We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thick Forest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thick Forest
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

There are 4 wooden chalets with in the jungle.Each room has a nice view of the Sigiriya rock. Good for people who would like adventure, wild life etc. Complementary Breakfast is provided. Dinner is provided upon request.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonForestlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I booked this as a surprise for our 2 boys. They stayed in their own tree house and they highly raved about the experience. They had a big lizard in their room which they found very exciting and I heard them talking long after the sun had set.

The tree houses have proper windows so are not open to the elements. This is great when it's raining but don't expect to be completely in the open elements! The town is around 2 km away and the cook was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast room (also in a tree) is another truly spectacular venue.

My top tip is not to bring anything edible (even if unopened) as we awoke in the middle of the night by a rustling noise which turned out to be a small rat interested in our biscuits (our own fault :o)

The room could benefit from a square mosquito net thought as the round ones are not easy to sleep under. All in all it was a nice and different accommodation experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in No. 12 which had a view of Sigiriya Rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groovybaby18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Great place removed from the city. Excellent food, lovely tree houses and amazing staff.

We stayed there for our first 3 nights in Sri Lanka and driver pick up us at the airport. A nice way to start our vacation.

If you are looking for a driver ask for Tissa, he is definitely the highlight of our trip.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank genguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed just one night on a solo trip and really enjoyed it. Staff was very friendly and helpful and made last minute arrangements for my driver to stay there, which I really appreciated.

The room was an experience! Up a steep, narrow wobbly flight of stairs to literally a tree house in the sky. Room had a rustic, cabin-y feel but was spacious and had a nice little balcony. Careful to keep your key on you. I was on the balcony in the morning trying to see the rock when a gust of wind blew the door closed and locked me out. Thankfully one of the staff was up making breakfast and let me back in.

The bathroom wasn't particularly clean and with the hot water on, the pressure was barely a dribble. But the real issue for me was the ants. Giant, scary red and black jungle ants that seemed to like to hang out on the toilet. So every time I went to use the restroom I had to do a full ant-check before sitting down for fear of bites!

The bed was a foam square with tiny pillows and a mosquito net that didn't quite fit over the bed. And when the wind blew the whole building swayed, but it all added to the effect. Loved sleeping to the sound of wind through the trees.

Best part was the breakfast! Homemade coconut rotty, fresh fruit and a fried onion dish that was incredible! Breakfast was served up a flight of stairs, again in the trees.

Overall, I enjoyed the place and the experience. I personally wouldn't come with small children as I'd be worried about them falling or getting bit by something, but there was another family there at the same time and they seemed ok.

Room Tip: Seemed like some units were higher than others. If traveling with kids, you might want to request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingWeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

A good rustic experience with friendly staff and a good meal. Room was a bit overpriced given that it is full of bugs and the only sanctuary was the undersized bug netting above the bed. Good place to stay if you like being out in nature and enjoy the chance to see wildlife. We had a group of monkeys travel through camp which was fun to watch.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Cannot recommend this accommodation enough.
Just the best and only way to visit this area.
Great staff. Delicious food with constant offers of more.
A wonderful place to stay. Have the most surreal shower looking at Sigirya! Wake up with the birds and eat surrounded by geckos and nature.
Considering the rustic nature of these treehouses I would have expected more creepy crawlies but all we had for company were geckos who very much kept themselves to themselves!
Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: book through agoda as this brings the price down considerably. Ask for the treehouse on the left as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was an amazing experience to sleep in a tree house whit great views to the Sigiriya rock.
The service was great and the food provided was really tasty.
Wake up listening the birds and the noises from the nature was a most...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
1.2 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#13 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sigiri Queens Rest Guest House
0.4 mi away
Sigiriya Forest View
Sigiriya Forest View
#31 of 88 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Back of Beyond - Pidurangala
1.5 mi away
Sinhagiri Villa
Sinhagiri Villa
#17 of 78 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Hideout Sigiriya
The Hideout Sigiriya
#9 of 88 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thick Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thick Forest

Property: Thick Forest
Address: Pidurangala | Sigiriya, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thick Forest Sigiriya is a unique tree house hotel over looking the eighth wonder of the world, sigiriya rock castle, in Sri Lanka. It is situated at the centre of three, mostly visited ancient cities, Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa & kandy.Minneriya & Kawudulla National parks are renowned as the best places to observe the wild elephants in their natural habitat, and it's a few minute drive from 'Thick Forest'. Wild Safaris, Bird watching, Elephant rides,Guided tour to Sigiriya Rock Castle and surrounding archaeologically important places are among many other activities which can be arranged to suit the need of the visitor.Sri Lankan cuisine made by our chef is served at the roof-top restaurant overlooking the Sigiriya rock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thick Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thick Forest Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing