We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Natural luxury"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Grass Nature Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Wild Grass Nature Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Natural luxury"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

What a paradise; our own air-conditioned villa where we watched wild peacocks, monkeys and water buffalo walk past us. After showering in our private outdoor bathroom we could sit naked in the sun to dry. We had the swimming pool to ourselves for hours (except a tiny tree frog joined us). We ordered coconut milkshakes and had them brought to the pool! The meals at the restaurant were delicious and 3 nights we watched the lightning flash across the dark sky showing silhouettes of the distant mountains. The frogs and birds (including peacocks) sang in the night rain. The staff helped us whenever we needed anything, but left us alone most of the time so we could enjoy this beautiful place and each other. Nearby we visited the elephant refuge.

Room Tip: All the villas were isolated enough that you could not see any neighbors. We were in the first vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    62
    13
    12
    2
See reviews for
72
122
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is probably one of my favourite places in Sri Lanka. I absolutely love the wilderness, and Wildgrass does it very well. There is a main lodge area, with four villas (one of which is a family lodge). Each villa is far from the main lodge, and far from each other, giving you privacy and a true feeling of being in the jungle.

The villas are fairly luxurious and very spacious. Ours was the last one, that had huge glass windows with views only of the forest and the hills. The decor is simple and fits well in the setting. The only thing I didn't like about our villa was that the bathroom was downstairs and the bedroom upstairs. Other than that, it was beautiful.

The people, once again, were fantastic. Mr. Pereira, the manager of the place, is out to please. He is always there, but not in your face. Him and his team very naturally display Sri Lankan hospitality. Anything we asked for, they did with a smile.

We had a breakfast and dinner plan, and we were fed well! One night we had a Sri Lankan curry feast, and he served us so much that I couldn't even get to tasting every dish. It felt like we were at someone's home.

The property has a beautiful walk around it, a pool, and a fairly tricky rock you can climb to get stunning panoramic views of the lush green landscape, as well as the Sigiriya Rock. If you love nature, and are ok with a lot of bugs, open showers, frogs, etc, then you'll love this place.

Room Tip: Ask for Villa D, it's the last one and has a great view and total privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rishidalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was a truly wonderful place- a huge lodge with open bathrooms, privacy, beautiful bedroom, plenty of open space. The first stop on our honeymoon in sri lanka - we stayed an extra night because we loved it so much. Wonderful sri lankan food ( though you have to ask for it as the menu is western) andthe restaurant overlooks a big frog lake with and ambient croaking sound to eat to! It was still a bit of a work in progress when we were there and we were very unlucky with weather but this is a brilliant, welcoming secluded base in the cultural triangle. Staff are exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Est0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Rattling along a bumpy dirt track we had no idea of the outstanding acoomodation we were about to be introduced to. Hidden away far off the beaten track Wild Grass is a collection of villas supported by a central reception and dining area. and pool. Each villa is individually designed with fantastic facilities including open air tropical showers, floor to ceiling glass window rooms , aircon and simply the most comfortable beds anywhere on our trip. The staff were fantastic and so helpful. Their very discrete but personal service was wonderful from the amazing food to the personally drawn family portrait which was presented to us on our last day.Oh and tea and coffee and chocolate in our room. On our last night the staff treated us to a meal under the night stars complete with hurricaine lamps - just perfect!
Highly reccomended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Our family of 6 had one of the big villas. It was very spacious and had absolutely delicious food. The staff were all very helpful and we absolutely loved our time there. Excellent place for exploring Sigirya, Dambulla etc.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilntravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anohioresident
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Wild Grass is truly an amazing experience ! Although we had seen pictures and heard about it from others , it was still hard to imagine until we experienced it for ourselves. The location is absolutely breath taking and very convenient for visiting other places of interest in that area. Wild Grass is a real paradise for nature lovers as you are literally living in the jungle and as close to the natural habitat as possible ,but of course with all the comforts to have a relaxed holiday . For the rest of us, it was a wonderful get away from the hustle and bustle of daily life and the peaceful and serene atmosphere is very conducive for a spiritual experience.
We used 2 of the "villas" for our family and each "villa' is uniquely and creatively designed, making the most of the beautiful natural surroundings.
The food was excellent and we enjoyed delicious Sri Lankan and western dishes. We all felt that the staff were really the best and treated us like royalty.......so helpful, courteous and friendly. We wish we could have stayed longer than 3 days and even our teenage daughters did not want to leave!!
Wild Grass was not just a vacation resort but a wonderful experience of a lifetime !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anohioresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Spent 3 nights in June with family. The resort comprises of a central area were meals are served and individual chalets. We had 2 chalets. The chalets are a short walk to the main area and the pool. Our chalets were just amazing. Huge glass windows with wonderful views into the jungle and the lake. The showers are great -in an enclosed space but without a roof. The chalets are incredibly peaceful and secluded.
The food especially the Sri Lankan lunches were fantastic- i'm veggie and it was lovely.
The service was really wonderful -attentive and kind and genuinely warm and hospitable- the manager was amazing and couldn't do enough for us. We saw loads of birds, butterflies and iquanas.
Pros
Beautiful / secluded/ amazing food/ Brilliant base for Sigiriya, Dambulla
Cons
Not cheap but pretty good value/ Not really for partying - didn't really see any other guests
Pool heavily chlorinated -wish i had taken my googles
Don't miss
Amazing walk onto the volcanic rock and gives you amazing views of the hotel and surrounding
Mountain bike trail to a hidden ancient site in the forest- a real highlight for me

Overall a brilliant experience - would definitely go again. Missing the food!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raventreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
5.5 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
6.4 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Grass Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Grass Nature Resort

Property: Wild Grass Nature Resort
Address: Dunnubindunu Wewa, Govigammana Main Rd | Kumbukkadanwala, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Grass Nature Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of an enchanting forest, amongst the whispers of trees and magical birdsong, there exists a slice of paradise. Surrounded by jungles, a lake and the Kandalama hills, Wild Grass is a welcoming eco-retreat located in the Cultural Triangle between Sigiriya and Dambulla. Wild Grass is set amidst 30 acres of unfenced forestland that is frequently visited by rabbits, deer, wild boar, monkeys and over 40 species of birds as well as the occasional wild elephant. It is the ideal location for nature lovers, whether families with children, couples or honeymooners, who wish to enjoy their holiday disturbed only by the sounds of nature, while enjoying the ancient history and marvels of the cultural triangle. A strict nature conservation philosophy is followed here and much is being done to preserve the natural eco-system. Organic farming methods are used to cultivate fruit and vegetables for the resort's own use with the balance requirements purchased from the adjoining village. The unique feature of Wild Grass remains its exceptional natural beauty and absolute solitude afforded to the traveler seeking a perfect rest. Intimate and secluded, the resort limits itself to just 8 villas in the entire property, adequately spaced out to make privacy the ultimate luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wild Grass Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Grass Nature Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing