We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for backpackers ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakmini Lodge & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place for backpackers ”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

A very nice place with good food and a staff that was very helpful. I enjoyed the food which was home made while enjoying an incredible view of Lion Rock. Ideal location with only a short walk to start your hike up the rock.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gseppe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    209
    45
    18
    8
See reviews for
69
269
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sentjur, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

this is really nice place to stay, rooms are nice and clean. owner is very friendly and he gave us a lot of good advices (ask him for directions on the rock next to lions rock-that save us a lot of money and had some perfect views)
delicious breakfast served on lodge with view on lions rock. we also rented bikes and had awesome tour.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leoncasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The owner is really a character, so we've had a pleasent stay here. You can view the rock from the tree house, even though breakfast that comes with the view was nothing special (compared to the dinner, which was delicious!)

When we arrived, our bathroom was not perfectly clean, but they made no problem cleaning it up after the complaint.

Otherwise, good service, own tuk tuk, bikes, etc, at good prices.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gstritar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a basic but clean and good guesthouse. The best thing is the sitting area up in a sort of tree house with a great view at Sigirya rock. There are bikes for rent - nor for free, which was not made clear to us. The food was good, not fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Lakmini Lodge, and we really appreciated it. The owner and his family s living nearby they are all super cool and welcomed us perfectly.
Nice breakfast with the view on the rice fields and the first sun rays of the day.
We also loved the elephant safari that they organised for us.
Great place to discover the jungle, to visit archaeological sites (by bike that the hotel gives you free) and discover the cultural triangle.
Super nice people in the nearby restaurants, good local food and service.
Special mention to New Sigiri Cafe and its Kotu Roti ( last restaurant on the left side of the road going to the UNESCO archaeological site).
A good hotel to book, easy access, just in front of the post office!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Suriname
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We really enjoyed are stay here, the owner is an honest and very friendly man. The view on the Sigiria rock form the relax/breakfast hut is incredible! We had a wonderfull stay, climming the rock, polonaruwa and safari of the national park. Eventhough not included the breakfast is really nice, so deffenitely worth it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We arrived late at night not knowing where we are going to sleep.The driver of the bus called someone who took us to this place.Unluckily there was no empty room but making an effort we got a single room promising us that the next morning we ll get a double room and so it was.We stayed there two nights and enjoyed the place and the friendly manager

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hana f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,538 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#11 of 19 in Sigiriya
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,594 reviews
3.3 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Sigiriya
550 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakmini Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakmini Lodge & Restaurant

Property: Lakmini Lodge & Restaurant
Address: Main Street | No.126, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is set in the beautiful area of Sigiriya and boasts picture postcard views of the spectacular natural landmark. Wake up in one of our spacious, modern, air conditioned rooms and enjoy views of Sigiriya, Lion Rock, from the stunning roof terrace. All rooms have free WiFi, private bathrooms with shower, toiletries and towels. Choose our premium rooms and enjoy private views of Sigiriya from your balcony. Only a ten minute walk to the entrance of this natural heritage site, there is no better place to stay when visiting Sigiriya. Minneriya National Park is 10km from Lakmini Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lakmini Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing