We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic good accommodation”
Review of Sigiriya Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sigiriya Cottage
Ranked #16 of 91 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Basic good accommodation”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are like small huts and are perfect for basic clean accommodation in the price range.

Food was also good quality. Location great for nearby sites.

It is very quite so staying 1-2 nights is plenty.

Great wifi which was handy and surprising considering how remote we were

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    64
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
77
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent two nights here, our overall experience was very good.
The only negative comment I have regarding this guesthouse is its web site. Don't believe it! I have no ideas why they mention a safe box and tea/coffee facilities. None are available.
But if you don't expect these then it's a decent and comfortable guest house, with five rooms and very friendly stuff.
The room we had was very large, including a table, chairs, a closet. Air condition was good. Bath was Ok with good supply of hot water. free wifi available in the restaurant and can be used even in the room, with good quality.
We had breakfast and dinner, both good and tasty.
Note that the guest house is located far from any restaurant or bar, quite in the middle of nowhere. So beer price was higher than most other places we visited in Sri Lanka...
On the other hand, it's a very quiet and peaceful place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doron_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I took the non-AC room with my GF for 2800 rupees p/n. All the cottages provided are large, clean and in a pleasant garden environment with an open walled restaurant structure in the communal area. My bedroom did not have a mosquito net, but there was an electronic anti-mosquito device provided which seemed to work fine.

The garden is visited by many animals including tree frogs, land monitor lizards and a giant squirrel that can be hand fed in the mornings. Chandana and his staff look after you very well. They gave me cold beers when I asked for them and helped me to arrange scooter rental without a fuss, even going so far as to lend me his own helmet when i discovered the helmet i had rented was broken.

The food at Sigirya cottage is as good as any other hotel i visited in the country. You can head up the road if you want to eat elsewhere though.The guesthouse is close to Sigiriya mountain, but you might like to take a tuc tuc if you aren't the walking type.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Death_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff, very friendly monkeys and a big clean room. Nothing fancy but it was close to everything we wanted to see in Sigyriya and surrounds. Great food too! Plenty of local wildlife ready to greet you in the morning. Definitely recommend insect repellant and a mosquito net if you are sensitive to insect bites, however they do give you a plug in insect repellant device that seems to work quite well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegTAtkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights from 5th August 2013. The rooms were large and comfortable with a table and chairs outside to admire the garden surrounds. Their chicken curry was the best we tasted on our whole 26 days in Sri Lanka. Chandana even showed us how to cook it one night along with the recipe. Chandana and his brother were great hosts. The beers were always cold and they organised ice for our happy hour drinks of scotch and coke and gin and tonics. The day excursions to the triangle organised by Chandana were great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MozzaAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The first impression of Sigiriya Cottage is a bad one, since you only see a run down service building when entering the premises. The rooms are nice and spacy with fan and A/C. In the first night we had a frog problem, i.e. a frog constantly entering the shower through all kinds of tubes and gaps, despite our efforts to through him out. After complaining, we got another room and were good from there onwards.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the breakfast is great and served in an atmospheric space. The garden is full of nature, including banana-eating giant squirrels and leaf-cutter ants. The location is excellent to tour Sigiriya and others so in the end we stayed four nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymus439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I felt very safe at the Sigiriya Cottage and it met my expectations. It was quiet and the place was simple and comfortable. The floors were a bit dusty since it's in the middle of a forest but the beds were comfortable and the food was reasonably priced as well as included large portions (although I don't eat a lot in general). I felt the fried noodle, chicken and lentil dish would have adequately fed 2-3 people. I should have just gone with the noodles! :)

Since it's surrounded by nature you might have the occasional visit from some bugs or ants, kind of unavoidable. But it's super close to Sigiriya Fortress and overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,504 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,017 reviews
8.0 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#12 of 20 in Sigiriya
66 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakmini Lodge
Lakmini Lodge
#2 of 96 in Sigiriya
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Cottage

Property: Sigiriya Cottage
Address: Maha Kimbissa Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sigiriya Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing