We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Sigiriya”
Review of Kassapa Lions Rock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kassapa Lions Rock
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great base for Sigiriya”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We came straight here off the plane from England after a three hour drive from airport stayed three nights. Nice separate villa/chalets, clean and roomy with large bathroom/shower room.. Nice gardens, lovely swimming pool, has own little rice paddy field. Buffet restaurant with Sri Lankan and continental food all very nice, loved the dhal. Very reasonable prices, nice staff. Lots of birds including peacocks plus loads of cheeky chipmunks ! Great base for Sigiriya, Pollonoruwa, etc. Small problem was bed as the wooden slats under mattress had shrunk and warped a bit so a bit noisy when moving. However I didnt even bother to complain just adjusted them myself although I am sure they would have fixed if I asked. ( Dont forget we are talking approx. three star not luxury hotel ). Would recommend and would go again.

Room Tip: Think all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ponytailpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    496
    90
    27
    19
See reviews for
274
455
45
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Thanks to my tour Organizer in Sri Lanka for recommending this property to me. It was an Awesome experience for me and my family. wonderful for honeymooners. Very peaceful location. The hotel is more of Natural than Artificial. Received a very warm welcome upon arrival. very friendly and dedicated staffs. very clean rooms and surroundings. Only part in which I cant give 5* is Food. Food is not that good but, restaurant is neatly maintained and hygienic. Once again, Thanks to the management for maintaining the property naturally.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank directorhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We only stayed the one night here but we enjoyed the buffet dinner after a very long day. After climbing Sigriya it was great to see it in the distance. The pool was refreshing and room very comfortable. It met all expectations and was well worth the visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had a great few days here once we were able to stay. However a mix up at their end with the booking meant that we had to stay the first night elsewhere which was not good. Once we were at this hotel we loved it. Friendly staff, a big room, massage was great if a bit quirky, a good base for Sigirya and the cultural triangle. Buffet in restaurant is very good. The swimming polis the best we found in Sri Lanka

Room Tip: We stayed in one the rooms that are like little cabins just up from the swimming pool. Quiet and spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExeterHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this Hotel and had a plasant time. Yes, it's a bit far from civilisation but its location is ideal for excursions in the area (Notably Sigirya Rock)
The evening buffet is good and the breakfast is ok (go for the omelette made on request).
The service is professionnal but could be friendlier.
The welcoming area needs to be re-done in order to be adapted to the rainy area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flebarbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

A really great location for a quiet relaxing stay with excellent rooms and service. The only thing stopping a 5 star review was the western food we chose for dinner instead of the excellent local quisine our friends enjoyed. Having eating curry for dinner and breakfast for the last two days we wanted something a little more bland and wished we hadn't. For 'fish and chips' imagine if you will McDonalds fries but cooked dark brown and hard...for fish...imagine three fish fingers covered in hard crumb and overcooked as well....horrible. The western breakfast was also pretty dismal but plenty of fruit and cereal available. Stick with Sri Lanka food and have curry for breakfast and you'll enjoy a 5 star stay.

Room Tip: As far as we can see they are all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

What a wonderful hotel. Situated well off the beaten track but with all the amenites you could want. The individual chalets/rooms are located in lovely grounds. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was huge and the open to the sky shower a really innovative idea. The pool was lovely and the widelife that came in to the gardens a real bonus. (Swimming in the pool as a wild peacock lands about 10m from you PRICELESS). The resturant and bar were well stocked and offered a brilliant buffet at both breakfast and evening meal with the option of al a carte in the evening. The staff were all very helpful and happy. The only really minor improvement that could be made would be the expansion of the wi-fi so it worked in the room.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew261033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
9.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,594 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,537 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Sigiriya
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,033 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,452 reviews
1.9 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassapa Lions Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassapa Lions Rock

Property: Kassapa Lions Rock
Address: Digampathaha | Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#7 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kassapa Lions Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideally located hotel situated facing the magnificent Sigiriya rock in the midst of a small village named Digampathaha. It is located just 20 minutes from the beautiful and ever famous town of Dambulla. A short 15 kilometer drive towards Habarana and you will be in Digampathaha. A turn to your right and in 5 minutes you'll be in the most scenic location in the area. Kassapa Lions Rock is an ideal base from which you can explore all the historical sites such as Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya, and Dambulla . Only hotel in the area with two swimming pools. Wi -Fi Facility is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kassapa Lions Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassapa Lions Rock Hotel Sigiriya
Kassapa Lions Rock Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing