We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing retreat”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We went to this hotel for family vacation with our 10 months old son. It was ideal place for us. Room we got was super deluxe. Rooms so clean and tidy, specious, also comes with a glorious view and privacy. Food was amazing. Staff was very helpful always armed to help the guests. This place is ideal for someone looking to get away from busy life.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fed0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantCorridor, Business Development Consultant at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Sir, It is indeed pleasure of receiving your beautiful comments towards The Elephant Corridor. We recently being taken over by Willemsen Hospitality Holding from Netherlands and brigning more touch of Class in to it, and when you come again you will really feel the diffrence. Please comme again to expierence the Best Luxury of Sri Lanka. - Ramzi Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    95
    52
    29
    48
See reviews for
95
196
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This hotel is jaw droppingly gorgeous. It's more of a village of bungalows set in open large grounds, centred around an elevated restaurant with extended views towards Sigiriya Rock. Their basic bungalow is a deluxe suite. Wow. It comes with an outdoor plunge pool, your own private screened garden, four poster bed, stone walled lounge, floor to ceiling windows, and the works. It was the artist's easel and binoculars which did it for me. We were fortunate to stay in a Romantic Suite which came with all of the above plus an indoor plunge pool. The food and service was amazing, we let the Chef bring us whatever he recommended; it was so good I wanted to take him home with us. This is the most perfect place for luxury, tranquility, and once in a lifetime indulgence

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2011

A wonderful four days which culminating in our wedding, complete with elephants, kandyan dancers and singers. The staff were attentive and friendly throughout our stay. Wonderful location set amidst national parks, with views of the Sigiriya Rock fortress. Regrettably we didn’t see elephants in the grounds, however there were tracks from night-time activity. The gardens were home to other wildlife, which included, monkeys, mongooses and exotic birds. Many thanks to all the staff at the hotel ensuring our stay was memorable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajwinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of February. On arrival at the hotel entrance by car our driver had trouble getting from the road onto the start of the driveway as a large section had been washed away by the flooding. The remainder of the long drive up to the hotel also had sections missing due to the torrential rain.
Once checked in - which was fairly quick and easy we were told we had been upgraded to a romantic suite (when I read our Kuoni brochure it stated that everyone booking here would receive an upgraded room)
There was a large plunge pool about 1 metre away from the bottom of the bed. The standing water in the room made the whole place smell musty, damp and unpleasant. Even the separate bathroom area smelled and the wardrobe had an overpowering smell of mothballs. We only hung the clothes up for our stay here and kept the rest sealed in the suitcase as we didn't want all our clothes to smell. The cords to open the blinds were rotting and 2 actually broke off when we opened the blinds in the morning - again this was probably due to the air in the room being damp from the pool.
We walked through the grounds to go to the swimming pool and to have a look at the adjacent Spa. The pool is a good 5 minute walk from the rooms and the main reception. When we found it the bridge and path to the pool it had either been completely washed away or flooded so it was unusable. To get to the spa you also had to wade through the water and mud.
On our first evening here after travelling from Colombo via the Pinnawela elephant orphanage (which was very muddy due to the rain) I went to have a shower and realised that there was no hot water. As I went to the phone to ring reception all the lights in the room went out so we were completely in the dark (apart from one bedside lamp). I told reception that we had no lighting in the room and no hot water. They said they would send someone immediately. 30 minutes later 2 maintenance guys finally arrived and they set about fixing the electrics. It took 1.5 hours to fix (as they had to send for someone else to help). We were left with 2 lights not working - they taped over the switches so we wouldn't use them. As they were leaving we asked had what they done also fixed the problem with the hot water. They said no they hadn't realised we didn't have any hot water and they would need to get on the roof to fix this. After another 30 minutes they said the problem with the hot water was now resolved but it would take 1 - 1.5 hours to heat up. By this time it was after 8pm so we just had to go to dinner and get a shower when we returned.
There was a notice in the bathroom saying that they only provided very basic toiletries in the room i.e. shampoo, soap and body lotion and if you wanted anything more to contact reception. I asked for shower gel on my way out in the morning (7.30am) and when we returned at 5.30pm it still wasn't in the room.
There was a good choice of food in the restaurant for dinner. However, the food when it arrived on both nights was lukewarm. Several people were sending food back because it was cold.
Apart from the fact that the hotel is in a good location for visiting many of the things to do/see in the cultural triangle it this was a very disappointing experience we would not wish to repeat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbrianGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantCorridor, Director Business Development at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Madam,
We are very sorry for the unfirtunate event, pleased to note that new managment is taken over, and new GM is a Dutch, and he has truned around to the maxium and inserted lot of Europian staffs and also implementted lastes tecnology like Ipad and etc for ordertaking and purchased more Club Cars for delivery. Please visit again to see the diffrence...
Best wishes
Ramzi Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Our trip to Sri Lanka was very short but was a sweet trip. Our stay at this hotel was a very good experience. The meals were good with a fairly extensive menu and attentive staff to look after you.
A great place to relax and wind-down for a few days, there are some good walks or even bicycle rides (bicycles provided by the hotel) around the grounds, they will even provide a naturalist guide to take you around and point out the different birds and wild life etc.The service once past the front desk was very good. Housekeeping was on top of things and the restaurant staff make a point of getting to know you (remember the kind of wine you like, etc). Agree with previous comments. we used the a la carte menu and were pleasantly surprised at the good value and decent portions.
The garden are clean and make you feel like you are at home. Hotel is a good safe and comfortable place
Aside from that, the hotel is in a good location for exploring the cultural triangle with good access to Polonnaruwa, Dambulla and Anuradhapura.Overall a very relaxing experience - would probably go back ELEPHANT CORRIDOR HOTEL SIGIRIYA

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony29750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Relaxing Luxury hotel Clean and high Quality rooms very good quality food in "Ambrosia" however found all the staff here Exceptionally well trained and friendly professional i will definitely recommend this hotel to friends + family /silence and privacy

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred188557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We spent 2 nights and loved the place, the staff, and the food. For a family, I would recommend booking Presidential Villa. We stayed at Safari Presidential villa which is awesome. It is close to Sigriya rock and Dambulla caves. Great place to relax and unwind.

Ravi Agarwal

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anandatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
4.6 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Corridor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Corridor Hotel

Property: Elephant Corridor Hotel
Address: Pothana Road | Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#12 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Corridor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodation options await you at Elephant Corridor, with 22 individual cabin suites, each with its own private entrance, veranda and plunge pool. Escape from the rest of the world and find your oasis in a private suite or villa, each featuring exquisite architecture, inspiring design elements and modern amenities to ensure an experience of absolute comfort. In the vicinity of the fifth century Sigiriya Rock Fortress, also named the 8th Wonder of the World. Amidst thousands of acres of undisturbed jungle, teak forest, and wildlife of many species, includes elephants who occasionally visit to drink from the 1500-year-old lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Corridor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Corridor Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing