We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depressing guesthouse filled with cockroaches” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wadula Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sigiriya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wadula Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 88 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Depressing guesthouse filled with cockroaches”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is the worst place we've stayed at during our trip so far. The only good thing is that the staff are friendly. There are plenty of bad things. Our first room had no hot water, a cockroach in my pillow case, hair in the bed and stained walls. We went straight away to tell management we were leaving and they offered to show us another room. My boyfriend saw it and thought it was ok, so we moved to that room. On the surface it was cleaner than the first room, but once we turned the lights on we could see the walls were stained, the fan was hanging off some dodgy looking wiring and there were cockroaches in the bathroom. There was also an old, used bit of soap on the basin. We had a meal, the food was the worst and most expensive we've had during our month long trip around Sri Lanka. We were meant to stay two nights but left after one.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrClarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dambulla, Owner at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
I am so sorry that we failed to live up to your expectations this time. Wadula Hotel & Restaurant takes seriously all constructive comments on how we perform and I feel it my duty to address the issues you raise:

Wadula Hotel & Restaurant is set in 22 acres of countryside which is full of wildlife, unfortunately due to heavy rain during your visit you were not able to enjoy any of this and I do feel that your review maybe slightly influenced out of frustration. That said, I do feel I should to address the specifics of your problem so I have broken them down:

No Hot Water - Wadula Hotel is constantly improving it's facilities in all rooms to meet the International travellers' expectations, clearly we didn't meet yours this time and I will look in to why the hot water wasn't working at the time of your stay.

Insects - As I have already said Wadula Hotel & Restaurant is in a rural setting so animals / insects exist in greater numbers than in the city. Immediately before your arrival and due to the heavy rain I instructed my staff to visit each and every room to remove all the bed linen to prevent it getting damp in the rooms. Clearly in this case your room had been missed for which I can only apologise. I have questioned the staff and it also appears that they may have left the door to your room open prior to your arrival that may explain the insects which would of course be trying to escape the heavy rain.

The room - Less than a week before I received a review for the same room giving 5 stars. As I said earlier we are working to meet the International travellers' expectations and to this end the walls will be painted as clearly the rain has stained them.

Food - We offer both an International menu and a Sri Lankan menu. All our food is cooked from scratch which does take a little longer but does taste better. I'm sorry if the choice off the menu wasn't to your liking but maybe something else might have been? I have checked the food prices of other establishments in the same area and our prices are competitive and I will continue to do so to ensure best value for all my guests.

You comment on how friendly the staff are at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant but I can't help feeling a little upset that you couldn't have raised your concerns with me or my staff at the time and let me put them right, I would have done my utmost to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    16
    11
    4
See reviews for
19
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights here and we wished we could have stayed longer! Ananda the owner doesn't check his guests in...he welcomes them to his family! The rooms are big and clean. The beds (made locally by the staff) are big and very comfortable! The furniture is extremely original and all hand made! The whole resort is situated in a beautiful tropical garden! The food is phenomenal and Ananda along with his staff gives you the opportunity to enjoy the real flavours of SriLanka. Ananda is a very knowledgeable host and he can offer you all kind of tips and advice for places to go in and around Sigiriya. The rooms are provided with A/C and TV however we didn't use the TV. We spent instead two evenings talking to Ananda and his friends learning about the views and customs of beautiful Sri Lanka. We highly reccomend this accommodation to whoever is travelling within the cultural triangle due to the resort strategical location. It is definately a fantastic value for money! Thank you so much for a wonderful experience. Sabina and Damien

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leopoldothesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dambulla, Owner at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We all in our staff ver grateful for the true picture you gave us.We are encouraged to serve our guests so dedicatedly and lovingly.We thank you for the motivation.The appreciation is beyond words.We will welcome our honoured guests to our hotel and you will find much more facilities to stay longer with us.Pls come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent three really good days with Ananda and his team. The rooms are in an attractive setting, the welcome is friendly and we had great meals every night. Best of all was the owner himself (Ana), who arranged and accompanied us on visits to the historical sites, including the two ancient cities and an elephant safari. He's an extremely knowledgeable guide and we learned more from him about Sri Lanka (past and present) that we did from anyone else on our month long trip. We could not recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjamjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dambulla, Owner at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We are very thankful for making the review with concern.We are committed to look after our guests and make them happy over here.It was very much enjoyable the conversation you had during your stay.We welcome you back to our hotel in future and you will notice more facilities for our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent just one night here, but wished we had more time to enjoy the space, food and conversation. The owner and manager make you feel very welcome and have lots of good stories to tell. We left the choice of dinner to the owner and it was probably the best meal we had in Sri Lanka. The rooms are large and clean with huge verandahs to sit out on and enjoy the bird life on the property. I agree with previous reviews that the atmosphere is very home like, and our boys also enjoyed this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dambulla, Owner at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you very much for the review and we too enjoyed your conversation.Pls visit us whenever you come to Sigiriya.We will make your stay very much more enjoyable.We can advise you of the finest places to visit and spend in the midst of wildlife and historical sites which we are sure, your children will like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
רמת השופט
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The location is great (only 4km from Sigiriya rock and 1/2 an hour from Mineriya national safari).
Rooms are located in the big backyard/jungle and are wide and clean.
But above all the hosts (Ananda the owner and Rosh the manager) are super nice! They always stand to please and take care of you, they can guide and help on any needs or just take the time to invite you to seat and chat on their porch.
Rosh, the manager and the head cook, is making the best currys to your request (but after a couple of times we just trusted her to serve whatever she suggested us). Dinner there is a must!
The all atmosphere is relaxing home feel. It is exactly what my family (with 3 young daughters) like. We stayed there 3 night, 1 more then planned, and wish to come back.
Thank You, wadula!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sigalido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dambulla, Owner at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
We are very appreciative of the review of yours about our hotel.Our entire staff feels that they are missing their family members.The children must be missing the garden and birds they observed here.We will assure you of more attractions in the hotel whenever you visit us.We will welcome you back to our hotel anytime you decide to come.We wish you all the best in future endeavours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

A lovely restaurant and chilling out spot. It was very quiet tourist wise while we were there, so had the place to ourselves pretty much. Really enjoyed the company and conversations with Ana (the owner). The chef and staff were all very helpful and friendly. Food was great. Rooms were nice. Clean. A huge garden to wander about and watch people at work which was enjoyed. Also a great location for Lion Rock.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kierenreeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dambulla, Owner at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We are all very thankful for giving a true picture of our hotel and staff which encourages us to give more and more to our distinguished guests.
We are commited to your enjoyment and comforts.We will assure you of more facilities and attractions in time to come.
Once again thanking you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

CONS:
1. Terrible experience with Elephant Safari Tour. Owner insisted we use his vehicle and staff. Driver didn't know how to drive and guide couldn't speak english. Jeep was old and loud - scared the elephants. Over charged - Expensive mistake (still charged Rs4000 after complaint).
2. Wanted to buy bottle of water from street shop. Daughter said they sold water. Did not mention that they charged more than double the price! I would have rather walk 10m down the road to buy myself. Trusted on goodwill that prices would not be so inflated. Expansive mistake 2.
3. No written menu so no idea prices of meals. Was shocked about the price when got final bill as we ordered simple food. Expensive mistake 3.

Other than that the room was very basic and comfortable enough - air con, cold water, mozzie net.

Final thoughts: fine to sleep and eat at. Just don't go on their safari tour. Expensive but everything is in Sigiria area.


  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggybackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dambulla, Owner at Wadula Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank You so much for writing a review so soon (almost within few hours).Thank you once again for the comments about the hotel.
About the price of the water bottles , we are a tourist hotel and we purchase our stocks from reputed companies.
You could get water free from the community taps available along the road too.
You will agree that whatever we could give free our staff served you.
About the vehicle, we maintain a good vehicle and the reduced price you paid is for the entire journey.You could always listened to your driver of the car and we are sure that he would have arranged a same type of vehicle at a higher price.He was disappointed by the hiring of the Hotel vehicle.He was telling that he missed a good commission due to that.Anyway we made a offer and you accepted it.You were shown our vehicle before the journey and you could take a decision at that time.I never insisted on using our vehicle.
The driver of the veicle is responsible for the lifes of the guests and he had been careful as to the irate elephants charging at vehicles.You yourself came back and saId about that.Do you expect the driver not to move the vehicle away when an angry elephant was charging? We showed you pictures of the damage caused to a vehicle by a angry elepahnt few days ago your trip.If you stayed at the site when an angry elephant was charging story would have been different and even injuries would have caused to guests
Sir, the cost of paying for a comfortable vehicle is around Rs8000/- per trip only for the transport.However that vehicle too would have to use the same bumpy roads in the jungle.
Sir we wish you all the bests on your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sigiriya hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
0.8 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#11 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.3 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sigiri Pandora Lodge
Sigiri Pandora Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kimbissa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.8 mi away
Darshani Lodge
Darshani Lodge
#13 of 77 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wadula Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wadula Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Wadula Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Sigiriya Road, Kibissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an unspoiled area in Sri Lanka, close the Sigiriya rock and the best elephant watching national park. We distinguish ourselves with great food, big garden and cozy rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wadula Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing