We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Relaxing place to be ..”
Review of Hotel Sudu Araliya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Relaxing place to be ..”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Very nice hotel and nice location . Calm and quiet for a relaxing Holiday . Nice room . Pool is very nice . Friendly and helpful staff . Very attentive team . Best Location for a away from a busy life …Buffet in the restaurant is very good

Room Tip: room is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JENNY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSuduAraliya, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your detailed five star review. We are delighted that you are happy with the location, facilities on offer and the service rendered at Hotel Sudu Araliya polonnaruwa making your stay a comfortable one. It is also heartening that you consider Hotel Sudu Araliya Polonnaruwa as one of the best hotels in Polonnaruwa, which we are sure, would help other travellers find the right accommodation in town.

Yours sincerely,
Front Office Manager
Nayani Galappaththi
suduaraliya@sltnet.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    103
    71
    22
    34
See reviews for
119
78
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Rooms are adquate but certainly not of four star quality. Thin walls between rooms and birds roosting on the window sills (covered in guano) squawking all night. Everything did however work. No wifi in the rooms. Could be cleaner.

The outdoor area is well appointed with a good pool and adjacent bar. Staff were courteous and attentive.

Dinner buffet was below average and a la carte also below par for some of our party. Reasonable price however and a bottle of wine not out of the question although they tried to substitute the wine ordered with something else. They only had to say sorry sir but we don't have the wine but we do have this. Breakfast was again average but adequate.

We wouldn't choose this hotel for an extended stay but its ok for one or two nights if you are touring.

Room Tip: Sorry, can't help with room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Our check inwas friendly and efficient. The rooms were bright and spacious however we found bat droppings on the window sill behind the draperies and during the evening we had numerous small insects in the room from the adjacent lake. The food in the restaurants was mediocre. There are many better hotel options in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukwrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Polonnaruwa hotels

Kegalle, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The location of hotels is attractive but, there is no clear view for the great parackrama samudra lake from room. however you can get some bit of lake sight through the garden. Arrive after visiting hot rural area to this place of course you will feel some fresh air & relax. So, this is better for relaxing in the night after travel on daytime. Although, they have a nice pool i felt the condition of the water is brackish. Food quality is satisfactory there is no much of varieties in buffet. we have book our room on arrival, obviously you should ask room wish is having king size bed since they having in less rooms if you are traveling as a couple. Finally i can say Price is average, good place for relax in the night better for one day.Cleanliness is satisfactory but not perfect. hotel could be improved more for their rates. So, my rates is three star

Room Tip: Ask for availability of king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ravinclifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel is located along a really nice stretch of the lake just a few kilometers outside of town alongside the Lakeside Hotel. Despite the nice location and its size in the area, this hotel was a disappointment for the price. The hotel clearly caters to large tourist groups as they are one of the only hotels in the area large enough to host a travel bus full of tourists. The buffets are large with average quality and price for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with some traditional Sri Lankan and a mix of Japanese, western, etc.

The rooms are a letdown as the double bed is really two wooden framed single bed pulled together and the TV gets about 4 workable channels. There is no in-room WIFI provided by the hotel and the furniture and bathrooms are very dated. They are currently expanding so this may change soon but my wife and I chose to take our meals at the Lakeside which is only a 2 minute walk. If you must find a hotel near the sites, this one will do but I would stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Book online and NEVER at the counter and you will save 30% at least. Also, the rooms are set up for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson_Gregga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Don’t be fooled by the glossy brochures and pictures of this hotel on travel booking sites. From the outside, it looks idyllic and peaceful. However once the darkness falls, the place is overrun by small lake flies (from the massive Parakrama Samudra lake situated just in front of the hotel). They somehow get into your rooms, in the lobby, in your food (falls in the buffet) and generally everywhere. We were given a nice clean room upon arrival but when we returned @ 6.30pm or so, the room was full with small flies despite the windows were closed (see pictures below). After complaining to the reception, we were given another room on the second floor that was without insects. Staff are not trained in customer service and appear to loiter around than looking after guests. It took 3 restaurant waiters to provide a fork! Front office appears to be the only place that is functional.

Area is ideal for exploring the city and ancient ruins. Also local safari (do not hire the safari 4x4 through the hotel – it is expensive and driven by a young boy who has no idea about passenger safety whilst driving on the main road to the national park). There are plenty 4x4s available at the entrance to the Minneriya national park that are much cheaper. Drivers appear to be under the impression that all tourists are there to see elephants – so they drive very fast even inside the national park! Minneriya is not the best place to anything other than herds of elephants.

Room Tip: check rooms before deciding to accept them (insects in the evening)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leon_Vas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSuduAraliya, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Ayubowan!
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We very concerned about your comment, we take pest control very serious & pay special attention in conducting incentive pest control systems such as fogging the entire garden, rooms & trees for pest control, and it’s conducted by a reputed pest control company in Sri Lanka by Hayley’s group. It is unfortunately & regrettable in this situation, we do experience Lake Fly’s during the month of December and January during the rainy season. We do promptly change rooms if affected by Lake Fly’s & have reserved rooms in such an eventuality. We do advise guest to keep windows closed at all times.
We are in the process of training staff & do implement training as a intense training schedule daily and monthly. We would address all concerned matters & shortfalls in future and appreciate your reviews & comments.
If Guest request safari jeeps we do provide them by outsourced agents. The Hotel has advised the owner of the safari jeeps not to send such reckless drivers in the future & will take stern action in the future if the driver is found to be reckless in his driving.
Yours sincerely,
Front Office Manager
Nayani Galappaththi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritou Tera, Cyprus
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 2 nights over the Christmas at this hotel, and I have to say they did everything possible to create a warm and welcoming ambience. All the hotel guests were invited to a gala buffet dinner with live music on Christmas Eve. It was very well done and they clear spared no effort to make it a memorable dinner.
The breakfasts are not bad, a good selection of fresh fruit, cereals, local curries and rice dishes, as well as an egg station.
That expansive grounds of the hotel are lovely, a little shabby but pleasantly so, the pool is nice and clean, and the staff very polite.
The one downside is the room itself which was not very comfortable, poor selection of TV channels (almost none in English), and no Wi-Fi in the rooms. Overall, we judge the room to be overpriced.
I would like again to say how much we appreciated being included in the special Christmas events.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJCardinalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSuduAraliya, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Ayubowan!
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you had a memorable stay with us indulging in Sudu Araliya hospitality. We do at all times ensure the rooms are comfortable and cleaned & maintained to high standards. It would have been very appropriate if it could have been known as specifically why the room was not comfortable so as to rectify the issue promptly.
We do provide local Sri Lankan channels and foreign channels for our Guest viewing pleasure & are in the process of upgrading new starlight TV channels in the coming few weeks. wifi would be provided in the all rooms by end February.
Yours sincerely,
Front Office Manager
Nayani Galappaththi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
6.7 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
511 reviews
6.6 mi away
Giritale Hotel
Giritale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giritale
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#9 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#7 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
104 reviews
3.4 mi away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#8 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
#4 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sudu Araliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sudu Araliya

Property: Hotel Sudu Araliya
Address: New Town , Polonnaruwa, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sudu Araliya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polonnaruwa is one of the most historically renowned destinations in Sri Lanka. It comes as no surprise that there is a steady stream of visitors that flow into the city each and every year. With an extraordinary collection of ancient relics and nature's own wonders, the city is leaden with plenty of amazing opportunities for travelers to experience many facets of Sri Lanka.Strolling on the banks of the Parakrama Reservoir, gazing at the splendorous creations of ancient civilizations and giving in to the enticing aroma of traditional Sri Lankan food are but a few of the many travelling pleasures that await you in Polonnaruwa. Of course, selecting the best of the hotels in Polonnaruwa is the right way to make sure that your exquisite surroundings are complimented by comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sudu Araliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudu Araliya Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing