We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
4
7
9
18
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
7
9
18
15
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 53 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Despite what they advertise, NONE of the bungalows have A/C (although you can see where they used to be), and although the Lonely Planet guide states they have a TV and fridge in the rooms, there was no sign of those either. As noted by others, the cleanliness left something to be desired. We didn't eat there as the power went out for several hours and they don't have a generator. The WiFi was turned off at 10:30 pm and the water was too. We had to hunt someone up in the morning to turn the water back on so we could shower before leaving. And while I applaud the effort made to ground the electricity, perhaps grounding it on the shower head isn't such a good idea.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Ancient Villa for 2 nights in September 2012.

The cabanas are spacious and clean with mozi nets and towels provided. We stayed in a cabana with a fan and cold water but there are options here for hot water and air con too.

Amongst wildlife...we have seen two types of monkeys and had a visit from a little frog.

Not much to do here but if you came to relax in the quiet then this place is perfect. Location wise, it's a 15 minute (600rs round trip tuk tuk ride) to Sigiria Rock. If you want to use their tuk tuk service to get there, you will be competing for your time slot with other guests so tell the sooner rather than later - We asked for breakfast at 7 to leave at 7:30 but were told to come for breakfast at 7:30. We assumed that was when breakfast started but it turned out that someone else had taken the 7am slot and we were waiting for the tuk tuk to return. Might just be worth popping out to the road and getting a passing one if you have a strict itinerary.

The staff aren't particularly smiley/friendly but provide everything you need.

There is a lot of option on the menu - Italian, Chinese, Local - their Sri Lankan curry is a good choice and cheap for the amount of food you get.

Average price, similar to most places we stayed - 4000RS per night

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareyS-ClareyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews