We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in one!”
Review of Kassapa Lions Rock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kassapa Lions Rock
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“All in one!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you are looking for adventure- its there, if you are looking for privacy - its there, if you are looking for nature - its there, if you are looking for relaxation - its there.
A wonderful place which has got a fantastic view!! You can see the Lion rock from the hotel.
The service is excellent ! The breakfast is a great feast! They have got many amazing adventure trails inside the hotel campus!
Worth spending a few days there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    503
    92
    28
    19
See reviews for
279
463
46
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was our first hotel in Sri Lanka so it shaped our impressions of the island. Our cabin was not too big and simple, the air condition was squeaky, the TV did not have much of a picture - but we loved it. The hotel has the feel of the jungles, its greenery is lush, the pool is warm and deserted (but as soon as you approach it a poolboy appears from nowehere and gives you a towel and a smile), the restaurant is open to the evening breeze and rainy smells and at least eight languages we heard at dinner (the food was good, too). The service was quick and friendly: we were taken to our room at once though it was barely 10 am. The place is also bird-friendly, and we loved hundreds of elegant white stork-like birds peacefully looking for something in the grass and then taking off in a fluffy storm and transforming the trees into snow-covered magnolias. The night is filled with peacock's honks and muffled thumps of the wild elephants walking around the barbed-wire fence. Who cares about the TV?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vadim92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent two nights at this very comfortable hotel December 21st-23rd. The area was experiencing unusual torrential rain and flooding when we arrived to find the entrance drive and grounds ankle deep in water. We paddled with some trepidation to our accommodation which happily like the restaurant and lobby proved to be raised above the water level, and our beautifully designed bungalow complete with a fruit welcome pack quickly lifted our spirits. Furniture, tiled floors and bedding was all immaculate. The spacious ensuite bathroom included a deep bath and "outdoor" (open roofed) wet room with a great shower, fluffy white towels and plenty of hot water.
Paddling across to supper as crabs swam past our feet added to the fun of the occasion. The buffet offered a wide variety of dishes, and food was always well cooked and beautifully presented. There was a local band to serenade us as we ate one night.
Staff maintained smiles and endless good humour despite the challenges of the weather. The diligent electrician's attempts to keep the outdoor lights working in submerged conditions won our particular admiration. You will need transport to enjoy this rural location. The hotel is well placed for the Sigiriya Rock Fortress, Dambulla, and Polonnaruwa if ancient sites are of interest. Our fancy was better met by a magnificent elephant safari and a blissful massage in nearby Habarana. We enjoyed our stay and I would recommend Kassapa Lions Rock as great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We celebrated Christmas here, the staff were very friendly. The work they put into the dinner was amazing, it was very impressive and tasted far better than roast turkey! Disco was rather odd, very old 50/60's only and not dancable, well the songs they chose! our teenagers didn't want to try:) As it rained the whole time we were there we were dogding the huge puddles and mud, this is why Sri Lanka is so green! brollies were provided. Rooms large and beds comfortable, rather dimly lit our torch was very handy. Open air shower and a bath was nice, double shower with the rain:) a little dated but okay. Used the pool which was large and would have been lovley with a bit of sun. Generally an okay place, apart from the pool the upstairs to the restaurant could be a good place for ping pong or pool for kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hogfairfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel! I chose it after reading the many excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and I was not disappointed. The cabanas are huge with elegant but simply furnished bedrooms complete with fridge, a/c and fan. The bathroom is well equipped with indoor bathtub and shower as well as the gorgeous outdoor shower. Although the end of the bathroom is open to the elements, by which I mean the rain, mosquitoes can't come in because of the mesh. Every cabana has a lovely tranquil patio.
The food was delicious with lots of choice, service was great. As other contributors have said it was very wet in December so we didn't get to use the lovely pool and yes, the paths were very wet and muddy.
The location is truly beautiful, very rural with rice paddies, lovely little houses and an abundance of birdlife. Just go through the gates and turn left or right to find yourself deep in the Sri Lankan countryside.
All the staff were friendly and professional. Check in was speedy and we were greeted with a welcome drink. We were also provided with a welcome fruit platter in our room. All in all this was an excellent choice of hotel to visit the nearby sites of Dambulla, Sigiriya and Polonnaruwa. However there was no wifi so I'm only giving this hotel 4 stars as a result.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavenlyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We are a family of 4 (7 and 10 year old girls) and stayed at the hotel from Dec 22 to the 28th 2012.

We had a interconnecting room and found the size of the rooms very generous.

As we had a long stay at Kassapa, we did a number of day trips, the furthest being Anuradapura (which was easily done within a day).
We found the food excellent, catering for both local and western tastes. The variety of dishes was also impressive. The local cuisine was very authentic, by that I mean the level of spice was more geared to locals - I believe the way that it should be; when in Sri Lanka, eat like a Sri Lankan!

The Christmas banquet that was laid out was awesome; the Chefs were definitely proud of themselves as many photos were taken posing beside their creations, and rightly so!

The pool at Kassapa was also a feature; however, due to rain, we did not make as much use of it as we would have liked to.
Speaking of rain, there are two items that could be improved at Kassapa - (a) the walkways to the rooms tend to become flooded at times with a heavy rain; raising these at the appropriate sections could address this and (b) being able to convert a section of the restaurant area or the room upstairs that was not used (at least during our stay) to a games room for wet days would be an idea - especially as this is a fairly "remote" hotel.
The availability of WiFi would also be great, as there were only two computers in the reception area for the use of guests.

The staff were friendly and the service was great. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a good base if you have a little time to explore the cultural triangle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DizzyInMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Kassapa is a lovely hotel. It is a bit remote, but not so far that you can't get to Sigi Town. The room is large, air con and ceiling fan. The beds are on one platform, but split, so not really a double, and not really a single. The windows are lovely wooden shutter types, but without screens, so can't really be opened to take advantage of the fresh air. The bathroom is absolutely lovely - unless it rains. It has an open air shower, which is not quite far enough away from the rest of the bathroom, so the entire back end of the bathroom gets wet when it rains.
There's a nice little porch sitting area outside, which again is great unless/until it rains.
The dining room is open air, but sitting on the edges is unfortunate when it rains. There's a lovely swimming pool with a nice view of Lion's Rock.
Everything is clean and comfortable. It's a bit dark at night, and getting from the bungalows to the front desk and pool/dining room can be a bit confusing. And if it's raining, there are enough "deep spots" that you're practically wading.
Overall, the hotel is very nice with a spacious feel and very friendly, helpful staff.
The staff will even come to your room with umbrellas to escort you to dining room, lobby, which I thought was a nice touch, which i didn't find so common in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amnesty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,571 reviews
9.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,625 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Sigiriya
561 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,471 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#11 of 19 in Sigiriya
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassapa Lions Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassapa Lions Rock

Property: Kassapa Lions Rock
Address: Digampathaha | Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#7 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kassapa Lions Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideally located hotel situated facing the magnificent Sigiriya rock in the midst of a small village named Digampathaha. It is located just 20 minutes from the beautiful and ever famous town of Dambulla. A short 15 kilometer drive towards Habarana and you will be in Digampathaha. A turn to your right and in 5 minutes you'll be in the most scenic location in the area. Kassapa Lions Rock is an ideal base from which you can explore all the historical sites such as Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya, and Dambulla . Only hotel in the area with two swimming pools. Wi -Fi Facility is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kassapa Lions Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassapa Lions Rock Hotel Sigiriya
Kassapa Lions Rock Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing