We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Polonnaruwa Resthouse
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Reviewed January 1, 2010

The hotel is located at next to the tourist information centre for Polonnaruwa. It was overpriced and the hotel is not proper maintain. The view was fantastic from the room but seem like they given the room price according to the foreigner or local.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jess_lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 43 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2009

I really wanted to love being here, perched on the side of the resevoir...but....
one room's sheets were soiled and another's beds were full of dead flies (how did they get there?). My companions said it was by far the worst accommodation of the trip.

A local birthday party was booked in that continued until 3 a.m.. (with amplified music). The next day over 100 people (all men) were booked in for lunch (louder amplified music) which made for an intimidating departure.

There were no common areas available to our group. We really felt in the way. Breakfast was edible but the tablecloths and waiter's uniform were dirty. Despite this being one of the most beautiful locations in Sri Lanka we couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bardo_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

I spent a month working near Polonnaruwa and although I lived locally I spent many a happy and restfull evening at the Resthouse. You can relax on the terrace and take in a unique view of life on the lake (tank). The wildlife is ommnipresent with Egrets, fruit bats, monkeys and some VERY big lizards never too far away. For such a remote and inexpensive hostelry the food is rather good and amazingly reasonable value. The staff are very helpfull and this is just about the only place in 100sq km with Wi-fi access ! Don't believe the negative reports about the Resthouse - I travel extensively in Asia and especially Sri Lanka and this place is the Dogs Bo**ocks !

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dgrimshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2008

Best thing about resthouse is the location. It can't be beaten. Views over the lake are fantastic and you are right next to the main historical sites (literally in resthouse's back yard).

Food and drink are basic but good and excellent value. Rooms need renovation and service, whilst friendly, can be a bit varied.

This is not top grade accommodation. However with the money you are paying you would not expect that. However views and locations make up for old fashioned condition for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sr37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2008

The location is beautiful. nice to relax but the service is very poor. The staff gave the true colours of lazy attitude to work. The were looking for tips than to serve and make the name. Toilets are not clean and food is poor. The bread and break fast in U.K is far more better than this for the same prize.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank peugeot70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2007

Service of this place has improved a lot than it used be. i visited the same place in last year and most of the things were terrible!!! I felt that they are not making use of the things they have!!! the view of the tank was magnificent and made me come here again so after visiting all my relations in sri lanka finally came here and found most of the things improved. when i told my cousin who lives in sri lanka. he said that the rest house was taken over by a new management.
hope they manage this property in a proper way to make use of the location and the lovable views and the feelings by the tank !!!!!!!!!!
!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antisyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2006

We were travelling round Sri Lanka for a few weeks and fancied a nice hotal for a night so according to the Lonely Planet this sounded like the place to be. The rooms are big with a great view over the tank but that's about it.

The staff were unhelpful pretty much from the moment we arrived. They made up the price for the room on the spot, only offering us a $5 difference between the huge suites and the 'local' rooms at the side of the building. They were definitely milking us for all they could.

I agree totally with previous reviewers, the rooms are shabby, the bathrooms are pretty disgusting, the service was poor and it's not cheap either. It was the most that we paid for a night in a hotel in Sri Lanka, and probably the worst hotel we stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#10 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#4 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Giritale Hotel
Giritale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giritale
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#5 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polonnaruwa Resthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polonnaruwa Resthouse

Address: Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Price Range: $97 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Polonnaruwa Resthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polonnaruwa Resthouse Hotel Polonnaruwa
Resthouse Hotel Polonnaruwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing