We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sigiriya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travel House Sigiriya
Ranked #31 of 94 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I really enjoyed the 2 nights I spent at the Travel House. The room was clean and spacious, and the bed was comfortable with nice crisp white sheets (often lacking in guesthouses!!!). There is a comfy sitting area at the front of each of the rooms to sit and chill-out and enjoy the garden setting.
The food at Travel House was a highlight. Breakfast was huge, yummy, and beautifully presented, and can be served when you want to suit your site seeing plans. Dinner on both nights was absolutely delicious, and huge servings - more than we could eat!
The location of Travel House didn't really matter to my travel buddy and I as we had a driver. Travel House offers (free I think?) accommodation to drivers, but we paid for his meal (pretty standard arrangement in Sri Lanka).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-Abay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and we found it nice and peaceful place to stay. The staff were friendly and we had dinner here a few times which was pretty good.

Room was big with hot water but not good water pressure. No housekeeping done here so had to ask staff for more toilet paper.

Breakfast was good and plenty of it. No wifi here.

Definitely need insect repellent here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterflygirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

very clean, spacious rooms, comfortable beds with moscito nets. we had delicious sri lankan breakfast and dinner! very friendly owner, large garden area, located quietly in the woods, car or 3wheeler required.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babette55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very nice Sri Lankan breakfast (best coffee we had in Sri Lanka) as well as excellent dinner. The room had a lot of space, a water boiler, moskito net for the bed a big restroom/shower. Sameera (owner) was extremely helpful and looked after us very well. I'll never forget that great time & if I ever go to Sigiriya again I will definitely stay at travel house.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreymurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed three nights at this property and enjoyed its seclusion and wonderful food. Simple cabins with or witout a/c. You need a set of wheels to stay there as it is int the forest far from the maddening crowds. Its owner is a very nice man who used to be a German-speaking guide/driver. He also speaks English and wants his guests to enjoy their stay.
One of the very, very few places we would recommend in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.0 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,033 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 19 in Sigiriya
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sigiri Choona Lodge
Sigiri Choona Lodge
#54 of 94 in Sigiriya
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel House Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel House Sigiriya

Property: Travel House Sigiriya
Address: Ehelagala Road, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing