We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious launching point to visit the ruins”
Review of Hotel Sudu Araliya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Luxurious launching point to visit the ruins”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We only stayed one night, and our Sri Lankan friends booked this spot for us, much to our delight. The room was large, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, lots of hot water, and the grounds are quite pretty. Take the time to wander around a bit. I got some gorgeous sunset shots over the lake, which is right behind the property.

The buffet dinner and breakfast were both good, if somewhat typical hotel food. We seemed to be some of the only solo travelers there, but were amused by a tour bus of Japanese. We also enjoyed the strolling guitar player and singers, who - upon learning we were not British (which everyone in Sri Lanka assumed) - immediately launched into John Denver's "Country Roads", greatly entertaining my husband. We both sang along, entertaining the Japanese.

But honestly, while you are probably here, is to visit the ruins. Seeing Polonnaruwa was high on our "To Do" list, and the front desk arranged a tuk tuk driver and an English speaking guide for us on short notice. We got the "highlight reel" tour, about 4 hours, since we were short on time. I also highly recommend a stop in the museum - it is excellent. Their gift shop stinks, but the museum is lovely and gives a good overview of the history and layout of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madtowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    103
    71
    22
    34
See reviews for
119
78
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chittagong City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed one night to see ancient ruins of Polonnaruwa on 19-Dec-12.Very nice view of Paraakkrama Samudraya,nice garden and clean interior.We got a nice triple room on 3rd floor and thanks to Mr.Kumarasinghe(Manager).
Foods are very delicious and lot of selections in buffet breakfast and also friendly staff.

Room Tip: corner triple rooms on 2,3 & 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wasantha_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed recently (14-15th November) two nights in this hotel.
It was supposed to be a nice and comfortable hotel.
But there were many details not working.
Forget wi-fi.
There is a spa and they have Ayurveda packages but when we wanted to have some massage, there was only one masseur so only one of us could get the massage (it was 7:30 pm so it was not possible for a 2nd one)
Also massage was in an outside area and as the hotel is near a lake it was a feast for the mosquitos.
And the service in the restaurant was another thing. Stuff was really young and without experience. Actually this is the main problem of the whole hotel stuff.

For a 4 star hotel, this is NOT 4 star one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have visited this place several times for wedding parties.most people in polonnaruwa chose this location for their weddings.you can also feel the beauty of parakrama samudraya.if you visit this location in january or may you can get a nice experience of a traditional sri lankan wedding.in addition to that waliking distance to "pothgul vehera" .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uditha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australians in Egypt
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not very happy about this hotel. The room was clean until we switched on the bug zapper and then the floor and bed were literally covered in dead mosquitoes. They had a serious bug problem throughout the hotel. The dinner and breakfast service was okay but the food was not good. Our fish and chips would have been better served hot and my scrambled eggs were bizzare. We asked for a blanket as the bed only had a sheet but were told that they had no blankets. We had to sleep without air conditioning which was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank expatsinEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Polonnaruwa hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Huge bedroom - big enough to hold a sizeable party - clean and beautifully presented! Excellent spa area with very good and inexpensive treatments between £5 and £10! The hotel is undergoing rennovation work and therein lies the problem; my husband was horrified when he turned left instead of right when coming out of the lift and came to a great gapping hole in the side of the building - an entire wall was missing! When this was reported to the duty manager, he appeared indifferent saying he was too busy to put up a warning notice! After some angry words from my husband, he finally acquiesed! He sent somebody to put a notice on every floor - the entire side of the hotel was not there! A potential death trap which should be avoided until work is completed or building work safely barriered off.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
332 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed just the one night toward the end of August. The outside of the hotel is plain and offer much in the way of encouragement. The lobby is plain, cold and sterile. Lots of tiles and open spaces but no character, something that is evident throughout the hotel.

The room was okay. Of an average size and a step up to a functional bathroom, which lacks water pressure in the shower.
The bed was hard and the pillow was the lumpiness I have ever encountered anywhere in the world. The air conditioner worked well and windows open if you wanted fresh air. There were no tea/coffee making facilities which was a negative.

The pool area was nice and looked out upon the lake. The grounds were extensive and well kept. The lunch, dinner and breakfast buffets were adequate and leant more towards local food than western food which was fine, but am not please everyone.

The staff were attentive and happy to help wherever they could. The hotel has a great local reputation and whilst I was there the presidents son and his entourage stayed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank akmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
6.7 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
511 reviews
6.6 mi away
Giritale Hotel
Giritale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giritale
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#9 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#7 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
104 reviews
3.4 mi away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#8 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
#4 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sudu Araliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sudu Araliya

Property: Hotel Sudu Araliya
Address: New Town , Polonnaruwa, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sudu Araliya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polonnaruwa is one of the most historically renowned destinations in Sri Lanka. It comes as no surprise that there is a steady stream of visitors that flow into the city each and every year. With an extraordinary collection of ancient relics and nature's own wonders, the city is leaden with plenty of amazing opportunities for travelers to experience many facets of Sri Lanka.Strolling on the banks of the Parakrama Reservoir, gazing at the splendorous creations of ancient civilizations and giving in to the enticing aroma of traditional Sri Lankan food are but a few of the many travelling pleasures that await you in Polonnaruwa. Of course, selecting the best of the hotels in Polonnaruwa is the right way to make sure that your exquisite surroundings are complimented by comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sudu Araliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudu Araliya Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing