We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lion Rock Hotel
Ranked #21 of 112 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Lovely Hotel and grounds and great location near Sigiriya Rock , big rooms & well equipt Management and Staff are great
all you need for a base to get around the area will be staying there again when i return in October

Room Tip: They are all the same large and of good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_fielding121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 179 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

One night's stay in this resort set inside what was once a farm or an orchard was sufficient to make us fall in love with this place. Clean rooms and toilets. Good quality linen and nice furniture. The estate is a great place to watch birds. I found at least 20 different species right inside the campus. I have very nice images of Asian Paradise Flycatcher, White-browed Fantail Flycatcher and Iora!
Food is great and the dining area has free Wifi.
Overall very pleasant stay close to the Sigiriya Fort!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floors have the view of the Lion Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koshy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Food is a good, staff is friendly, you have WiFi at the restaurant. The hotel is surrounded by trees and vegetation, on an alley away from the road, so it will be quite enough to rest very well. But:
1. once it gets dark, dark will be in the room also. Pour lights.
2. Shower half broker. Generally the bathroom would need renovation, or at least the broken things fixed.
3. Sheets were a bit torn, but clean.

If you need a base for surrounding trips (Sigiriya rock), this might be what you are looking for.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank r000bert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent 2 nights in this hotel. I don't know price for this hotel, as room was booked by our tour-guide. Rooms and restaurant should be cleaner. Food in restaurant is average, very average. If you will decide to book room in this hotel, please check first if everything works. Our shower was half broken. We found this problem after we unpacked our luggage. As we stay her only for 2 nights we decide not change rooms.

Maybe this review is unfair, as I as said we don't know this htl prices, but I hope this review will ring a bells in your head :)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Seba_Poland2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here our first night of our 10 day trip to Sri Lanka. Out of the 7 hotels we stayed at this was one of our favorites. This is nice low key quiet hotel nestled inside a large amount of trees. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had arrived that day at 4am and then did several tourist things prior to driving out here, so when we arrived we were exhausted. The staff brought up our luggage for us and had lunch ready for us within an hour of being there. The rooms were comfortable and big. If you are looking for a normal hotel however, TV with satellite then this isn't where you want to stay. There was no TV even in the room, this is perfect for a nice quiet getaway where you can sit under there covered restaurant area kick back have some good curry and beer to take the edge of from a day of adventure. The breakfast provided was delicious, it consisted of an omelet with fresh fruit, bread and jam, juice, and your choice of coffee or tea.

It is close to Lion Rock and you can also see Lion Rock from any of the second floor rooms. If you're lucky like us you may be greeted in the morning by a few monkeys playing. We loved it here and wish we were in the area for more then just one night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNMTravelers714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you are looking for The Hilton - this isn't for you.
If you are looking for a hotel with friendly staff , good clean rooms in a jungle like setting at a great price - then this is the place for you!

This hotel is in a very peaceful setting. Close to Sigiriya Rock. Excellent! Hello Denish.

Bill and Roger

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Large basic rooms with mosquito nets, large comfy double bed, good shower, strong water pressure and plenty of hot water. Ask for one of the first floor rooms if possible - the rooms have nice balconies so you can watch the monkeys in the trees. Quiet at night but a good place to relax. The restaurant has a good menu with all the staples you'd expect and generous helpings of curry and rice. Breakfast was one of the best on the trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boq_ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#14 of 20 in Sigiriya
275 reviews
0 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,532 reviews
0 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,668 reviews
0 mi away
Kassapa Lions Rock
Kassapa Lions Rock
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,101 reviews
0 mi away
Cassandra Culture Resort
Cassandra Culture Resort
#11 of 112 in Sigiriya
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Rock Hotel

Address: 183 Thalkote Road | Ehelagala, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Price Range: $33 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lion Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing