We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”
Review of Deer Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deer Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great location.
This property has a great location overlooking the lake. Rooms are well decorated, nice, comfortable and clean. Check in and check out was easy. Nice pool area. Food - buffet spread is average. Ala carte - average and try not to order any dessert. Food quality is average. They have no clue - banana crepe was plain caramelized banana! They offer good Ayurvedic massage/spa under rustic conditions.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Fulldistance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Deer Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 537 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

I find it very difficult to rate this hotel.The reception area was nice, ,the staff very friendly,,the grounds nice,,,the swimming pool was lovely,, we had no complaint about the food., the room was comfortable furnished,,,,,,But,,,,, the bed and chairs were very damp..No day light entered the room,it was dark.. The shower ceiling was open to the sky,and when it rained the shower area also got wet,more damp..
The rooms were apartments in blocks spaced around the grounds.We had a ground floor apartment.
The whole place needed some tender loving care..paint ,and a caring maintenance team.
This is a shame as it could be a really top rate hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our family spent a couple of days in this hotel over the new year 2014 period. Three young adult children and the two of us. Had the most enjoyable time. It is on top of Giritale lake and had beautiful views. Rooms were very nice and clean and the service was excellent. Food was delicious and there was enough (gym, nature) to keep my usually fussy kids well occupied while we lazed around with drinks in hand with friendly staff willing to do almost anything to make our stay comfortable. The cottages are tucked away amongst the trees and you would get mosies hen you walk to them but hey this is the tropics in all its glory. Definite revisit next time.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank 881chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent 1 night here after visiting Polonnaruwa. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. Rooms are actually cottages around the grounds. Cottages are 2 storeys high so one can get the rooms upstairs and there are no lifts.

The room is beautifully decorated and there is a split level separating the sitting room and the bedroom. Bathroom is nice and clean.

It is near the lake and one can have a stroll with majestic sunrise here.

Restaurant is decent and there was live band during dinner time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nkhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This hotel is a building site. If you do one thing in Sri Lanka avoid this hotel, it very nearly ruined Christmas for my partner and I. If you want to pay over $200 per night to stay on a major construction site then great, but really it's quite disgusting how they are willing to have people stay with this level of work happening. Even when finished I cannot see how it is worth the money, the rooms are way overpriced and drinks! $11 for one bottle of beer and one can of coke.

Totally unacceptable and managed by people who lie so frequently they forget their previous statements. We were being offered all kinds of "deals" to make us stay. Fortunately we found a peaceful hotel nearby willing to have us at short notice.

Avoid avoid avoid!!!

Room Tip: Somewhere else. Anywhere else.
Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MUDMC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel, popular with international guests including parties, is in a delightful setting some way from, but with easy access to, Polonnaruwa and its fascinating ruins.
The three joined swimming pools of different depths were kept in excellent condition and the woodland setting offered pleasant outdoor seating in a well designed space. The staff were universally friendly and helpful. It can get a bit busy when full of guests and I imagine things will only get worse as their new buildings are completed. On the other hand they may provide more and separate restaurants.
We had a quirky semi-outdoor garden and shower in our bathroom but the room was very comfortable.
Good view of the lake and its wonderful bird life. Lovely setting and a good base for seeing Polonnaruwa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a great time......good food, nice pool. Rooms were nice. Convenient place to locate yourself and visit polonnaruwa and sigiriya. Service was good. Staff very polite and helpful. The hotel is being renovated. So was a bit noisy. Had a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
0.1 mi away
Giritale Hotel
Giritale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giritale
337 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#4 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
343 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#10 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#5 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
124 reviews
3.9 mi away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#8 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
29 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
#6 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Park Hotel

Address: Giritale, Polonnaruwa 51000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Price Range: $94 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Deer Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of a stunning lake, Deer Park Hotel gives you the best of secluded nature and stylish accommodation in Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka. The tree trunk is the main stem of a tree, which provides stability and support to its branches and leaves. Deer Park Hotel takes inspiration from the strong and steady role of the tree trunk and provides the perfect support for your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deer Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Park Polonnaruwa
Hotel Deer Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing