We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kassapa Lions Rock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kassapa Lions Rock
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
soton uk
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was our second hotel,and was clean a little basic but good enough for our two night stay.
The staff were helpful,kept the room clean and the food was good.
The only hiccup was that we were half board and when you have your evening meal they charge you for the water and in my case for one extra bottle i never had.
When i mentioned this at check out they took the one bottle off but i thought they should mention this at the time with your meal

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sotbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    478
    86
    26
    17
See reviews for
257
433
43
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lummen, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel to relax in between visits. Very friendly staff, well organized, clean, tastefull food, quiet surroundings, nice pool to relax. Near to sigiriya where you can climb the lion's rock and the minneriya national park for a jeep safari.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

The 'hotel' - in reality a colllection of chalet bungalows - is somewhat off the beaten track and is very quiet and peaceful (bar the screeching of peacocks from time to time). The accommodation is spacious, simply furnished, but comfortable with a large bathroom/shower area, and your own little verandah to sit out on where you can watch the wildlife and birds come and go There is a pleasant swimming pool and you can see Lion's Rock from some vantage points although it takes half an hour or so to drive there. The restaurant food and service was good without hitting great heights. Overall, a reasonable choice of somewhere to stay in an area not blessed with a wide selection of accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimstone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here fir three nights (a couple and one single person) in February, and all agreed that out of all the hotels we stayed in (and there were many!), this was our favourite. The bungalows are nicely laid out within the well-kept grounds (each with its' own little patio area) and are kept beautifully clean. The welcome that we received from the staff was excellent and throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble for them. The management and all staff were professional, friendly, cheerful and courteous. The food, especially the evening buffet was again excellent with a huge selection of starters, mains and deserts. On one evening we had some local people cooking things like Hoppers and local dishes, it was all first class. The pool was kept very clean and a pool-boy was there until well into the evening (when it was nice to have a refreshing swim after a hot and tiring day). The setting of this hotel is beautiful and very peaceful, and has a magnificent view of Sigiriya Rock. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sri Lanka and it is a good base for visiting the ancient cities,the rock, elephant rides etc

Room Tip: Al bungalows seem to be the same and there was no noise in the evenings. Rooms have bath, large ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Cool open air rock shower. I used it 3 times in one day! The food was quite good and their house red wine was lovely. The lobby area was nicely designed although WiFi kept cutting in and out. The best part of going for a walk in the neighboring village. It was gorgeous and everyone on the road greeting me.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank TravellerInAsia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Bungalow style, very clean grounds and room. Bed was good too. Good choices of food at all of the meals and the attentiveness of the staff was good. The pool was nice and clean and there were plenty of sunbeds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGTE50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberystwyth
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This was our 1st hotel, for a 3 night stop, on a tour of Sri Lanka. Each room is small bungalow, with everything you need for your stay. The restaurant had a buffet & an al a carte menu, both offering good value for hotel prices. The breakfast which was included in our stay, was great & set you up for the day. We had a fridge & water included. The pool area & towels provided was good. All the staff were friendly & nothing too much trouble. For a *** & 1/2 stars this is great value for money & a comfortable stay. Would stay there again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mabAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
9.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
9.8 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
3.5 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassapa Lions Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassapa Lions Rock

Property: Kassapa Lions Rock
Address: Digampathaha | Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#5 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kassapa Lions Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideally located hotel situated facing the magnificent Sigiriya rock in the midst of a small village named Digampathaha. It is located just 20 minutes from the beautiful and ever famous town of Dambulla. A short 15 kilometer drive towards Habarana and you will be in Digampathaha. A turn to your right and in 5 minutes you'll be in the most scenic location in the area. Kassapa Lions Rock is an ideal base from which you can explore all the historical sites such as Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya, and Dambulla . Only hotel in the area with two swimming pools. Wi -Fi Facility is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kassapa Lions Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassapa Lions Rock Hotel Sigiriya
Kassapa Lions Rock Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing