We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jungle getaway where remoteness is matched by excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Grass Nature Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Jungle getaway where remoteness is matched by excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wildgrass Resort offers a tropical jungle hideaway that upon arriving was like a huge metaphorical 'sigh' after the long,winding and cow-dodging journey from Colombo. There are only about 5 villas on the resort and a central lobby/reception with the dining room directly above where all meals are served (unless you choose to go for in-room dining). As mentioned in previous reviews the villas are two levels with the lower level housing the lounge room and bathroom and requisite outdoor shower! The upper level has the bedroom and balcony area. Service is warm,friendly and attentive and the food is more than satisfactory although would have benefitted from more local options. The location is well placed for Sigiriya Rock particularly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLAKTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    63
    13
    12
    2
See reviews for
72
124
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a wonderful retreat hidden in the undergrowth and the perfect retreat for worn out city folk like ourselves. The rooms resembled hi tech tree houses in their elevated construction with outside shower and toilet facilty. The entire staff came out to greet us upon our arrival and all lined up again when we left. They were truly welcoming. The electric golf buggy was handy for collection of our luggage. We too used Wild Grass in January as a jumping off station to visit the cultural triangle. But we somehow wished we had stayed here longer as the long and very slow car journeys eventually got us down. So much nicer to have stayed in our own "house" in the jungle.
It was an oasis with wi-fi, good food and wine and a spectacular secluded location. We will never, ever forget it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suewinckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was a wonderful way to end a vacation. The visit was absolutely spectacular. The service was right on time. Limited number of villas so place was not over crowded. They are quite modern and clean. There is not much to do around the facility. The drive to the resort can be a bit hairy as the roads are not paved and slightly away from tourist sites. It was a great way to wind down a vacation. Highly recommed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satisfied601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this unique hotel and just loved it!!

Beautifully villas in the wilderness with a contemporary design and a perfect mix of wood&stone with spacious rooms and open areas! Just wonderful! And the outside shower, wow!

The staff was so nice and gave a flawless service! The lobby and restaurant in the main building were made with the same open-space-relaxed-contemporary design and all meals were so delicious with that extra touch all the way!

This was also the perfect location to visit the area and sites such as; Sigiriya Fortress, Polonnaruwa ruins and Dambulla caves.

This is absolutely an hotel to stay at if you are looking for something different, beautiful design, out of the crowd, excellent meal and all with a touch of simple luxury!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heleneandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We visited Sri Lanka in mid January and used Wild Grass as a jumping off point for our tour of the Cultural Triangle. They had just experienced heavy rains the week before which made some of the back roads we took to get there difficult to navigate but fortunately we had a great driver and that made the trip in (and out) pretty easy. That said, the destination was well worth the ride! We arrived late (well after 10) because we drove directly from Colombo yet the staff and manager were there to greet us and could not have been more welcoming. This topnotch and attentive service was consistent throughout our 2 night stay. Our villa was spacious, contemporary and well appointed not to mention spotlessly clean. We loved the outdoor shower with it's high walls and the very large rain fall shower head! The sleeping and adjacent living area were surrounded on 3 sides by glass yet appropriately screened for privacy. Our second night we enjoyed a romantic dinner on the roof top...open air yet completely bug free. We choose the rice and curry and the food was terrific! On our departure day we had to leave by 6am to catch a train up to tea country. Not a problem...the manager and staff were up to see us off and had packed breakfast for us and also for our driver. We were there to see the sites so did not avail ourselves of the pool or any other facilities. They are still building additional villas and so you could say Wild Grass is a work in progress but we enjoyed our brief time there very much and would recommend it to anyone visiting the area. In Sri Lanka in general. we would also strongly recommend having a driver. I'm not sure we would have found Wild Grass without one and driving in the country in general is not easy for foreigners!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMOldLyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our stay at Wild Grass was really wonderful. We took two twin rooms, one for my mother and one for me and my husband and our toddler. It was sheer luxury- the website just doesn't do it justice! Really modern sleek architecture in the midst of the wild forest. We watched peacocks and monkeys from our bed- it just didn't seem real!. We chose not to draw the blinds so we could wake to the wonderful view of nature each morning. The staff were very nice and helpful, with an excellent manager. Immaculate rooms and really comfy giant beds with sleek cotton sheets. We loved being taken too and from your room in the buggy cart, which is really quirky. Meals are served in the main building but because we had our little boy, we asked if we could have dinner served in our room, while he went to bed. We were served silver service- soup poured from a teapot! - and service was really impeccable. It felt like having your own private butler. They would go away on the buggy cart- then come back to clear our plates and serve the next course with impeccable timing. Such a treat! We stayed for 3 nights and could have stayed longer. The local attractions, like the Dambulla temple are great but make sure you have time to relax in your room, take a walk or a dip in the pool, worth really taking the time to unwind and appreciate this special place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tealeavesandroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I am a big architecture fan and I have always wanted to stay in a glass house, along the design of Phillip Johnson or Mies van der Rohe. That is exactly what my husband and I did when we stayed at Wild Grass Resort, but with a tropical twist: a glass house in a lush and green jungle setting. We really loved this place and we were fortunate to have one of the newest villas that was just completed two weeks before our arrival. As the third guests to stay in this polished concrete and glass chalet, we appreciated the new design ideas that included a single floor living area, a wrap-around balcony, floor to ceiling glass doors/ windows that could slide all of the way open, gleaming hard wood floors and most important for us, an indoor bathroom (with toilet and vanity sink area that had a glass door leading to an outdoor shower). It is important to note that we are not ecotourists, but I still liked the jungle setting and daily encounters that we had with wildlife. Even though the new chalet was located at the end of the path, it was by no means far, or inconvenient nor scary to walk to the restaurant at night (one tip is to take a small flashlight with you, but the paths have lights and the staff will come get you in a golf cart if you want). We also loved the attentive service of the manager and wait staff. They happily served us lunch and happy hour in the chalet (even in the pouring rain) and meals whenever we requested them in the restaurant. They were very kind. Our reservation rate os $325 included breakfast and a tasty three course dinner with different choices each night (and all taxes too). In addition, they had a nice and fairly priced wine list. I also like that the resort is small; during our stay, there were two to four other guests. The resort’s location may seem out of the way, but when compared to other places in the area, it really is quite convenient. It was only 30 minutes from Dambulla, 50 minutes from Sigiriya Rock (because we took a different road in the rain), and less than 1 ½ hours from Polonnaruwa. Yes, it is down a dirt road and yes, there has been significant rainfall in Sri Lanka in December/ January, making the paths muddy and overflowing Amaya Lake (but that cannot be controlled). Our van driver from Abans Tours was amazing and he was very creative in finding dirt roads that were less pitted and muddy to the Wild Grass, other than the one signposted. On our departure, we did have to take a 30 minute detour around the lake due to flooding, but again, that could not be controlled. One tip to the owners is that I understand that they are going to construct better accommodation for drivers and I would like to stress the importance of doing this as soon as possible. We could not have had such a wonderful Sri Lankan adventure without our driver. He worked so hard, driving on the hard roads and for such long hours, so I wanted so much for him to be comfortable at night with good dinners and breakfasts.
Staying at Wild Grass is definitely “different” than staying in a hotel or expensive resort; it’s more a rustic retreat with great architecture. I really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We loved the new glass chalet that opened on Dec 23, 2012. It had an enclosed toilet and vanity sink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPSWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
5.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
2.4 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
6.5 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Grass Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Grass Nature Resort

Property: Wild Grass Nature Resort
Address: Dunnubindunu Wewa, Govigammana Main Rd | Kumbukkadanwala, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Grass Nature Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of an enchanting forest, amongst the whispers of trees and magical birdsong, there exists a slice of paradise. Surrounded by jungles, a lake and the Kandalama hills, Wild Grass is a welcoming eco-retreat located in the Cultural Triangle between Sigiriya and Dambulla. Wild Grass is set amidst 30 acres of unfenced forestland that is frequently visited by rabbits, deer, wild boar, monkeys and over 40 species of birds as well as the occasional wild elephant. It is the ideal location for nature lovers, whether families with children, couples or honeymooners, who wish to enjoy their holiday disturbed only by the sounds of nature, while enjoying the ancient history and marvels of the cultural triangle. A strict nature conservation philosophy is followed here and much is being done to preserve the natural eco-system. Organic farming methods are used to cultivate fruit and vegetables for the resort's own use with the balance requirements purchased from the adjoining village. The unique feature of Wild Grass remains its exceptional natural beauty and absolute solitude afforded to the traveler seeking a perfect rest. Intimate and secluded, the resort limits itself to just 8 villas in the entire property, adequately spaced out to make privacy the ultimate luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wild Grass Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Grass Nature Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing