We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is a good, staff is friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sigiriya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lion Rock Hotel
Ranked #30 of 91 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food is a good, staff is friendly”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Food is a good, staff is friendly, you have WiFi at the restaurant. The hotel is surrounded by trees and vegetation, on an alley away from the road, so it will be quite enough to rest very well. But:
1. once it gets dark, dark will be in the room also. Pour lights.
2. Shower half broker. Generally the bathroom would need renovation, or at least the broken things fixed.
3. Sheets were a bit torn, but clean.

If you need a base for surrounding trips (Sigiriya rock), this might be what you are looking for.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank r000bert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    54
    38
    15
    7
See reviews for
24
84
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in this hotel. I don't know price for this hotel, as room was booked by our tour-guide. Rooms and restaurant should be cleaner. Food in restaurant is average, very average. If you will decide to book room in this hotel, please check first if everything works. Our shower was half broken. We found this problem after we unpacked our luggage. As we stay her only for 2 nights we decide not change rooms.

Maybe this review is unfair, as I as said we don't know this htl prices, but I hope this review will ring a bells in your head :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seba_Poland2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here our first night of our 10 day trip to Sri Lanka. Out of the 7 hotels we stayed at this was one of our favorites. This is nice low key quiet hotel nestled inside a large amount of trees. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had arrived that day at 4am and then did several tourist things prior to driving out here, so when we arrived we were exhausted. The staff brought up our luggage for us and had lunch ready for us within an hour of being there. The rooms were comfortable and big. If you are looking for a normal hotel however, TV with satellite then this isn't where you want to stay. There was no TV even in the room, this is perfect for a nice quiet getaway where you can sit under there covered restaurant area kick back have some good curry and beer to take the edge of from a day of adventure. The breakfast provided was delicious, it consisted of an omelet with fresh fruit, bread and jam, juice, and your choice of coffee or tea.

It is close to Lion Rock and you can also see Lion Rock from any of the second floor rooms. If you're lucky like us you may be greeted in the morning by a few monkeys playing. We loved it here and wish we were in the area for more then just one night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNMTravelers714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you are looking for The Hilton - this isn't for you.
If you are looking for a hotel with friendly staff , good clean rooms in a jungle like setting at a great price - then this is the place for you!

This hotel is in a very peaceful setting. Close to Sigiriya Rock. Excellent! Hello Denish.

Bill and Roger

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Large basic rooms with mosquito nets, large comfy double bed, good shower, strong water pressure and plenty of hot water. Ask for one of the first floor rooms if possible - the rooms have nice balconies so you can watch the monkeys in the trees. Quiet at night but a good place to relax. The restaurant has a good menu with all the staples you'd expect and generous helpings of curry and rice. Breakfast was one of the best on the trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boq_ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware ,Herts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

we spent 2 nights in lion rock had fantastic time and amazing service from the staff.
Would recommended staying here if you are visiting the rock.
You can see the rock from here and close enough to go visit it easily.
food was great and rooms are good look forward to coming back. The most amazing driver/guide /friend we have made Rohan is the best if you can get to have him as a guide make sure you do.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acechris34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights here in November. We arrived after dark and were give a room on the ground floor which had been left open. This and the fact it is in a jungle type area meant that there were a lot of bugs which came in which was a bit disappointing.

The rooms are a good size, and the fan keeps you cool, no need for AC. A little run down, the rooms are quite dark despite the bright green paint. Hot water didn't work either.

Staff here were very friendly though and the food we ate was fantastic. A good base for day trip visits, but could do Irish sprucing the rooms up a little.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.0 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kassapa Lions Rock
Kassapa Lions Rock
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sigiri Queens Rest Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Hideout Sigiriya
The Hideout Sigiriya
#13 of 91 in Sigiriya
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Rock Hotel

Property: The Lion Rock Hotel
Address: 183 Thalkote Road | Ehelagala, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing