We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to the Nature!”
Review of Kassapa Lions Rock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kassapa Lions Rock
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Thanks to my tour Organizer in Sri Lanka for recommending this property to me. It was an Awesome experience for me and my family. wonderful for honeymooners. Very peaceful location. The hotel is more of Natural than Artificial. Received a very warm welcome upon arrival. very friendly and dedicated staffs. very clean rooms and surroundings. Only part in which I cant give 5* is Food. Food is not that good but, restaurant is neatly maintained and hygienic. Once again, Thanks to the management for maintaining the property naturally.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank directorhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

We only stayed the one night here but we enjoyed the buffet dinner after a very long day. After climbing Sigriya it was great to see it in the distance. The pool was refreshing and room very comfortable. It met all expectations and was well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had a great few days here once we were able to stay. However a mix up at their end with the booking meant that we had to stay the first night elsewhere which was not good. Once we were at this hotel we loved it. Friendly staff, a big room, massage was great if a bit quirky, a good base for Sigirya and the cultural triangle. Buffet in restaurant is very good. The swimming polis the best we found in Sri Lanka

Room Tip: We stayed in one the rooms that are like little cabins just up from the swimming pool. Quiet and spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExeterHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this Hotel and had a plasant time. Yes, it's a bit far from civilisation but its location is ideal for excursions in the area (Notably Sigirya Rock)
The evening buffet is good and the breakfast is ok (go for the omelette made on request).
The service is professionnal but could be friendlier.
The welcoming area needs to be re-done in order to be adapted to the rainy area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flebarbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

A really great location for a quiet relaxing stay with excellent rooms and service. The only thing stopping a 5 star review was the western food we chose for dinner instead of the excellent local quisine our friends enjoyed. Having eating curry for dinner and breakfast for the last two days we wanted something a little more bland and wished we hadn't. For 'fish and chips' imagine if you will McDonalds fries but cooked dark brown and hard...for fish...imagine three fish fingers covered in hard crumb and overcooked as well....horrible. The western breakfast was also pretty dismal but plenty of fruit and cereal available. Stick with Sri Lanka food and have curry for breakfast and you'll enjoy a 5 star stay.

Room Tip: As far as we can see they are all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

What a wonderful hotel. Situated well off the beaten track but with all the amenites you could want. The individual chalets/rooms are located in lovely grounds. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was huge and the open to the sky shower a really innovative idea. The pool was lovely and the widelife that came in to the gardens a real bonus. (Swimming in the pool as a wild peacock lands about 10m from you PRICELESS). The resturant and bar were well stocked and offered a brilliant buffet at both breakfast and evening meal with the option of al a carte in the evening. The staff were all very helpful and happy. The only really minor improvement that could be made would be the expansion of the wi-fi so it worked in the room.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew261033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Loved it loved it loved it. Arrived in a downpour to a warm welcome. The individually placed chalets are fabulous: with outside seating areas, aircon, really comfortable beds, lovely bathroom incorporating open-air but private shower: hot shower in the rain - fabulous! Satellite tv provided if you want it, but reception was "iffy". The central, open-sided dining room and bar was very pleasant, and the food, both buffet and a-la-carte, was excellent. The situation in a plain with distant mountains and a view of the Rock Fortress, was wonderful. It isn't near a village as such, so you need access to transport, though suggest take a walk down the lane and look at the birds (peacocks in trees!) and wildlife. We sheltered from the rain with a charming farmer and his wife - everyone was so friendly. The layout is open plan amidstgardens with a lovely pool, and egrets and other birdlife abound.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyEmCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
9.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,646 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,093 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#13 of 20 in Sigiriya
270 reviews
2.7 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassapa Lions Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassapa Lions Rock

Address: Digampathaha | Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#7 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: $69 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kassapa Lions Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideally located hotel situated facing the magnificent Sigiriya rock in the midst of a small village named Digampathaha. It is located just 20 minutes from the beautiful and ever famous town of Dambulla. A short 15 kilometer drive towards Habarana and you will be in Digampathaha. A turn to your right and in 5 minutes you'll be in the most scenic location in the area. Kassapa Lions Rock is an ideal base from which you can explore all the historical sites such as Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya, and Dambulla . Only hotel in the area with two swimming pools. Wi -Fi Facility is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kassapa Lions Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassapa Lions Rock Hotel Sigiriya
Kassapa Lions Rock Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing