We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, not very clean but very nice view on Sigiriya Rock” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakmini Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakmini Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basic, not very clean but very nice view on Sigiriya Rock”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this guesthouse.
We liked:
1. the very nice view on Sigiriya rock from the wooden hut in the tree
2. the sri lankan breakfast: the best we have had over our 2 weeks trip in Sri Lanka
3. Tengy, the owner, was very nice and very helpful to organize safari or elephant ride or anything else
We disliked the dirty room and smelly bedlinen; the dirty shower, the very low pressure of water and tepid (not hot) water. However, the good thing is that if you ask for other (clean) bedlinen or towels, Tengy will give them to you without any problem.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    204
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
67
261
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The most improtant thing is the view and the rooms, its very clean and the home cooked meals are awesome, also the price you pay, the view from the tree house is excellent and if your lucky you may see a wild elephant walking around the paddy fields, ower Mr. Chandi is very friendly ,very kind,and very helpfull person who will always gives the right advise, I have being visiting this place for the last 6 years and very time have stayed for more then two to three night, let me thake the pleasure of thanking Mr. Chandi and his family for his hospitality making our stay more memorable.
Kanishka Gunasekera

Room Tip: Rooms near to the rock,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanishka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a great time at this guesthouse. The owner is incredibly friendly and helpfull! Rooms are spacious (we stayed in a 4p room) and clean and not expensive (1500-2000r). The food is good and having breakfast in a treehouse with a view on the rock is a nice way to start your day!

You can get off the bus at the post office which is 50m away from the guesthouse (don't believe the guys in dambulla that say there is no bus to sigarya). Coming by bus saves the guesthouse owner and yourself the trouble of dealing with rickshaw drivers that try to get a commission.

From the guesthouse it is a pleasant 10 minutes walk to sigarya rock.

If we ever come back to Sigiriya we will definitely stay again!

Jasper & Marieke

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariekeenjasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onanole, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Chandy and his wife (never did get her name) are so kind. She makes amazing curry and rice and they are both the sweetest human beings!

The views of the rock through the rice field is quite nice and the whole place has a relaxed atmosphere. The new rooms are great value... the old ones a little dank.

You won't regret staying here and it makes a good base for other ruin sites.

Room Tip: Give it the old smell check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evansmd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

The Lakmini Lodge is close to the Sigiriya rock and the view from the tree house is really beautiful. The owner was always very friendly and the food was okay. Sadly our room was really damp and smelly and the bathroom was dirty. Of course this is a budget guest house, but all in all I must say that for what it was it was still to expansive. They are building new rooms on the compound which looked nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msmaki3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ochhra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

I loved staying at the Lakmini Lodge. Chandy and his family are so friendly and helpful. Plus the setting is perfect with a stunning view of Sigiriya Rock across the paddy fields.

The rooms were large and clean, the bathroom huge!

Chandy also helps out with advice on where and when to go to see attractions in the area which was perfect as we used the lodge as a base for seeing the surrounding area too, such as Polonurawa & Dambulla.

The evening meals cooked by Chandy's wife (I forget her name, sorry) were lovely and plentiful too.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goatcabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed two nights in this lovely lodge - at first glance it seems a pretty basic hodge-podge collection of spaces, but a closer look reveals its hidden charms - especially the tree house! The place is run by one of the hardest-working proprietors we met, carrying all the food over from his own house and shop down the road (and carrying all the dishes back), organising transport and tours, and generally ensuring everyone was comfortable and happy. The food was served family-style, which meant we got to meet some lovely people, and breakfast in the tree house was amazing. On the negative side, things were a bit dusty and worn, the windows weren't particularly well-sealed and the bathroom was pretty basic, but after some of the places we stayed, these were very minor issues!

Room Tip: We had one of the AC rooms (with a brand-new AC unit), which seemed necessary when we arrived, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.7 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
8.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#13 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.4 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakmini Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakmini Lodge

Property: Lakmini Lodge
Address: Main Street | No.126, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes on foot to Lion Rock. We offer comfortable rooms (Fan, Hot Showers, A/C) and the best view of Lion Rock. Delicious food and beverages. Wi-Fi facility. We also arrange elephant rides, cart rides, jeep safaris Lake Tour, Kayak safari and taxi services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lakmini Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing