We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
55
26
9
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
55
26
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka enjoyed our stay descent wifi cycle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 98 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2019

Very convenient for anyone looking to do a ruins tour of ancient polonnaruwa. easy checking process and front staff Piyumi made our stay very comfortable, arrange tuk tuk for us to do tour around the city.clean comfy rooms value for money. food not so bad but need improvement. new management seems doing bit of modification, all together good stay will definitely recommend.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMruinschaaya, General Manager at Ruins Chaaya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

We are overwhelmed with your comment on our TripAdvisor page. Thank you so much for giving us a five star rating and taking the time to express your comments which are always motivating for us.

Glad that everything was up to your expectations and that you had a memorable stay at Ruins Chaaya Hotel.

We hope to welcome you again at Ruins Chaaya for another memorable stay.

Thank You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2018 via mobile

Very clean rooms, very friendly staff, nice location as well. Its a bargain. Built infront of green paddy fields the view is a classic. For its price, Ruins Chaaya is an amazing place for anyone visiting Polonnaruwa.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Cookieeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMruinschaaya, General Manager at Ruins Chaaya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay and the amenities.Our team takes note of your satisfaction on our service and meals.We all welcome you back to spend a few more nights on your next visit to Polonnaruwa.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2018 via mobile

The worst experience ever faced for company funtion. Very unfriendly staff. Such a waste of money and time. Do not have the capacity to serve even for 3 or 4 guests. Only the buildings no humans attached to serve. Sorry guys Chaaya Ruins sucks..

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank GrandTour59998825465
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

So far one the best hotels on our tour through SL.
Large room with high Vierlings, balcony to the garden. Clean modern spacious bathroom. But no elevator. The rooms are in a separate building from the main one where the meals are served - can get wet on the way if it rains... but that’s harmless. A pity to leave this place - would definitively stay here again. We had room 203 on the second floor.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank De100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

I stayed 1 night in this hotel. I called this hotel on the previous day to request an early check in. On the day of travel I received a text message from the hotel saying we can check in at 11.00am. The normal checkin time is 2.00pm. Thank you Roshani.
The hotel is located within walking distance from the city near a paddy field. Very quiet and scenic. The property is well manicured and maintained.
The rooms are large, very clean and comfortable, with a well stocked mini bar, tv ... The bed and the pillows are cosy.
The dinner and breakfast were good.
The staff was very friendly and helpful

Room tip: The rooms on the upper floor have better view.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ranjithdesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews