We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveler rating
417
43
8
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
417
43
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool deluxe villa bluetooth speaker sri lanka lion rock sitting room half board cultural triangle buggy service living area large bedroom access road luxury hotel individual villas clear view three nights every evening
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 471 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

A truly exceptional way to start our honeymoon in Sri Lanka. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was delicious and portion size was good.
The surroundings are beautiful with a great view to the rock at Sigiriya.
Would highly recommend this as a place to indulge yourself!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suraj_Perera, General Manager at Water Garden Sigiriya, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2019

Dear Ian B,
Thank you for your splendid review. Thanks for selecting our Hotel as your first stop during your Sri Lankan Honeymoon. Grateful for your generous comments on the cuisine. Best wishes to both of you for the rest of your travels in Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

This place was incredible! The water gardens were beautiful and so well maintained. Breakfast was our favorite meal with outstanding views of Sigiriya Rock in the background. Great hotel choice for a luxurious vacation.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Vanevaldes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suraj_Perera, General Manager at Water Garden Sigiriya, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

Dear Vanevaldes,
Thank you for the recent review after your Sri Lankan Honeymoon. We are now becoming a popular destination for Honeymoons and your generous comments are bound to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019

After a long ride from Colombo to Sigiriya, 2 doors open and you enter paradise...yes, it´s a peaceful hotel, beautiful views, so private, each cottage with their own private pool and terrace, a very big salon with a 2 chair table por room service...a full offer of coffee, teas. The frigobar does not have variety, but it´s correct. The bedroom, that is paradise a very comfortable bed, with many pillows the room is big enough to be comfortable, beautiful windows that offer a 180 view. The bathroom has a beautiful tub with candles and all the vanities items you could possible desire. A spanish shower....what can i say....yes come to this hotel. 100% recommended. The staff has always a smile and ready for anything that you need. Hope I will come back someday and enjoy more days in here.

Room tip: best views from every single place in the hotel... so so peaceful
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Silvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suraj_Perera, General Manager at Water Garden Sigiriya, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

Dear Silvia G,
What a super headline. "PARADISE IN SIGIRIYA" That says it all.
Thank you for the great description of our hotel and for the definite recommendation to fellow travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

We are two nights into our stay at this amazing hotel which is the best hotel we have ever had the pleasure to stay in. Every aspect of our stay so far has been beyond our expectations. We have a stunning villa that looks across fields directly onto magnificent Sigiriya rock with our own plunge pool to cool off in. The villas are well spread out over the beautiful grounds and the only noises are from birds, water and plants swaying in the breeze. The villas are very generous and luxurious with a large bedroom, lounge, bathroom and dressing area. Little edible treats appear each day and towels shaped into cute elephants or peacocks! Thank you to the staff who have kept our room so clean and comfortable for us.
We have enjoyed walking in the grounds as there is do much wildlife to see...seen lots of king fishers, egrets, ibis, storks and eagles plus stunning butterflies and dragonflies.

We have come here on a half board basis and have been amazed by the quality of the good and service. All the staff have been brilliant but we have been really impressed by our lovely waiter Uditah who has taken such care of us. The whole staff though are brilliant for example on our first evening we were shown to s table by the pool set with flowers for my husband's birthday the day before we arrived. They also made him s delicious cake with candles.

Half board included a set menu with a choice of two starters, three mains anf three or four desserts. You are also served soup and a sorbet palate cleanser. The tamarind one is gorgeous. If you want you can order a main course from an extensive Sri Lankan menu too. After our first delicious meal we really looked forward to the next and were not disappointed. Really high quality dishes prepared with skill and care and presented beautifully. Breakfast is served from 6:30-12 and is perfect too . We have not needed lunch we other day.

As everywhere we have stayed in Sri Lanka so far, bookings are well down with only a few rooms occupied since the Easter bombings. I can honestly say we have felt totally safe and are already planning a return trip to this lovely country with such wonderful and welcoming people.

Staying at this hotel has so far been like a dream and I would recommend it to anyone. A great base for Sigiriya, Dambulla and safaris but also a wonderful, calm and beautiful place to stay. I don't want to leave!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank catherineY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suraj_Perera, General Manager at Water Garden Sigiriya, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

Dear CatherineY,
A very big Thank you for your wonderfully detailed review of our Hotel. We are happy that you have described our resort well for the benefit of fellow travellers.
We are happy that the Kingfishers, Egrets, ibis, Storks and eagles made their appearance for you. Very soon the migratory birds will also be available in our grounds as they always do during the onset of winter.
Thank you for the individual compliment paid to Udith. He will no doubt be greatly encouraged.
We greatly appreciate that you have reassured future travellers about the safety and security prevalent in Sri Lanka.
Once again our heartfelt thanks for your generous feedback about our hotel and its services. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Family Villa just "the top" Food excellent. In the Middle of nowher with an exceptional view in front of "Le Rocher du Lion". All the employees are at your service to make your stay perfect. We styed 3 nights and it was really a fantastic time

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 843cyrilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suraj_Perera, General Manager at Water Garden Sigiriya, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Dear 843Cyrilk,
Thank you ever so much for your bold headline "Best Hotel in Sri Lanka" "Everything was perfect" On behalf of the whole team please accept our sincere thanks for your kind appreciation of our services. We are greatly encouraged by your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews