We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, great food, basic room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leesha Tourist Home
Ranked #1 of 74 Polonnaruwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in the first room against the street for 1 night. The room was basic. But the owner and staff where very friendly and helpful. But best of all was the food. As dinner we had a great rice and curry. And for breakfast we get rotti and a plate full of fresh fruit. We also rented 2 bikes.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank sequelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 322 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Mr Upali, of Leesha guest house, is hands down the most organised and considerate owner I have met. Breakfast, dinner, refreshments, bicycles, information, reliable tuktuk services or a tour to the national park... You name it- he can provide it. Often times, he will offer you the very thing you are wanting before you've had the chance to ask! The food here is delicious, the service quick, and the staff all polite and helpful. The wifi is terrific in the dining area and in the bedroom. My room was actually in his sister's home next door, as Leesha was full. The house is large, spacious, cool, clean with fantastic light. The whole family is extraordinarily welcoming and friendly and I definitely recommend!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Polonnaruwa for 4 nights and had a great experience with Mr. Upali who owns this Guest House. He was very helpful and provided personalized service for our requests. He coordinated our tours (driver to Sygiria and Dombulla for the day and jeep safari to Minneryia National Park to see the elephants) and we were very happy with the people he chose to drive us. He also called the drivers often to check on us and make sure we had reached our destination or were on our way back to the guest house.

Because we stayed 4 nights, he also varied each breakfast and dinner we had at the guest house so we didn't have the same meal and the food the chef served was very good(traditional Sri Lankan) and reasonable in price so we never had to go into town for our dinners (town is 500m walk).

Mr Upali takes great care of his guests and we saw him several times wave down the right bus to ensure his guests continued on successfully to their next destination. He also offered the bikes he normally hires for the day at no cost if it was only for a couple of hours or in the evening to allow us to get into town or just bike around the lake. Best of all, he always had a smile for us and made recommendations on what we could do as an activity if we had some free time.

The room we had was basic and a bit musty from some mold(there had been some water leakage) but very clean, spacious and the beds had a very good mosquito net cover. Air conditioning is not really required at night but is during the day in February. There are fans in all the rooms as well.

I would highly recommend Leesha Tourist Home to anyone who wants great service and good food.

Room Tip: Suggest one of the air conditioned room but check out the room first as one has some mold on the wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelladybugOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in the owner's sister's home (on the property as Leesha). The room was big, spotless and had nice light. We had access to a big balcony (with space to hang up clothes). It really felt like we were staying in a friend's home. We also ate at Leesha every meal - delicious- and used the terrific wifi. Thank you Upali!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Beni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

A couple of rooms next to the main street. The rooms and bed sheets were humid. The non-A/C rooms are very basic (concrete floor, very close to the street). The A/C rooms are a bit better (tiles on the floor). The dining area is not very nice (close to the street). They have bicycles that you can rent. It is a bit of an expensive place for the quality as compared to other hotels where we stayed around Sri Lanka. The owner is helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Our room was mouldy and we had to put towels over the pillows to try and block the smell of mould. The owner and chef were pleasant, the location good and it was cheap. Not sure I would recommend it overly, unless you're looking for a bargain.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxRemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Leesha's tourist home has clean rooms with hot(ish) showers and good wifi in the dining area. Our room was quite damp and a bit smelly to be honest with a lot of big mosquitos, I think the other rooms may be nicer. The nets provided are good though so didn't get bitten badly. Bikes here are good quality. We had to convince the owner to let us keep our room until midday so we could have a shower after cycling around the ruins. He wanted us to vacate the room first thing in the morning so this was slightly awkward. All in all the place does the job but I do wonder if there may be better places to stay?

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank pedrosanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
3.8 mi away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
208 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#6 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
381 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#4 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Seyara Holiday Resort
Seyara Holiday Resort
#2 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thisara Guest House
Thisara Guest House
#3 of 74 in Polonnaruwa
213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ancient Village
Hotel Ancient Village
#5 of 74 in Polonnaruwa
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leesha Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leesha Tourist Home

Address: 105/A, New Town Road, Polonnaruwa 51000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Polonnaruwa
Price Range: $14 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Leesha Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing