We regret that you didn't get to see any elephants. We hope that during your next visit, you will get a glimpse of these gentle giants.

We will also soon have a new chef with a wealth of culinary experience and we invite you to experience the improved taste first-hand at your next arrival.

We hope to see you and your family again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed one night whilst touring.. It is definitely 4star with your own plunge pool. This is no high rise hotel, it has only a few rooms each like a detached villa. The. Hotel is set in several acres of savannah, the pool is a short electric buggy ride from the rooms as is the helipad. Again like the other Atkins Spence hotels the restaurant menu was varied with spicy Sri Lankan food and European fare for the less adventurous. A well appointed and restful stop over.

Room Tip: Excellent facilities but very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billbroadway99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We hope to see you and your family again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

+ rooms are big, nice pool next to our room, rooms are very clean, calm location with beautiful view
- service from the staff in the restaurant was not professional, menu of the restaurant was less or it was not available, presentation of the food was poor and also too expensive for what you get, no wifi in the room, only at the reception

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannavw89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are sorry for the delay in replying.

We apologize for the areas which displeased you. The hotel management has completely changed and the Sierra Group in Sri Lanka is directly handling the hotel now. If you go through recent reviews, you will see a great improvement. We invite you to patronize our hotel once more and experience the true Sri Lankan hospitality.

Furthermore, there will be a new chef soon with a wealth of culinary experience and we hope you will get to experience the improved taste first-hand.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have wanted to go to Sri Lanka all my life and this place was recommended by a friend. However he went several years ago. I think things have changed. We were not impressed at all.

Firstly they do not answer the phone when you try and make a booking. Then they do not acknowledge the email you send. So that is a hassle. If you phone eventually you get through to someone but you cannot be sure they understand.
Anyway we got there. Of course we were not going to see elephants. We were not so naive as to expect that. However we did expect a really 5 star experience for the money and all we came away with was a feeling of being the purveyors of foreign exchange.
The rooms were fine - but no wifi, no tea or coffee and no bath robes spoiled them. The trick of making an animal out of a towel on your bed when they turn down was sort of fun the first time - but then felt really irritating.
The pool was not too long a walk away. We went on a buggy trip - around a vegetable patch - and a nature walk, which was better but took us over litter strewn ground. We saw some monkeys and some birds and it was, sort of, fine.
The truly bad thing was the food. You will not die of malnutrition but it was really amateurish fare and not a single memorable meal strikes any of us some 3-4 weeks later. For the money it was truly awful.
The Uriah Heep like behaviour of the senior staff basically said "Give us your money". I did not like that at all. I do not mind paying if the service and food were magnificent: they were really not. I would not go again. I was truly disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and we are sorry for the delay in replying.

First and foremost, we sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory service that you received during your stay at our hotel. The hotel management has completely changed now and the Sierra Group in Sri Lanka is directly handling the hotel. If you go through some of our recent reviews, you will see a great improvement. We warmly invite you to give us another chance and experience true Sri Lankan hospitality.

Furthermore, our hotel will see a new chef with a wealth of culinary experience very soon and we hope you will get to experience this first-hand at your next arrival.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We expected much more from this 5-star hotel. It's an overall good hotel but we missed too many little things in the service such as: simple filter coffee, wifi in the room, bath robes, duvets, regular hot water, a more varied menu (seafood, meat and wine were massively overpriced), more experienced staff.
The suite with the private pool and stunning view was fantastic. The hotel is very clean and the staff friendly. The huge main pool is really enjoyable in the middle of the nature.
We got a 15min welcome massage which was very nice (despite staff arriving late for their only appointment of the day...) but the spa treatments are expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we apologize for the delay in replying.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Elephant Corridor but regret that your expectations were not met. We are always on the lookout for areas in which we can improve and your comments are greatly appreciated.

We will be looking towards reviewing our pricing and we will also have a new chef in the near future with a wealth of culinary experience. We warmly invite you to experience first-hand the improvements brought about by the new management.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was thinking for long time to visit Elephant Corridor Hotel since it was said to be first this kind of hotel in Sri Lanka. But my expectations were not met at all. May be the hotel have less experience in handling local guests.

Rooms are nicely designed and as most of the reviews say it need to be refurbished. Because for lesser cost there are many hotels in the same region with more facilities. The path to the rooms was flooded due to the heavy rain and hotel is not prepared for it.

The food was terrible. Cant imagine why the hotel is having a buffet for less than 20 guests. There for less than 3 dishes for the lunch and this was the poorest lunch I ever had in a hotel. Also cant imagine why the pricing (mini bar etc) done in usd?

I have no idea of visiting this hotel for long time.........

Room Tip: Avoid buffet times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajeeva_SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are sorry for the delay in replying.

We apologize for the poor service you experienced at our hotel. The hotel management has completely changed and the Sierra Group is directly handling the hotel. If you go through the recent reviews, you can see a clear improvement. Furthermore, our hotel will see a new chef with a wealth of culinary experience very soon and we warmly invite you to The Elephant Corridor once more to experience this first-hand.

We are always looking for areas in which to improve and greatly appreciate your remarks.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,432 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,017 reviews
5.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,440 reviews
4.2 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Corridor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Corridor Hotel

Property: Elephant Corridor Hotel
Address: Pothana Road | Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#11 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Corridor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodation options await you at Elephant Corridor, with 22 individual cabin suites, each with its own private entrance, veranda and plunge pool. Escape from the rest of the world and find your oasis in a private suite or villa, each featuring exquisite architecture, inspiring design elements and modern amenities to ensure an experience of absolute comfort. In the vicinity of the fifth century Sigiriya Rock Fortress, also named the 8th Wonder of the World. Amidst thousands of acres of undisturbed jungle, teak forest, and wildlife of many species, includes elephants who occasionally visit to drink from the 1500-year-old lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Corridor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Corridor Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing