We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
4
7
9
18
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
7
9
18
15
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 53 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 7-8 may 2013. We were the only people around. We stayed in a cabana, which is very basic. The bed is ok, Nice mosquito net. The bathroom, and especially the shower is very old and needs replacement. The owner is Nice and friendly. Food is ok, we had better. When you decide to stay here dont be afraid of frogs, gekko's, ants and a dozen more creatures in your cabana ;) but hey its the jungle!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RensenEefje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

It may be unfair to post this review as it was pouring with rain during our stay, but this was one depressing place.

Our room was away from the main reception/dining area. You will need a torch. Our air con was not working, we only had a little fan. The room, whilst spacious, was damp, and smelt of damp. There was only one light, which meant that once the natural day light faded, we were more or less in darkness. Wifi only worked in the reception area. The location was not great, there was nothing else around, and was a 300Rp tuk tuk to the rock. There were no shops nearby. The guest house is not licensed. Gun shots (to keep the elephants from crops!) and a rave could be heard throughout the night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. There were no people around, not even the owner. They gave us a bungalow, which was so stinky from the mould, that we had to ask for another room next day. I am really sorry to give a review like this, because the people were kind (as almost all the people we met in Sri Lanka), but the second room was also very dirty, there were all kinds of bugs, and about 4 frogs (actually the frogs were nice, cause they ate the other bugs) in the room. The fan was not working at all, no wifi, and no electricity till 5pm. Lonely Planet writes about the great barbecues in the evenings. They just have it on special days, we thought we are lucky, cause we picked that day, but when we asked they just said no, there are not enough guests for a barbecue..Luckily we didn't want to stay in the hotel all day, but spend our time looking around in the ancient cities.
The food was totally overpriced, and much worse than at any place we ate in 2 weeks. We were very dissapointed, and believe me, as 2 young backpackers we are not choosy at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Ancient Villa is situated inmidst a kind of jungle garden, with several bungalows. Each of them has a terrace. The small open air restaurant is very nice and they serve good food. These are the same owners as the Rice Villa clos to Pollonaruwa, another very nice place. Staff and owner are extremely friendly and helpful to organise your stay and trips in the region the best way. They do pick-ups at bus stations as well. Ask for prices and conitions (rooms, trips, safaris), and they will try to find a good way for you and your wallet.

Room Tip: Ask for bungalow with backwindows to the small river. Sometimes elephants go there in dawn to get a little shower.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirschkuchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were taken there by our driver and were most disappointed by the place. Despite being Top Choice in the Lonely Planet, July 2012 Edition, we were not impressed by the first room as we couldn't close the windows thus leaving gaps for all sorts of bugs and the door wouldn't close properly. We changed room which was marginally better but it just didn't feel clean, the walls were discoloured, or dirty? The food from the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews