We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Sri Lanka!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Banana Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Rest
Ranked #21 of 89 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lille, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best stay in Sri Lanka!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Banana rest is the first guest houst we stayed in Sri Lanka!We were 6 of us and at first we should stay only 1 or 2 nights in Sigiriya....we stayed 4 and do not regret it!!!
Ramith and his mum are so adorable, I have no word to express how warm was the welcoming.
At first they look shy but after a local volley-ball, a night safari, a concert (Ramith has a band and they play srilankan song..and mum is singing too!), a bicycle ride around Sigiriya rock, a swim in a lake where all the locals have a swin, do their laundry....so many good memories tank to this place and especially to the host!
It is not too far away from the city, as you can rent a bike and Ramith offer you to drive you to the rock if you need it..we did it by walk and it was pretty ok!
Go to Banana rest, you will not forget it!!!!!Thank to Ramith, his mum, Bandare, Manara...We will miss you!!!!!!!
Mélanie, Vincent, Tibo, Melisse, Alice et Romain

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melafouine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Yes it's basic but it feels miles from anywhere even though Sigiriya is just around the corner. There's a lovely lake a hundred metres away for a relaxed walk. It's bright, clean and comfortable, good value for money and excellent food. OK so we found a frog in the bathroom. My wife kissed it and was disappointed it didn't turn into a prince!
We had the non AC rooms which have 2 comfy beds, each bigger than a single but smaller than a double. There is also accommodation for your driver.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_hod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Only 10mins drive from Sigiriya, this place is ideal but the good point stops here. The AC in the room does work, but it's not powerful enough to cool the room. We had to have the fan on as well but it was quite loud. The room was dated and clean-ish (can't really see as the lights were very dim we saw a few dried up bugs splashed out on the wall). Bathroom was, well, covered with ants when we first arrived. But once we rinsed them off it was fine. The beds were old with a very dated mossie-net hanging above them.

Dinner was expensive for what it was (curry with rice or fried rice for Rs650) and breakfast was basic, with butter tasted off.

The lady and her son are very nice and friendly. But really, this place really needs a bit of maintenance before building the restaurant which they are building at the moment right next to the main reception house.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie-sooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Hotel is located quite far from the village. So if you need anything extra, you should buy it before entering the hotel.

Advantages:
- You're really surrounded by nature
- Rice and curry is great (at 750 LKR)
- Good breakfast
- Hot Water
- Good staff (most likely it's a family hotel)

Disadvantages:
- Very basic rooms
- Not very clean
- Insects and frogs in the bathroom
- Air conditioner is very noisy

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lempert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had already found a hotel in Sigiriya, unfortunately it was so popular that there were no more rooms. Our pushy driver had an idea: Banana Rest.
It is a land with a house and restaurant of a former movie star. Or at least that's what Muthalif, our driver tells us. It resembles a campsite. And you're feel like you're middle of nowhere. Here you're totally surrounded by nature.

We got to see a double room. It was very simple, but provided with basic stuff like the air conditioning and mosquito net. Bathroom was as simple. But everything was very clean, nothing to complain about (if you don't mind to share the room with the frogs and gecko's).
Only there were three of us and just two beds in the room. We asked for a triple room. They didn't have one, but they also thought we could perfectly share two beds together. That was little too cozy we thought. We were about to leave and search another hotel. Then we were offered to take both rooms. We negotiated about the price and stayed. Basically we had the whole cottage with a lake view to our self.

We were the only guests. Only during the diner there was a group of curious male drinkers next to us.

Diner was delicious! Probably the best so far. Too bad the waiter was unashamedly scratching his balls all the time.

Sleeping comfort lacked. Not only the beds weren't fine, the lights went on and off several times during the night.

It's not the most comfortable place but it's homey and rural with good curries for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraHodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooting
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

My girlfriend & I were taken to Banana Rest by our driver and stayed for 2 nights. We were both very happy with the quality of the accommodation and the food was excellent. The location is lovely; a quiet spot in the countryside next to a lake. We saw a couple of wild elephants at the side of the dusty road that leads to the guesthouse which made us feel like we were really out in the wild. We did find it to be more expensive than comparable places in Sri Lanka. Perhaps this is due to it's proximity to Sri Lanka's number one tourist site, Sigiriya Rock.

We had a spacious cabana with smart veranda facing the lake and surrounded by gardens. It was pleasure to sit here & observe the local wildlife early in the morning. The restaurant area had the feel of a safari lodge with trestle tables, stools made from tree trunks and pictures of Sri Lanka's impressive wildlife on the walls. We had the made to order Sri Lankan curry here with a variety of tasty dishes & a mountain of rice. It was absolutely delicious. If you stay here you should not miss it. The breakfast was the Sri Lankan standard of eggs, toast, tea & fruit which was adequate.

We found the staff to be friendly & efficient. For example I asked for a plug adaptor and they found one for me within 5 minutes and brought it to the cabana with a smile. I would certainly recommend a stay at Banana Rest.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

If you're looking for a guest house that's away from it all then Banana Rest ticks every box.

The food is brilliant, our hosts bent over backwards to ensure we had everything we needed (thanks Ramidh for going out for ice cream in the evening) and the setting is lovely, tranquil and remote. The bungalow rooms are truly sparkling clean and the hot water a blessing after travel activities in the area.

On arrival, Ramidh took us to Kimbissa because I felt like egg hoppers in his own tuk tuk (for 100 rupees) and the next day, his brother drove us to Sigiriya to climb the rock for nothing via his jeep.

The evening meal was truly impressive and we struggled to finish it in the evening. Having your own private verandah was lovely and we sat and read for hours.

We found that the only drawback for us was that it was a little remote from other local towns which would have been nice for us as we like to walk.

We were warned that elephants sometimes come onto the roads and night and they can be very dangerous. We didn't take this too seriously and walked back from Sigiriya at dusk which took about 45 minutes. The following evening we heard loud shots and were advised that a rogue male elephant was on the loose in the immediate area. We were asked not to leave our rooms until the next morning.

Overall, we stayed 3 blissful days. If the value is brilliant we paid 3,500 per night including breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ish113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.0 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relax Guest
Relax Guest
#2 of 89 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Benetha Vella Resort
Benetha Vella Resort
#15 of 89 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sigiri Queens Rest Guest House
0.0 mi away
Lakmini Lodge
Lakmini Lodge
#2 of 83 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Rest

Property: Banana Rest
Address: No. 164 A T.B. Tennakoon Mw | Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Banana Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing