We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Kassapa Lions Rock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kassapa Lions Rock
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was great. The "cabanas" are really big and nice and the outdoor bathroom makes everything extra exotic. The breakfast and dinner was very good - but please stop the evening entertainment - I don't think anybody came to Sri Lanka for the mariachi music.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DenmarkLste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    494
    89
    27
    19
See reviews for
270
454
45
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
roma
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are big and nice, it is a quite place, we could relax after climbing sigirya. The breakfast is various (for italian people: you can have sweet breakfast like croissant and biscuits). The buffet dinner is fabulous, lots of different food and very tasty. It is a little bit expensive for sri lanka standards, but after 10 hours flight and 3 hours driving this is what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbyroroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISBANE
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very well run hotel.
The staff are very attentive and helpful.
Recommend the half board stay breakfast and evening meal, the food is of international standards and full of flavour.
The pool is clean and very well run.
The rooms thought basic where clean and had everything you needed.
We stayed 4 nights and where sorry to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIFFYBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice room with open air shower (no hot water when we went to shower which was fixed by them turning on the water heater and waiting 15-20minutes). Beautiful reception and grounds with nice looking pool and a view if sigiriya. Dinner and breakfast buffets were good with a wide selection of food including traditional Sri Lankan rice/curry/hoppers/string hoppers/ sambol/ curd with treacle etc. Price was somewhere around the 100-120 usd mark per night.

Room Tip: Loved the detached bungalows to the left past the pool with lovely outdoor seating area - room 127
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had not known about this place before!! A friend of mine from Citress Hotel Hikkaduwa told me and spoke to the GM. Its a wonderful place. Rooms are big, even the toilets. Clean and calm ideal if u need to enjoy a quite getaway. Was with my family, 2 kids. Ideal to stay and head on to Minneriya Safari. Book the jeep from the hotel, its only 1500 more but all the worth up and down. Shortcut to the rock is also just beside the hotel. Just abt 8km. Real value for money!!

Room Tip: Make sure your entrance to the room is not in front of the other shallet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrysantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

True the hotel is close to lions rock but thats the only advantage! the hotel manager gave me a very sour experience! when having our breakfast buffet he asked me to move from the table I was currently sitting at although that table was not reserved for anyone else. And then he kept talking with another manager about me and my husband(talking as in gossiping). Hated it! hate this hotel! will never recommend it or ever come back in my life.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chithra U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Good food, atmosphere, staff and cottage style room.
Shower is not enough hot, there is no WIFI in the room (only public space) and nothing around the hotel but i believe you can enjoy yourself in the hotel. If you don't have enough time to spend the hotel, it must be regrettable. You may feel like staying longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castlewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
9.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,591 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,534 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Sigiriya
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,033 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,450 reviews
1.9 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassapa Lions Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassapa Lions Rock

Property: Kassapa Lions Rock
Address: Digampathaha | Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#7 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kassapa Lions Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideally located hotel situated facing the magnificent Sigiriya rock in the midst of a small village named Digampathaha. It is located just 20 minutes from the beautiful and ever famous town of Dambulla. A short 15 kilometer drive towards Habarana and you will be in Digampathaha. A turn to your right and in 5 minutes you'll be in the most scenic location in the area. Kassapa Lions Rock is an ideal base from which you can explore all the historical sites such as Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya, and Dambulla . Only hotel in the area with two swimming pools. Wi -Fi Facility is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kassapa Lions Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassapa Lions Rock Hotel Sigiriya
Kassapa Lions Rock Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing