We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back, but its just ok”

Ancient Villa Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ancient Villa Hotel
Ranked #71 of 91 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back, but its just ok”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 7-8 may 2013. We were the only people around. We stayed in a cabana, which is very basic. The bed is ok, Nice mosquito net. The bathroom, and especially the shower is very old and needs replacement. The owner is Nice and friendly. Food is ok, we had better. When you decide to stay here dont be afraid of frogs, gekko's, ants and a dozen more creatures in your cabana ;) but hey its the jungle!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RensenEefje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    9
    18
    14
See reviews for
3
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

It may be unfair to post this review as it was pouring with rain during our stay, but this was one depressing place.

Our room was away from the main reception/dining area. You will need a torch. Our air con was not working, we only had a little fan. The room, whilst spacious, was damp, and smelt of damp. There was only one light, which meant that once the natural day light faded, we were more or less in darkness. Wifi only worked in the reception area. The location was not great, there was nothing else around, and was a 300Rp tuk tuk to the rock. There were no shops nearby. The guest house is not licensed. Gun shots (to keep the elephants from crops!) and a rave could be heard throughout the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sigiriya hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. There were no people around, not even the owner. They gave us a bungalow, which was so stinky from the mould, that we had to ask for another room next day. I am really sorry to give a review like this, because the people were kind (as almost all the people we met in Sri Lanka), but the second room was also very dirty, there were all kinds of bugs, and about 4 frogs (actually the frogs were nice, cause they ate the other bugs) in the room. The fan was not working at all, no wifi, and no electricity till 5pm. Lonely Planet writes about the great barbecues in the evenings. They just have it on special days, we thought we are lucky, cause we picked that day, but when we asked they just said no, there are not enough guests for a barbecue..Luckily we didn't want to stay in the hotel all day, but spend our time looking around in the ancient cities.
The food was totally overpriced, and much worse than at any place we ate in 2 weeks. We were very dissapointed, and believe me, as 2 young backpackers we are not choosy at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Ancient Villa is situated inmidst a kind of jungle garden, with several bungalows. Each of them has a terrace. The small open air restaurant is very nice and they serve good food. These are the same owners as the Rice Villa clos to Pollonaruwa, another very nice place. Staff and owner are extremely friendly and helpful to organise your stay and trips in the region the best way. They do pick-ups at bus stations as well. Ask for prices and conitions (rooms, trips, safaris), and they will try to find a good way for you and your wallet.

Room Tip: Ask for bungalow with backwindows to the small river. Sometimes elephants go there in dawn to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirschkuchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were taken there by our driver and were most disappointed by the place. Despite being Top Choice in the Lonely Planet, July 2012 Edition, we were not impressed by the first room as we couldn't close the windows thus leaving gaps for all sorts of bugs and the door wouldn't close properly. We changed room which was marginally better but it just didn't feel clean, the walls were discoloured, or dirty? The food from the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Cute, individual, spacious huts in an amazing setting. Eating the best home cooked vegetarian curries with a symphony of bugs, birds and streams to listen to was a chilled out highlight of the trip. 
A quick tuk tuk or bus ride from Lion Rock; we would definitely come back here again. Even if just for the food and tea.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimqthB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I booked the place based on Lonely Planet book comments and when we got there I had a bad feeling: no other customers than us. The owner (?) showed us 2 different "cabanas" but place was digusting and we tried to negotiate 3000rps for 1 night and breakfast and he did not want so we left.

DO NOT GO THERE: it's dirty and outside it stinks poo cow. In 12 days i've stayed in Sri Lanka, it's the worst place I have seen!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feel_the_air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,433 reviews
6.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,557 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,018 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sigiri Choona Lodge
Sigiri Choona Lodge
#54 of 91 in Sigiriya
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ancient Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient Villa Hotel

Property: Ancient Villa Hotel
Address: 2nd Mile Post, Sigiriya Road | Galakotuwa, Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ancient Villa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ancient Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing