We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fair”
Review of Manel Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manel Guest House
Ranked #2 of 61 Polonnaruwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not fair”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We actually did not stay there, but we had a reservation for a family room (2 adults and 2 kids) and when we arrived we were shown a double room. Only reluctantly we were told, that the other guests have decided to stay longer and that therefore we didn't get the family room we had revered. He offered to put 2 additional mattresses on the floor, but we did not accept as the room was far too small and we wouldn't have had any mosquito nets for the 2 mattresses. He tried to convince us by saying, that there are no mosquitos around (which wasn't true at all!).
Then it turned out, that an additional double room was vacant as well, so we wanted to split up the family into 2 rooms but he was not willing to give us the 2 rooms for the price of the family room we had a reservation for. This is definitively not the way to treat customers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeHeToHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    63
    40
    15
    10
See reviews for
26
92
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Unfortunatelly, we weren't satisfied with this accomodation and i cannot recommend. The shower was broken, the toilet don't flush and in the morning we had in all our things ants. For such money, which they wanted (2000LKR), it isn't accept for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Petra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

It was an ok stay here but as there are not many B&B's in P. it was a good choice.
Room on second floor, new and nice beds, the rooms stayed quite cool too, which we appriciated after a long day bicycling through the sites!
Good stay though for 2800 rps with breakfast, hot water and a quiet comfy room

Room Tip: No frills but good and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

There aren't many good budget options in Polonnaruwa. Manel would be one but for the pushy and sullen manager, Bandulla. There was a hard sell on everything from safaris to transport. All the other staff were helpful and polite. Rooms were fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munnsy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
1.3 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#4 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
114 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
185 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#9 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
529 reviews
6.4 mi away
Giritale Hotel
Giritale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giritale
328 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seyara Holiday Resort
Seyara Holiday Resort
#2 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manel Guest House

Property: Manel Guest House
Address: New Town Road, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Polonnaruwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing