We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic place in a beautiful surroundings”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sigiriya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wadula Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #75 of 119 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed in Wadula Hotel for 2 nights while travelling around the area and was happy i stayed there. Hotel provides a true feel for the area - you get a feeling there of submerging into true nature of Sri Lanka. Every morning you wake up to the birds singing in the garden, a beautiful and yummy breakfast awaits you being served by very hospitable staff. But what makes the place unbeatable is the owner himself. Conversations with him can last forever. He is also always very attentive to all your needs or potential demands. A great place to stay if you like nature and personal touch.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank savinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dambulla, Owner at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you so much for the tribute you gave to us in this review. We welcome you back to our hotel if you ever visit Sri Lanka and you will notice some more improvements to our hotel.Wishing you all the best in future endeavours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 78 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

I would like to say "Wadula Hotel" is one of the best places to stay if you are planning to spend your night in Sigirya.As far as the prices are compared to the other hotels in the region, wadula offers you a affordable prices and the quality of the service and the facilities you get are immense compared to the money you spend.
It offers you a Beautiful breakfast and the service they offer is simply incredible. you will always be happy if you chose this place to stay your holiday.
It is very close to the Sigiriya rock which is also an advantage staying at Wadula.
It is located in a very quiet area and everyone can relax as they wish at Wadula.
If you are a Bird lover,Wadula is the place to go.It has a good variety of Birds so that you also can watch birds during your stay which is an extra advantage for the guests.
Finally I would like to recommend Wadula Hotel as one of the best hotels to spend your unforgettable holiday..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thushan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dambulla, Owner at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you very much for appreciating our place.Our staff too enjoyed serving you as you were treating our hotel as your home.We welcome you back to our hotel whenever you visit Sri Lanka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed two nights in sigiria.
The room was simple and clean, we didn’t used the a/c.
It is separated houses and u had to walk on dirt path.
It is far to the fort and its good only to people with a driver.
WI fi worked only in the dining room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yossi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dambulla, Owner at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

THANK YOU FOR THE REVIEW.The far away room was selected by you and you said you like the nature.The road is not dirty but a jungle track like path way in keeping with our theme of wilderness.You would have found similar pathways in Hotels in Sri Lanka.Further it is only two kilometers to the rock fort and it is said in our website.
You would have felt the distance as you had to walk to the junction to buy your food from the way side local boutiques as you opted have your meals outside.
Certainly we will charge the breakages in the room as we expect the guest to cause no damages to fittings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent only one night in Wadula Hotel, and for me it was enough.
We arrived at late evening, and we found the room to be really simple (what we expected). Looked quite old, bathroom too.
There were bugs inside (no problem, i travelled with my own bug spray), and the feeling of being there was not comfortable... Thank God there was a mosquito net...
Wifi doesn't work in rooms (but it does in the restaurant), and tv didn't work neither...
We had dinner and breakfast there. They were quite nice organising a simple early breakfast in the early morning (we wanted to climb the rock in the early morning, to avoid people and heat) and then a proper breakfast when we returned...
Dinner was a nice Sri Lankan curry, with some beer...
We had a chat with other guest and with the owner in the evening, nice time.
So, would I stay there again? No. We ended paying 7.200 rps for room, meals and beers, which was not good, but probably could have been cheaper in a similar hostel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank macavigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dambulla, Owner at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thanks a lot for the review.It is noted that you have referred to bugs in our rooms.Sorry we dont have bugs but if you keep room doors opened,You will have few mosquitos in the room. You probably would have mistaken mosquitos for bugs.
As for the price of the rooms we discussed with you and came to an agreement.It is a BB AC room.As for the meals you could go to a wayside boutique and can have very cheap meals.
Our prices are reasonable and and meals are hygienic..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

It is tough to write this review because we really loved meeting the owner. He is such an amazing storyteller and very knowledgable about Sri Lanka. The man has his PhD in Tactical Missile Warheads!!! The grounds are beautiful but in the end, I think they were just too rustic for us. OUr first night was filled with cockroaches and we slept with the lights on. He apologized and seemed genuinely surprised and said he had never had the problem before. Now, reading reviews, I can see that it has happened before we arrived. In fact only a couple weeks before, so his shock was not sincere. He moved us rooms - no upgrade - to one that was cleaner and cockroach free. The other challenge we had on our stay was that there are no prices for menu items and we ended up being surprised at the size of our bill. After travelling more of Sri Lanka for weeks later, we can still safely say that his prices are steep. He also kept the hot water and WIFI turned off, so it needed to be requested for use, which wasn't ideal

This all being said, we had an amazing bike ride to Sigiriya with his bikes (rented) and found his stories of Sri Lanka's history to be enlightening. His food was excellent and they even let us into the kitchen to watch the cooks prepare it and learn more about Sri Lankan cuisine. So we felt welcomed, but our experience was still a bit tainted by the cockroaches and the bill size at the end.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taraandspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dambulla, Owner at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you very much for the personal tribute.Thanks a lot for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Where should I start? We have been in this hotel During our 2 weeks trip to Sri Lanka.
When we arrived the hotel first we located a room which is quite far from the main building. After we settled to the room I decided to take shower but when I turn on the tap a terrible smell came and I get out of from the shower. After seeing rats on the Main Building's ceiling ı realised the where the smell came from. That could be dead rats in the water tank.
We told the owner and he changed our room to another room. When I tried to take shower I had to wait for another 30 minutes. Finally on our first day in the hotel we managed to take shower after 1.5 hours. When I started to take shower after 5 minutes water became cold again???? The reason is water heater's tank is only 40LT.
Cockroaches are definelty every where, rooms are definetly not clean. I can prove all these things with the photos if the owner not accept these.
Food !!!! I haven't eaten cold fish in My life in a restaurant. Definetly terrible!!!
Employees were always helpful but they need education to how to clean the room.
On our las day we went to sigiriya rock hotel hotel to eat dinner that was much more better than this hotel.
Overall do not go this hotel!!

Room Tip: we visitied 3 different rooms and all of them worst than other one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cptergun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dambulla, Owner at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

The guestw on arrival introduced himself as a travel agent from Turkey and wanted to occupy a Airconditioned room whereas he had booked a non a/c room.We politely showed him the voucher and turned down his request as we felt that he was trying to show that he is here to give business to us and therefore he should get facilities for which he was not entitled..

Then he moved to a room of his choice and waited or about 4 hrs. He used all the facilities in the room and complained that the water was smelling in the taps.By that time his wife too had a bath without any complaint.The room is a brand new room.

To maintain good relationship with the guests we offered a very big room with two beds.After occupying it for one night ,he complaint of hot water.
Again we agreed to change the room to another big room and he stayed there arguing on various issues which really did not exist.He was trying to exploit our kindness..He was complaining of crokroaches and showed some pics on his phone.
We wanted him to show where he found them in our room, but he was not able to show us.WE NEVER HAD ANY RATS ON OUR CEILING AS WE HAVE AN EFFECTIVE PEST CONTROL SYSTEM.Further he was trying to promote a water heater of Turkish brand.We politely told him that we are not interested in water heaters and turned his offer down.
He says that he had meals in the Sigiriya Hotel.But we observed that he had his meals in the wayside eating house as we were informed by the Tuk Tuk Drivers.He had bargained for cheap rides on Tuk Tuk and vehicles saying the same reason of promising big business from Turkey.He overheard what the other guests comments about meals and hotel.BE TRUTHFUL MY DEAR GUEST.
When it came to settle the bills for meals,he was demanding that hotel should not charge as he is a travel agent and he could give bad publicity in the Agoda and Tripadvisor site by giving a bad review.He was trying to hold us to ransom and demand things without payment.i NEVER THOUGHT THAT A GUEST COULD RESORT TO SUCH LEVEL.We will not tolerate any attempt by guest to demand anything on these ground.
We have already informed Agoda about the behavior of this guest on the same day, he checked out of our hotel,and copied that intimation to you on the previous occasion.
The delay in replying this is due to the owner being absent from the country and we are sorry about that.

We leave it to our honoured guest to view our side of the story too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

For the price the rooms are relatively clean but there is not much else to say about this place. Thet ropical weather is starting take its toll on the builidngs, rooms and surrounds. With a bit more attention this place could live up to the reviews from a while back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheekymonkeyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dambulla, Owner at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thanks a lot for the review.We have noted with pleasure your points and will implement them whenever possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
7.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,814 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,744 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,580 reviews
3.9 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 21 in Sigiriya
602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#14 of 21 in Sigiriya
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wadula Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wadula Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Sigiriya Road, Kibissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Price Range: $24 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an unspoiled area in Sri Lanka, close the Sigiriya rock and the best elephant watching national park. We distinguish ourselves with great food, big garden and cozy rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wadula Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing