We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than pleasant! would recommend to everyone who loves peace and tranquility”
Review of Sigiriya Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sigiriya Cottage
Ranked #16 of 91 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Karachi, Pakistan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“more than pleasant! would recommend to everyone who loves peace and tranquility”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

the most impressive place we stayed in Sri Lanka. cozy yard, nice room. only five rooms available. above all, we enjoyed the most about rhe hospitality of the owner and the tranquility at night. I can hardly find a word to say how nice that feeling was. The only thing bad is that they don't have much exposure on the internet and it takes some time for them to reture the email. if u really wanna go, reserve earlier!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felipe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    65
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
77
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Sigiriya Cottage guest house comprises of 4 bungalows in a garden setting.
The rooms are are clean, very roomy and air comditioned. Breakfast is served if an open sided garden restaraunt. There is no pool but you can use the facilities at either the Hotel Sigiriya or Sigiriya Village hotel for 250 rupee (£1.50). The Lion rock is a 5 minute journey down the road. There is a bar across the road from the cottages and the excellent New Sigiri Restaraunt is about 1 Km away - great place for lunch serving local curry and rice or less spicy western style meals - try their sea food for a real treat.

If you want to try something a little different you can take an Ox cart safari around the village where you will see how the locals live.

I will definately stay here again the next time that I am touring in the area

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SriRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed two nights at Sigiriya Cottage and used it as our base for exploring Dambulla and Sigiriya.

It is fairly basic, but good value for money for what it is. We stayed in a chalet from which we stepped out into a garden with lots of trees and plants. There is a little outdoor eating area where we had breakfast and dinner (which was very nice).

The surrounding area is very green, quiet and peaceful. I think you probably can walk to Sigiriya rock from there, but we drove.

The owner was very accommodating and tried very hard to make our stay pleasant.

It isn't a luxurious place, but it is clean, in a nice place, with a helpful owner, good food and clean bedding, so very good value for money. We would recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SM_AK_DOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We were promised 4 clean air-conditioned double rooms but upon on arrival we were given a few rooms not upto the mark. Re-directed us to Prince Inn which was one or two kilometres away. The condition of the rooms is worst. The Manager can cook well and we had a good dinner. We checked out the next day although we had booked 2 days earlier.

Room Tip: do not believe the photos shown
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntiedoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. Though we were taken here by our scheming driver, we ended up really liking the quiet peacefulness of this place. There only seemed to be a few rooms, and there is not much around, so at night the place is very quiet, except for the noises of the forest. There is also little or no light pollution in the surrounding area, so the stars at night are really clear and beautiful. We only saw one man working there, but he was very efficient and nice. The food was delicious, and the rooms were spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobes_and_Ej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We have nice stay in Sigiriya cottage. Rooms are big and clean, equipped with AC. Staff is friendly. There is very very quiet and silent. This hotel is good for families with small children.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuchsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Not far from the rock entrance, this was a good little find. Very large, clean rooms with nice bathrooms in lovely gardens. Friendly staff. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,507 reviews
8.0 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,559 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#11 of 20 in Sigiriya
67 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,434 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hideout Sigiriya
The Hideout Sigiriya
#13 of 91 in Sigiriya
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Cottage

Property: Sigiriya Cottage
Address: Maha Kimbissa Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sigiriya Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing