We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,502)
Filter reviews
1,502 results
Traveler rating
606
673
155
35
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
606
673
155
35
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka open shower shower area cultural triangle swimming pool stayed here for two nights breakfast and dinner large bathroom nice pool half board restaurant staff curries elephant safari visiting sigiriya lions wifi rock
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 1,502 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

Whilst the setting of this hotel is lovely we encountered nothing but problems. On arrival we were given no instructions or map on how to find our room (all separate buildings). Poor lighting and signage meant it took us ages to find our room. Jumped straight in the shower after a long day to find we had no hot water. We then crashed into bed to hear a dripping sound from the air con. It was dripping on to my friends suitcase so we moved it and put several towels underneath and it continued to drip noisily throughout the night. We reported the problems the following morning. The hot water worked at lunch time but not at dinner time when we most needed it so they came and fixed it again. The air con was not fixed at all and continued to drip. To top it off I, and several others in our group, came down with travelers diarrhoea. We had no opportunity to eat elsewhere so we got it at the hotel. This hotel has great potential but the maintenance issues leave a lot to be desired. Another couple in our group changed rooms 3 times! Pool is nice though there are 3 types of lounges, only one of which was comfortable. Wifi only available in some rooms (available in restaurant), had buffet dinner second night and wouldn’t recommend. The two meat dishes (beef stir fry and coq au vin) were chewy.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilan W, General Manager at Kassapa Lions Rock, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019


Dear Susan B

Thank you for taking your time to review us. all your comments are noted. we also would like to take this oppertunity to inform you any of our guest stayed at the hotel did not complain about travelers diarrhea during any time and also we did not receive any complaints from your group or the tour guide accompanied your group during your stay at the hotel we had over 125 guest staying with us at the same time. we take your other comments very constructively and thank you for patronizing us.

best regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

Visited with my family and couple of my friends and we all had an amazing time there, the view and the hotel site is simply refreshing and calming, the hotel rooms are very spacious and clean so you get more privacy to enjoy to your best, food is good, the staff is very friendly and helpful we had a great time!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank kanchanatg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilan W, General Manager at Kassapa Lions Rock, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019


Dear kanchanatg

Thank you for taking your valuable time to review us. All your comments are very highly appreciated and valuable to us. We are happy to know that you and your family with your friend enjoyed your stay with us. All of us at KASSAPA would like to take this oppertunity to thank you for patronizing us and hope to see you back with us in the future.

Best Regards.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and the experience was wonderful. The rooms are bungalows scattered throughout the Sigiriya bush. Once inside, your room is very spacious, clean, we had a kingsize bed, small table and 2 chairs, a fridge, a wardrobe and good air conditioning.
The bathroom was unique, very large with a bath, vanity and walk-in shower, however, the ceiling over the shower is open air covered by mosquito/fly netting, lucky for us it didn’t rain. But this makes a unique showering experience. You need to keep the bathroom door shut as there is no air con in this room - it can get hot.
The main restaurant and bar area are fun to be in, with a buffet breakfast similar to most Sri Lankan hotels, there is also a buffet dinner, but ask for a la carte. We had fish and meat curry with accompaniments and it cost us A$8 and we couldn’t eat it all. The cocktails are cheap as well.
The pool area is lovely and relaxing with fresh towels available each day.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Get up early to watch the sunrise over the rice paddy field next to reception.
A truely relaxing and enjoyable experience at this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilan W, General Manager at Kassapa Lions Rock, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019


Dear Rosalinonholiday

Thank you for taking your valuable time to do this wonderful review on us. All your comments are very highly appreciated, very valuable to us and very encoreging. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us at KASSAPA would like to take this oppertunity to thank you for patronizing us and hope to see you back with us in the future.

Best Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

Loved our stay here. Delightful people, amazing food, 2 pools and the best massage I’ve ever had. Great rooms with plenty of space to relax after a big day. Peaceful place to stay. Defiantly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 222kateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilan W, General Manager at Kassapa Lions Rock, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019


Dear 222kateh

Thank you for taking your valuable time to review us. All your comments are very highly appreciated and very valuable to us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us at KASSAPA would like to take this oppertunity to thank you for patronizing us and hope to see you back with us in the future.

Best Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

I’ve stayed around this area and none have come close to this value. There’s not much more one could ask for from a place.The resort itself is beautiful and tucked away from the main street so lovely and quiet.large bathroom and a large luxurious comfortable bed with fantastic pillows. Food is delicious and the staff is always there with a smile when you need their services.......

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svajiradias
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilan W, General Manager at Kassapa Lions Rock, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019


Dear svajiradias

Thank you for taking your valuable time to do this excellent review on us. All your comments are very highly appreciated, very valuable to us and very encoreging. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us at KASSAPA would like to take this oppertunity to thank you for patronizing us and hope to see you back with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews