We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic rooms, good base for Sigiriya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lion Rock Hotel
Ranked #20 of 101 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Large basic rooms with mosquito nets, large comfy double bed, good shower, strong water pressure and plenty of hot water. Ask for one of the first floor rooms if possible - the rooms have nice balconies so you can watch the monkeys in the trees. Quiet at night but a good place to relax. The restaurant has a good menu with all the staples you'd expect and generous helpings of curry and rice. Breakfast was one of the best on the trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boq_ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for The Lion Rock Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 175 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

we spent 2 nights in lion rock had fantastic time and amazing service from the staff.
Would recommended staying here if you are visiting the rock.
You can see the rock from here and close enough to go visit it easily.
food was great and rooms are good look forward to coming back. The most amazing driver/guide /friend we have made Rohan is the best if you can get to have him as a guide make sure you do.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acechris34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights here in November. We arrived after dark and were give a room on the ground floor which had been left open. This and the fact it is in a jungle type area meant that there were a lot of bugs which came in which was a bit disappointing.

The rooms are a good size, and the fan keeps you cool, no need for AC. A little run down, the rooms are quite dark despite the bright green paint. Hot water didn't work either.

Staff here were very friendly though and the food we ate was fantastic. A good base for day trip visits, but could do Irish sprucing the rooms up a little.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as we had to visit Polonaruwa and Sigiriya. We had a big green room with a matrimonial bed and a single one. The rooms are clean and the bathroom also. You also have good wifi that works better out of the room.
The food was great and they have reasonable prices! The hotel is in the middle of the nature so you have a big garden. We also had AC but we didn't use it because it was not that hot in the room! Overall, nice place and nice staff!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Vera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a little slice of heaven. Cool rooms, big comfy beds, nice clean bathroom and fantastic accommodating owner. He sorted out our elephant ride at a very good rate and sorted out his brother who is a tuktuk driver to take us around for the day. would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieJesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely place to stay. The location is amazing, the staff were friendly, food was tasty and it's close to sigiria.

The problems were small, but numerous. Our double room was just two beds pushed together (with separate mosquito nets, not great when you're on a honeymoon!) . The water didn't work for the first two hours of our arrival, and the big shower didn't work at all. You had to pay for WiFi, and there was no kettle in the room (so we couldn't boil drinking water or make ourselves tea).

But still a lovely place to be, if they sorted out those few issues it would be amazing!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PaulCmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place is set on acreage, quiet, peaceful and charming.lots of birds and animal noises which adds to the jungle experience.
Really comfortable rooms, a/c and non, optional.
Fabulous views of Lion Rock from our balcony through the tree canopy.
Very helpful and friendly staff, attending to all our requirements.
The food in their restaurant was as good as we have found around Sri Lanka. Very good curries. A reasonable breakfast, nice plate of fresh tropical fruit. Eggs& toast, and tea coffee.
Friendly attentive staff. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Upstairs for views and cool breezes. All rooms face the Rock.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammyholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.0 mi away
Kassapa Lions Rock
Kassapa Lions Rock
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,070 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,063 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eden Garden Hotel
Eden Garden Hotel
#17 of 20 in Sigiriya
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#13 of 20 in Sigiriya
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Rock Hotel

Address: 183 Thalkote Road | Ehelagala, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Price Range: $44 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lion Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing