We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Grass Nature Resort
Ranked #10 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family stay”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We enjoyed three nights here as a family of four with 9 and 13 year old children. The staff were really friendly and helpful. It was a bit more individual that some of the accommodation we had during a two week holiday and it was the children's favourite. There was loads of space and a sense of privacy and adventure and lots of animals about.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puntslikeagod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    65
    14
    13
    2
See reviews for
74
127
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We booked our Sri Lanka honeymoon through the excellent Experience Travel - real experts on the country and incredibly helpful.

Wildgrass is situated near lake Kandalama and is nestled in lush green surroundings teeming with wildlife. We really started getting closer to nature here. Our chalet had incredible views and every luxury you wouldn’t expect in this location. The room was absolutely huge, and had glass walls to feel like you were right in the jungle. The shower was in an enclosed but outside space – this was so nice to be out in at the end of hot days.

The service and food were again really good, and we enjoyed being karted around in a golf buggy during a couple of down pours!

There were some amazing bird watching and nature walks to go on. We also went on elephant safari, to the incredible Sigiriya and the less impressive but worth a visit Ritigala.

All in highly recommended, especially for nature buffs!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olideacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The villas here are amazing - spacious, floor to ceiling glass, and minimalist furnishings. More Scandinavian than Sri Lankan. Their website does not do them justice.

Delicious food (some of the best we had in Sri Lanka - consistently good), attentive service and beautiful surroundings. It deserves to be much busier. We were really grateful for the TripAdvisor warning it would be a bit quiet. We were the only people staying there but not a problem at all. The staff were wonderful and the privacy was really relaxing.

The climb up the nearby rock is definitely worthwhile for the views of Sigiriya at sunset.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cat_bolsover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Wild Grass for Five nights. This place sounded unique, so we were hoping for the best- we got the best! The five villa resort is amongst forest, mountains, farming villages with lots of wild life. The villas are privately placed with glass walls and outdoor bathroom-taking a shower was an adventure in itself. If it happens to rain you will be surrounded by a light and sound nature show, pray for a rainy night. The manager and chef Tissa made sure that we felt completely welcomed, no request was impossible for him. Just ask. Our walks and bicycle rides with Nimal, the nature expert, were incredibly enjoyable. Transportation was arranged at reasonable prices by the manager with local car or tuk tuk drivers (you pay the drivers). Food was carefully prepared and served. Breakfast was basic and healthy; if I had to mention an item for improvement, I would say to add a few more breakfast items, but we enjoyed it as it was. It is hard to express how satisfied we are with Wild Grass, you just have yo try it.

Room Tip: Take insect repellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The best hotel I have stayed in.
Every room is a separate and detached, with glass walls, good use of wood and modern concrete.
The hotel is isolated, but just what we were looking for.

the set meals were original and fresh,

We couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the first 3 nights of our tour through Sri Lanka. What a fabulous place if you are nature lovers like us. It has a private exclusive feel as there are only a small number of villas spaced nicely apart with thick greenery in between. The villas are huge, with a downstairs lounge (we didn't really use it) and a wonderful bedroom with glass all around and a fantastic outdoor bathroom (complete with frogs in the sink which was entertaining!)

You really do feel as though you are in the middle of nowhere and it is magical to shower outside under the stars at night (btw take some mosquito repellent as this is prime time to be bitten!) Waking up to the sounds of all the birds was fabulous, like being in the rainforest.

The pool area is nice to relax with a book and take a dip as it does get hot and humid during the day.

The staff were polite and attentive without being intrusive. I asked for a mosquito net in our room and immediately 3 men and a ladder appeared to put one up! We went on the nature walk around the grounds and environs with Nimal, which we highly recommend. We saw so many birds and also mongoose and giant squirrel and climbed the rock at sunset which was magical.

Dinner was excellent, a la carte, you choose 4 items from the menu. The curry is amazing and there are lots of them!

The only downside for us was the breakfast. While the fresh fruit juice was delicious, we found the breakfast rather limited compared to the other places we stayed. It would be nice to expand this to include a choice of hoppers and pancakes and not just scrambled or fried egg (and fruit).

Also, we loved it here as we love nature, but as you are in the middle of nature, don't be surprised if you see a lot of insects and frogs. It's not a problem at all but some people don't appreciate it's inevitable...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzienRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Wild Grass in the middle of nowhere which is an all villa hotel with airy uge AC bedroom upstairs, outdoor shower and bathroom and a modern stylish living room downstairs. It is all glass and the views are into the green. Meals are at the open restaurant, you can either order from the menue or you let them know what you like, they prepared everything for us. For nature lovers this is a great place with first class accomodation, service and food. Also the accomodation for the driver was nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peru_Hamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
1.9 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,472 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,626 reviews
6.5 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 19 in Sigiriya
417 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,572 reviews
2.4 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Grass Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Grass Nature Resort

Property: Wild Grass Nature Resort
Address: Dunnubindunu Wewa, Govigammana Main Rd | Kumbukkadanwala, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Grass Nature Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of an enchanting forest, amongst the whispers of trees and magical birdsong, there exists a slice of paradise. Surrounded by jungles, a lake and the Kandalama hills, Wild Grass is a welcoming eco-retreat located in the Cultural Triangle between Sigiriya and Dambulla. Wild Grass is set amidst 30 acres of unfenced forestland that is frequently visited by rabbits, deer, wild boar, monkeys and over 40 species of birds as well as the occasional wild elephant. It is the ideal location for nature lovers, whether families with children, couples or honeymooners, who wish to enjoy their holiday disturbed only by the sounds of nature, while enjoying the ancient history and marvels of the cultural triangle. A strict nature conservation philosophy is followed here and much is being done to preserve the natural eco-system. Organic farming methods are used to cultivate fruit and vegetables for the resort's own use with the balance requirements purchased from the adjoining village. The unique feature of Wild Grass remains its exceptional natural beauty and absolute solitude afforded to the traveler seeking a perfect rest. Intimate and secluded, the resort limits itself to just 8 villas in the entire property, adequately spaced out to make privacy the ultimate luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wild Grass Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Grass Nature Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing