We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flower inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sigiriya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flower inn
Ranked #33 of 88 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Basic, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed there 2 nights, it was fine. Rooms are quite spacious with big old beds (we recommend to you use your own sleeping bag), mirror, plastic chairs and bathroom - only cold water, very poor look, the shower is a pipe sticking out of the wall). It is very basic accomodation, 1500 R/night, ok for 1 - 2 nights. The location is very good, few minutes walk from the entrance to Sigiriya ancient city and few steps to small grocery shops, mini restaurant and internet cafe. They have a small kitchen, the food is good and cheap. Don`t forget to close the door to your room, there`s a lot dogs and cats. Owners are very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PragueDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    49
    44
    17
    4
See reviews for
10
67
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Britain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We loved the Flower Inn, recognising this is budget accommodation.

The rooms are basic, but spotlessly clean. The beds were comfortable and the food amazing. The beds have full, good mosquito nets. Preeti, the manager was superb.

There are an array of cats and fireflies whilst we were there, which we found charming.

There is no hot water or air-conditioning, but there were private bathrooms and fans. You can hear your fellow guests, so if you are bothered by another's snores, then maybe not for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harobed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Situated in a garden, few metres far from the main route (its really important for good sleep), quiet. Their plastic flowers and cuddly toys made us smile. Food was excelent. Even it was vegetarian only, we loved everything. They prepared 2 lines of the same dishes, one was hot version. . Nice walk to Sigiriya rock.

Room Tip: Be sure to confirm your dinner 2 hours before it is served (around 5 PM)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Yes lots of plastic flowers everywhere! Friendly staff and nice food. Great location you can easily walk to the rock.

Room Tip: Take lots of mosquito repellant not sure mosquito nets are that effective
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegemightyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Its a friendly little guesthouse with a ideal location to visit the Segiriya rock. We slept in the separate house across the garden, they also have a few rooms in the main house. The rooms are very basic with odd decorations. Because it's close to the jungle you get all the wildlife for free (inside and outside the room). They provide mosquitos, cold water only.
The bathrooms and common area are pretty rundown. But you get what you pay for.
The owner are very friendly and serve a good dinner with different curries and rice. Breakfast is also available.
It's very convenient located in walking distance to the rock. The local bus stops just in front of the door.
All in all I can recommend this guesthouse, especially because you won't have much choice in Segiriya.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linepost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
803 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

This a really cosy place surrounded by a lovely garden garden. The place is quiet and the food is excellent and we had the chance every night to chat with other travelers. It is close to bus service and to the historical site. They have a good deal of information and you can do day trip to other sites as well. Like all the places in Sri Lanka, the price (1500 rupees here) according to all guide book is sometime double.
The rooms are a good size but need a little of maintenance, specially for the dust and webs...and some forget ted things under the bed. But the principal downside is that the room is to hot and makes your sleeping hard. But take a chance...it could change and it is a recommendable place to stay

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

we stayed here just as a rest after our hike of the lion rock. the owner was so rude to us. We are indians from australia but she just had this impression that we looked like locals and didnt want her accomodation to be tarnished by this image. there were other french guests there at the same time that were gettin much better service than us. The rooms however were huge which was really nice. Another thing that happened to us is that there was a local that promised us a night safari. which we so stupidly agree to as a group of 5. in the end he took us through the villages and showed us birds

Room Tip: watch out for ppl selling you night safaris
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank melaustra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sigiriya hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Madawa Rest Sigiriya
#17 of 20 in Sigiriya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakmini Lodge
Lakmini Lodge
#2 of 77 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sigiri Queens Rest Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lal Homestay
Lal Homestay
#1 of 88 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalum Homestay
Kalum Homestay
#35 of 88 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hideout Sigiriya
The Hideout Sigiriya
#8 of 88 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower inn

Property: Flower inn
Address: Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Flower Inn Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing