We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and Beautiful location”
Review of Hotel Sudu Araliya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff and Beautiful location”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here in early July on our way to Batticoloa for a work related trip. The well-come at the reception gave the first good impression. We were allocated rooms in the new wing and the rooms are very good, clean and had every thing one could expect and it gave value for the money more than expected. The room has a balcony, a fantastic view, facing the Parakkrama Samudraya, the huge lake like an ocean.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It maintains a beautiful garden.
The friendly staff at all levels added a lot of value to the hotel.

Food has a variety and they are delicious. More than that, the services are very warmly and efficient. The staff showed the attitude of ready to serve.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    105
    72
    22
    34
See reviews for
120
79
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

When we arrived at this hotel in early july, the wind was blowing strongly from Parakrama Samudra. When we left the next day at lunch time, it was still blowing strongly.
First time i have ever experience such a welcome.

the hotel is good.
the rooms were very pleasantly furbished.
we enjoyed our stay at this place, one of the very few hotels i have been to, that i will rate highly.

the breakfast spread was also good
u have the option to have a sri lankan or western breakfast, sri lankan was what we chose.
we would like to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed with my wife and daughter at this hotel.I got a beautiful room in the new wing
with a balcony facing the Parakrama Samudraya.It was a large room with well furnished.
The pool and the garden is well maintained and the staff was very kind and polite.
The buffet for Dinner and breakfast was good with plenty of selection.
I will definetely come back once again.
Mrs.Gleny - Keyborough, Victoria, Australia.

Room Tip: New Wing room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Komali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visited to Polonnaruwa because of Vesak Festival and Selected Hotel Sudu Araliya for one Night. Nice Sundown seen with Parakrama samudraya it's very nice view from this hotel. Also have very clean Garden and Restaurant with view of Parakrama samudraya. Hotel staff is very friendly.

Thanks for Delicious and Clean foods.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed with my family in this hotel which is situated in the Bank of Parakrama Samudraya.Delicious food,Clean decorated rooms.Staff incredibly friendly and helpful.Lovely swimming pool.This was a good choice for a break in full day of visiting the archeological site, and at a reasonable price.Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilrukshi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was one of the best hotel experiences I've had in a quite a while!! -- decent quality for a decent price --

The OUTSTANDING part of this hotel - what puts it "head and shoulders above the rest" however is the STAFF!!! They are VERY service oriented -- I was greeted by EVERY member of the staff that I came across -- wished a pleasant day, thanked for staying there etc etc...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshaRavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We only stayed here one night, rooms large and clean and we had a lovely view over the lake. Pool nice and refreshing large though not many guests so building and pool looked and felt large and empty. Evening meal my son enjoyed the buffet especially the hoppers but very little available for vegetarians, a common theme with many tourist hotels. They had a guitar due playing which was far to loud. Breakfast plentiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
6.7 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#9 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
408 reviews
6.6 mi away
Giritale Hotel
Giritale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giritale
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#5 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
108 reviews
3.4 mi away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#8 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
#6 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sudu Araliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sudu Araliya

Property: Hotel Sudu Araliya
Address: New Town , Polonnaruwa, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sudu Araliya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polonnaruwa is one of the most historically renowned destinations in Sri Lanka. It comes as no surprise that there is a steady stream of visitors that flow into the city each and every year. With an extraordinary collection of ancient relics and nature's own wonders, the city is leaden with plenty of amazing opportunities for travelers to experience many facets of Sri Lanka.Strolling on the banks of the Parakrama Reservoir, gazing at the splendorous creations of ancient civilizations and giving in to the enticing aroma of traditional Sri Lankan food are but a few of the many travelling pleasures that await you in Polonnaruwa. Of course, selecting the best of the hotels in Polonnaruwa is the right way to make sure that your exquisite surroundings are complimented by comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sudu Araliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudu Araliya Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing