We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple accomodation with friendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thick Forest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thick Forest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple accomodation with friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Overall a okey place to stay at, actually enjoyed it as you live in small treehouses above the ground.

Positive:
* Friendly staff
* Good food and dining area
* Pretty close to Lion's rock (but still need to take a cab)

Negative
* Low water pressure in the shower
* The sheets and the mosquitonet smelled damp
* A few bugs were able to make it into the room, but not a big problem (not so many)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niklas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in late December. These "tree houses" rise from the forest floor and into the canopy for excellent views of Sigiriya. Must be able to climb step and narrow stairs to get to the room. It is, to save the least, quite a unique place. This back to nature approach does have a negative side. As the tree houses are made from non-caulked wood siding, we shared the room with all types of guests including lizards, frogs, and numerous bugs. It comes equipped with a mosquito net and that helps with flying bugs while sleeping but having this many bugs around me as I tried to sleep wasn't relaxing.

The guesthouse is hard to find. The staff is friendly. The breakfast of fruit, juice, roti and jam is adequate. The price of $78 was way too expensive for this experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VagabondTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was our first stop in Sri Lanka. We were expecting a lot from this hotel but were a bit disappointed initially. The place is difficult to find, our driver was a bit worried abt wild elephants coming onto the road while we were driving there. Was extremely dissapointed when we got there-The room was very small,we were the only guests there, the reception area was non existent,kitchen was a open room with very ver basic amenities. We felt a bit unsafe. To top it all,there were at least 6 lizards in our room and bathroom- on the light,on the doors etc. overall, the place is nice in the morning.yo can seethe sigriya rock from the treehouses. Ok for a little adventure. Definitely not value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

the man who runs the hotel and cooks was lovely and the food was wonderful. menu for dinner and breakfast changed daily with a good variety. couldnt help but feel a little unsafe however as the tree houses look a bit dodgy and were a bit shaky.power went out a few times. we were advised not to walk to far in case of wild elephants. you would think being so isolated you would sleep well but kept waking up when things fell on the roof from overhead trees. only drivers quarters for one person so our guide and driver had to stay elsewhere. no parking for vans or room to turn around so was a bit tricky for them to get in and out. they felt like were overcharged and shouldnt have paid anymore than $50 a night for the standard of the accommodation. although we enjoyed our stay, 3 nights was too much and were looking forward to staying in normal accommodation

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our stay at Thick Forest was awesome. We arrived when it was quite dark out so couldn't see much coming up. We were greeted by the staff who immediately took our bags and headed off into the darkness. We had a lovely treehouse that was quite a way up in the air. It was so lovely! We had a gorgeous sunrise view of Sigiriya rock in the morning. There was a lovely little balcony with chairs where we relaxed in the evening to catch up on reading, journalling and reliving the events of the day. The cabin was super clean and well appointed. The bathroom had good water pressure and had an electric water heater to provide ample hot water. The bathroom itself is open at the top, so no privacy for sound but we made do with it. The stairs going up the cabin were a bit widely spaced - definitely wider apart than in North America, so we opted to let the staff cart our baggage to and fro.

The restaurant is also located in a treehouse. The service was super attentive. We enjoyed the evening, watching the geckos and bats. The food itself was fantastic. We had an excellent rice and curry in the evening, and a traditional roti and curry for breakfast. It was the only chance we had for a traditional breakfast all trip (everyone else told us that they couldn't do it, even though our driver had it every morning!). The food was delicious I will say.

I'd recommend a flashlight or headlamp for roaming the grounds in the dark. We had a lovely stay, and I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a unique accommodation experience. It was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived fairly late after a day of climbing Sigiriya, then going to Kaudulla National Park to witness "The Gathering", both spectacular, and must dos when visiting Sri Lanka.

We were pretty tried and hungry and our host went to work in the little kitchen cooking up a storm. It was the best authentic meal I had in Sri Lanka and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Breakfast was equally as good. Meals are served in an upstairs open dining area.

The little treehouse was lovely, homely and clean, with a little verandah out the front where you can sit and watch the world go by.

The staff are friendly and attentive without being overbearing.

I thought the accommodation may have been a tad expensive, considering we stayed in a beach cabana which was similar in size and construction (except for the stilts!) for about half the price.

In saying that, I would stay again as it was a great place to stay, unique experience with excellent food!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mynameisrilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Worth the experience for one night. Place is definitely in the jungle, no neighbours next door so you can't walk anywhere and if the security light was turned off at night then the only light source would be from the moon! Stayed in the tree house which had a proper ensuite wetroom bathroom with electric shower. Thankfully there was a mosquito net above the bed and it's worth untying it and tucking it under the mattress early to stop things getting into your bed. Even so, small bugs will be blown in through the gaps in the ceiling/walls/grated windows and creep through the gaps in the net, so if you're squeamish about insects then I wouldn't recommend staying here. Staff were really friendly and dinner was served in a nice open upstairs restaurant, food was fine. They do not serve alcohol so if you want to drink you'll have to get transport to the local off licence or buy your own in advance. There's not much to do in the evenings but the treehouse has a small balcony you can sit on and take in the scenery, you should not have the balcony light on though as this will attract unpleasant insects. Obviously the sound of nature may keep you up a bit at night and you do feel the tree swaying in the breeze, but that's all part of the experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScouseOriental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.5 mi away
Sigiri Queens Rest Guest House
0.4 mi away
Sigiriya Forest View
Sigiriya Forest View
#30 of 88 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Back of Beyond - Pidurangala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Hideout Sigiriya
The Hideout Sigiriya
#8 of 88 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sinhagiri Villa
Sinhagiri Villa
#16 of 77 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn On The Tree
Inn On The Tree
#8 of 77 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thick Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thick Forest

Property: Thick Forest
Address: Pidurangala | Sigiriya, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thick Forest Sigiriya is a unique tree house hotel over looking the eighth wonder of the world, sigiriya rock castle, in Sri Lanka. It is situated at the centre of three, mostly visited ancient cities, Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa & kandy.Minneriya & Kawudulla National parks are renowned as the best places to observe the wild elephants in their natural habitat, and it's a few minute drive from 'Thick Forest'. Wild Safaris, Bird watching, Elephant rides,Guided tour to Sigiriya Rock Castle and surrounding archaeologically important places are among many other activities which can be arranged to suit the need of the visitor.Sri Lankan cuisine made by our chef is served at the roof-top restaurant overlooking the Sigiriya rock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thick Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thick Forest Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing