We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Potential sadly unrealised” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ancient Villa Hotel

Ancient Villa Hotel
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ancient Villa Hotel
Ranked #68 of 88 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Potential sadly unrealised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place could be amazing, but isn't.

There are around a down little hexagonal cabanas set in a large garden, and they are quite cute with their own little veranda. The problem is that they are run-down. The bathrooms need fixing up, and they need to be better maintained to avoid damp.

The garden is full of birdlife and I was visited bothy mornings by a little woodpecker. However, the areas where people walk need to tidied up. It just looks so unloved.

Very good curry from the kitchen and huge portions. Also they are very generous with breakfast and give free tea refills.

This place could be phenomenal with just a little investment and enthusiasm - but the feeling you get is that they just don't care enough to bother. Real shame.

Oh, and do Lonely Planet writers actually visit these places. Their write-up is so off-the-mark it's hilarious!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calumpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    9
    18
    14
See reviews for
3
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 7-8 may 2013. We were the only people around. We stayed in a cabana, which is very basic. The bed is ok, Nice mosquito net. The bathroom, and especially the shower is very old and needs replacement. The owner is Nice and friendly. Food is ok, we had better. When you decide to stay here dont be afraid of frogs, gekko's, ants and a dozen more creatures in your cabana ;) but hey its the jungle!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RensenEefje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sigiriya hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

It may be unfair to post this review as it was pouring with rain during our stay, but this was one depressing place.

Our room was away from the main reception/dining area. You will need a torch. Our air con was not working, we only had a little fan. The room, whilst spacious, was damp, and smelt of damp. There was only one light, which meant that once the natural day light faded, we were more or less in darkness. Wifi only worked in the reception area. The location was not great, there was nothing else around, and was a 300Rp tuk tuk to the rock. There were no shops nearby. The guest house is not licensed. Gun shots (to keep the elephants from crops!) and a rave could be heard throughout the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. There were no people around, not even the owner. They gave us a bungalow, which was so stinky from the mould, that we had to ask for another room next day. I am really sorry to give a review like this, because the people were kind (as almost all the people we met in Sri Lanka), but the second room was also very dirty, there were all kinds of bugs, and about 4 frogs (actually the frogs were nice, cause they ate the other bugs) in the room. The fan was not working at all, no wifi, and no electricity till 5pm. Lonely Planet writes about the great barbecues in the evenings. They just have it on special days, we thought we are lucky, cause we picked that day, but when we asked they just said no, there are not enough guests for a barbecue..Luckily we didn't want to stay in the hotel all day, but spend our time looking around in the ancient cities.
The food was totally overpriced, and much worse than at any place we ate in 2 weeks. We were very dissapointed, and believe me, as 2 young backpackers we are not choosy at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Ancient Villa is situated inmidst a kind of jungle garden, with several bungalows. Each of them has a terrace. The small open air restaurant is very nice and they serve good food. These are the same owners as the Rice Villa clos to Pollonaruwa, another very nice place. Staff and owner are extremely friendly and helpful to organise your stay and trips in the region the best way. They do pick-ups at bus stations as well. Ask for prices and conitions (rooms, trips, safaris), and they will try to find a good way for you and your wallet.

Room Tip: Ask for bungalow with backwindows to the small river. Sometimes elephants go there in dawn to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirschkuchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were taken there by our driver and were most disappointed by the place. Despite being Top Choice in the Lonely Planet, July 2012 Edition, we were not impressed by the first room as we couldn't close the windows thus leaving gaps for all sorts of bugs and the door wouldn't close properly. We changed room which was marginally better but it just didn't feel clean, the walls were discoloured, or dirty? The food from the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Cute, individual, spacious huts in an amazing setting. Eating the best home cooked vegetarian curries with a symphony of bugs, birds and streams to listen to was a chilled out highlight of the trip. 
A quick tuk tuk or bus ride from Lion Rock; we would definitely come back here again. Even if just for the food and tea.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimqthB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
1.3 mi away
Sisira Natural Lodge
Sisira Natural Lodge
#41 of 88 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sigiri Pandora Lodge
Sigiri Pandora Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kimbissa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideout Sigiriya
The Hideout Sigiriya
#8 of 88 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sigiri Lodge
Sigiri Lodge
#20 of 78 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sadewa Holiday Inn
Sadewa Holiday Inn
#5 of 14 in Inamaluwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sigiri Queens Rest Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ancient Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient Villa Hotel

Property: Ancient Villa Hotel
Address: 2nd Mile Post, Sigiriya Road | Galakotuwa, Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ancient Villa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Ancient Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing