We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right next to Sigiriya rock in Lion Rock Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lion Rock Hotel
Ranked #21 of 115 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the Lion Rock Hotel by accident, our driver who did not speak a word of English (but still all smiles and friendly) dropped us here instead of the different hotel the tour operator had recommended to us. A nice accident, as the luscious trees and green are welcoming you when you walk in. Clean spacious rooms and a short walk through the rice fields away from Sigiriya rock. We ate one of the best curries during our holiday here, even though the dining atmosphere was not too romantic with their tl lights and plastic Christmas tree. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0viegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 184 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel was organized by our tour operator, so we really had no idea what to expect. The hotel turned out to be much nicer than we originally thought! You can read about the full experience on my blog: www.daviddeclercq.com

Here's a quick rundown:

Pros:
Rooms: Large and quite clean. They have a mosquito net to help guard against nasty bites. The bathroom was quite basic with a warm water shower.

Service: The staff were friendly and helpful, including giving us an adapter so we could charge our phones.

Location: Great if you are visiting Sigiriya. It's only a short drive away.

Restaurant: The food was really authentic and freshly made. They even served us very late when we arrived and even came to our room to take the order. Breakfast that came with the room cost was basic, but still filling enough to start the day.

Cons:
Eco-tourism: (Possible con) This is more of a B&B than hotel despite the name. Be ready for encounters with insects and the dogs/cows roaming the property.

Pricing: A bit pricey for what we got, but with a last minute booking, I can't complain too much.

Enjoy the trip!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Lion Rock Hotel and we really enjoyed our time there. i have to known about a new managment.The room was very clean (even smelled clean) and spacious, painted in a bright green color. The staff was very friendly and always helpful.The food was good and freshly prepared. If I will ever go to Sigiriya again, I will definitley stay.

Room Tip: rooms on upstayas are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maniktours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Some of the earlier reviews have no relation to the hotel we stayed in. Thoroughly enjoyed. All the staff were really helpful. Wide selection of food on the menu, Wi-Fi. Rooms were great with running hot water. Owner was helpful and gave us info on where to go and even an umbrella when it was raining. Also this hotel is close(10 min by tuc tuc) to sigriya lion rock. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephendxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I arrived at Lions Rock hotel with a rather sick friend in tow, the staff immediately attended to her needs & before she realised she was in a peaceful state of sleep. The rooms are super clean with luxuary mattresses and newly fitted bathrooms. My friend had to fly back home early but even as a solo traveller I decided to come back to this peaceful haven for another 2 nights. I stayed in a fan room which has high ceilings, high speed working fan & even hot water solar powered. Yes these guys are very eco friendly the owner will grow all his own vegetables in season, unfortunately the long dry spell in sri lanka has not allowed this venture to happen yet.

The rates are very reasonable, the staff service is great and the food is amazing. You can walk to the rock its just over 1km. The garden is full of birds & even an elephant has been spotted at dawn. This is the perfect place to kick back with a book and just relax, trips can be organised for Polonaruwa, Dambulla, elephant safari as well as arveuydic massage which the area is well known for.

The guest house was refurbed about 2 months ago.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AquaandFernandosbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Lion Rock Hotel and we really enjoyed our time there.
The room was very clean (even smelled clean) and spacious, painted in a bright green color.
The staff was very friendly and always helpful.The food was good and freshly prepared.
If I will ever go to Sigiriya again, I will definitley stay at the Lion Rock Hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsPink33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at 43$ per night. The rooms are big and have a view of the rock which is awesome, but the bathroom is damp and i had a frog come visit me while showering! There is a mousquito net which is helpful. The service is excellent, the food is nice and it is filled with travellers which is nice ti chat with

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miramarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#13 of 21 in Sigiriya
281 reviews
0 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 21 in Sigiriya
589 reviews
0 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#11 of 21 in Sigiriya
118 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
0 mi away
Kassapa Lions Rock
Kassapa Lions Rock
#7 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Rock Hotel

Address: 183 Thalkote Road | Ehelagala, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Price Range: $38 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lion Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing